We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“i go to there every day”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bakery No. 88

The Bakery No. 88
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Dali
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $33
Cuisines: Fast Food, Cafe, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“i go to there every day”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

i travelled to Dali twice, first with friends and one kid, age of 3, second time with my husband's family(french). in the first trip, the kid can't eat local breakfast(kind of noudle spicy), so we bring her to the No.88, she was very happy.

second trip, my husband's family is typical french, means bread is necessary for each meal, so during our 4days trip, we go to there every day, in the morning and sometimes in the afternoon for coffee and cake.

the baquette they made is even better than many place in Paris, the cake is another delice.
the service is always smail and helpful, you feel like in a family.

BTW, we were not disappoint about their lunch meal.

the price could be higher than the local level, by it worth every penny for what you get.

i'll definitly come back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank miy888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    57
    21
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dali
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best breakfast in China!”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

After 4wks of greasy 'western' food it was great to have a real baguette,real butter, and fantastic scrambled eggs. The staff were friendly, it was cheap, the cafe was relaxing, and the lady who ran the place (German/Dutch) definitely knew what the customers wanted. Just go, you'll enjoy it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
95 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“It's a Very Good bakery but nothing from other world.”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

You can take breakfast, or afternoon tea or take some sanwichs with good bread an good porchiuto or cheese. Coffe is also good but nothing from other world. There are cakes and muffins, home made ham and beagels. I enjoyed but it was average for me. May be if you are in china you are happy to find this place, that's why I rate four stars.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clairedelune078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Yummy baguettes”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Being Australian, after weeks eating rice and hot food, I was craving a good old fashioned sanga by this point. Cannot fault the food, great bread and yummy ingredients plus they also do nice juices. We ended up coming here several times. Look the service is pretty poor and the place isn't super super clean, but if you don't mind that then come here, grab a seat upstairs by the window and enjoy!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank eMzdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Scrumptious.....”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stumbled upon this place on a wet Dali afternoon and then proceeded to spend a good chunk of our time in Dali there (the rain didn't stop). During this time, we tried the sandwiches, the "yummy breakfast", the apple pie and home-made ice-cream, the bee-stings, the chocolate almond cake, various teas and the hot chocolate and confirm: it's all delicious, with good attention to quality ingredients!!! Kind of glad the rain didn't stop :-)

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank lisa_om1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bakery No. 88 also viewed

 

Been to The Bakery No. 88? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing