We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hostel, great staff, well located.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dali Five Elements Hostel
Ranked #2 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Dali
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2012 via mobile

We travelled with 2 small kids and stayed for 2 nights.

Location is great out of the crowd and noise.

The place is very chilled out, with a backpacker's feel to it. It is no frill but the deco is original. It's unfortunate there is so many flies in the common room ( So many that it puts you off eating there). Also, food is average So you better off eating out ( try Bakery 88, it's fantastic)

Rooms are spacious and clean. Due to water shortage, the bathroom smelled a bit of gutter ( but there is nothing to do about it but buy incense).

The staff is very helpful and friendly.
Altogether a good address To stay while in Dali. I would go back there.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelson D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (219)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

119 - 125 of 219 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2012

The Five Elements Dali Hostel staff was unbelievably helpful and kind. I sincerely enjoyed my time with them and in the common area with their 2 Golden Retrievers. The location is amongst mountains, near Old Town, and some wonderful organic gardens. My bed was comfortable and the hostel atmosphere was cozy. Each of my 4 days in Dali was spent on hostel-recommended or sponsored activities, and I enjoyed it all!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

After 9 days in 5elements hostel, we can absolutely say that this has been the best place of all on our 4 month travel!

Room Tip: The dormetory was really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

The great place and very nice people, the host sincere to help all the guests. Moreover, Jumbo (the dog) is cute.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Rossarin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

5 elements was not my first choice of place to stay in Dali, however I arrived late and the places I'd intended to try were all full.
It's just 5 minutes walk from the city wall, next to Jade Emu and Lily Pad. The staff were very helpful and spoke good English. Rooms were clean and reasonably priced. There was a nice little garden/bar area.
The showers were good with hot water and good water pressure.
Internet was a little slow though.
My room was a little noisy if you wanted to sleep in in the mornings, but I think if that's a problem for you you'll need to ask for a quieter room.
Overall I'd deffinitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahinguangzhou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Very nice hostel, very clean, good location and value for the money is amazing.
Safe, clean with a great, friendly and very helpful stuff.
I'd definitely recommend to anybody.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2012

The hostel is in a great location, right next to the other popular hostels. It's clean, has very helpful & friendly staff who are very attentive to your needs. The room prices are very reasonable, cheaper than the surrounding hostels. Stayed in a double room with ensuite (a lot more spacious than the double without bathroom). Great food served in their kitchens, nice outdoor gardens to chill. They were very helpful in booking our train back down to Kunming & even arranged us a free taxi ride to the bus stop 20 mins away!!
Highly recommended, thanks once again for a lovely stay!!

Room Tip: Double room downstairs with ensuite are more spacious with double rooms with shared bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richpix84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dali hotels
0 mi away
The Jade Emu International Guest House
0 mi away
The Lily Pad Inn
The Lily Pad Inn
#4 of 125 in Dali
122 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dragonfly Guest House
Dragonfly Guest House
#1 of 125 in Dali
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Yinfeng Hotel
Yinfeng Hotel
#8 of 519 in Dali
103 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Dali Resort & SPA
11.6 mi away
The Linden Centre
The Linden Centre
#1 of 519 in Dali
602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dali Five Elements Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dali Five Elements Hostel

Address: No.69 Dazhifang Village, West Gate of Dali Ancient Town, Dali 671000, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Dali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 125 Specialty Lodging in Dali
Price Range: $10 - $21 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Dali Five Elements Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Being in the convenient place that we are, you can be involved in everything that goes on in Dali without being bothered by the noise at night. We provide clean rooms at a reasonable price, and have a beautiful garden area to relax, read books or chill out with friends. We serve fresh organic food, homemade bread, and also have a bar for those who like a drink. We are fluent in English, Japanese and Chinese. Free wifi is also available for any of our guests and if you don’t have a computer you can use ours. As travelers ourselves we always stay comitted to high standards, cleaningness and the friendlies possible service. nontheless we also comitted to reasonable prices for all types of accomondation and our other services, as well, so you are sure to find all ameneties and clean, nice hostel!Direction: From Xiaguan Bus Station:Expect to pay 40 RMB for a taxi.From Xiaguan Train Station:Catch the No.8 Bus outside the train station. The fare is 1.5 RMB. Get off at the West Gate in Dali Old Town (approximately 30 minutes on the bus. It is the last stop). From the West Gate, cross the highway and turn left along the highway. You're going the right way if you pass the transit police building. Walk about 450m until you see several hostel sign. look for us on the right behind jade roo lily pad. Point the taxi driver to:Five Elements Hostel Dali ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Dali Five Elements Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing