We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and pleasant stay in lovely town”
Review of Yinfeng Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Yinfeng Hotel
Ranked #8 of 490 Hotels in Dali
Givat Olga
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Nice and pleasant stay in lovely town”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

I adored Dali, and the hotel was very in style for this small and precious jem of the chinese town. Spacy room, good shower and nice service. Very quiet, in spite of half the rooms were occupied one night by the teenagers. We arrived very early in the morning tired after night on train and were surprised that the rooms were ready and waiting. Only problem - no breakfast on site.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yinfeng Hotel D, General Manager at Yinfeng Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank your for your very kind feedback.Your praise for our service and atmosphere is a pleasure.

During your time at our hotel, there were some international school students here. They came to our hotel one time per year. Those teenagers usually stay one or two nights. They may made some noises. Very sorry for that. I’m discussing this issue with all my colleagues.

Right now we are building a restaurant so the breakfast will be available soon.

Welcome back again and please don’t hesitate if there are any questions.

Best Regards,

Wang Yan
General Manager
Yinfeng Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    48
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
17
40
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Loma Linda, California, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed here for one night, and it was in a very convenient location. I arrived around 5 am from the sleeper train, and the manager gave an upgrade, because that was the only room available. The hotel was nicely furnished with modern amenities. Although there was no breakfast, the hotel was close enough to many of the little shops.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yinfeng Hotel D, General Manager at Yinfeng Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
It’s absolutely lovely for us to hear that we’ve succeeded in providing that special hospitality experience we strive for.

Welcome back again and please don’t hesitate if there are any questions.

Best Regards,

Wang Yan
General Manager
Yinfeng Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stayed here one night but would have loved to stayed a few more days. We checked in early and was told our room was not ready. Instead of making us wait for the room they upgraded us to a bigger room. The room was large it had a seating area as you walk into the hotel room. There was a divider that separatged the seating area and the sleeping area. The bathroom was large. It had a huge shower and a western toilet. The room was very clean. I was really surprise that they upgraded us to a very nice room.
The staff were friendly and spoke really good English. The best service I have gotten in a 3 star hotel.
The hotel location was nice for us it was off a main pedestrain street so no problem getting into old town Dali. It was quiet since it was at the edge of the main street. It was easy to get to with a vehicle so we didn't have to drag our bags through Old Town.
No breakfast were served which was fine. There was a bakery at the corner so we picked up a few things there. There were plenty of cafes in town to have breakfast.
This was a great place to stay. I was really surprised how nice it was and how friendly the staff were. For the price this was a great place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christiana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yinfeng Hotel D, General Manager at Yinfeng Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
It’s heartwarming to hear how much you enjoyed the stay at our hotel. We put special emphasis on both atmosphere and service and you were tuned in to both.
Thank you ever so for your lovely review, and I look forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,

Wang Yan
General Manager
Yinfeng Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed there for one night before heading towards Kunming. The group I was traveling with had to arrange for breakfast to be sent in the next morning as we had plans for an very early start and we would not be able to go out to have breakfast. Turns out that was not a very good idea because the lobby appeared to be too small to accommodate 20+people and food. I'd say that this place is perfect for vacationing individuals, couples or family. But definitely not the best option for hosting groups on a tight schedule.

The floor in the bath room connects to the shower, so it is pretty difficult to keep the water from extending towards the toilet when you shower. You probably want to tilt the shower head away from the shower curtain if you don't want to walk on water afterwards.

Liked:
Price, location, home inn feeling, spacious rooms, well-attended yard and quite at night.

Not so much liked:
no elevator, does not offer breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Minniehy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yinfeng Hotel D, General Manager at Yinfeng Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Yinfeng Hotel with the tripadvisor community.

Many thanks for your praise, being called ‘perfect for vacationing individuals, couples or family’ is so rewarding.

The floor in the bath room is divided into wet and dry regions, so there is no need to worry that the water would extend towards the toilet when taking shower.

All hotels in Dali ancient town have no elevator, because the government introduced rules that all buildings in the old town should not be more than 6 floors high. So there is no need of elevator for these short buildings.

The restaurant is being built so the breakfast will be available soon.

We appreciate your bringing to our attention these important issues and please don’t hesitate if there are any further questions.

Best Regards,

Wang Yan
General Manager
Yinfeng Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melaka, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The 2 stars hotel is tuck at the side road of the old town. Design is classic chinese style but not grotty. I consider it 2 stars as there is no restaurant on site and the room rate is excellent value for money for such quality.

The room and bathroom is spacious but the room can be quite cold in the winter even with the air conditioning

Front office staff are quite friendly and helpful. As there is no restaurant on site, so I had to go out for breakfast, try going south (the non pedestrianised Yu Er Road) where there are many local noodle shops, the lovely Yu Er Park and a supermarket at the corner of the road with FU XIn Lu, the main pedestrianised walk.

It is closer to the north gate which is quieter with less glamourous small shops. It only takes 5 minutes walk to Foreigner street which is the most happening and colourful street in the old town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexMcca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yinfeng Hotel D, General Manager at Yinfeng Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We appreciate all the time you took to share your experience at Yinfeng Hotel with the tripadvisor.com communityl

The restaurant will be OK soon, and breakfast will be no problem.
The power of air condition is high enough to keep the room warm. But sometimes, our guests forget to close all the windows, which result in indoor heat loss.
Please feel free to give any further questions and suggestions.

I thank you for your very rewarding review and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best Regards,

Wang Yan
General Manager
Yinfeng Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Yinfeng for 1 night when we visited Dali.
Firstly, I should mention this is a motel rather than a hotel - it does not have a restaurant and there is no breakfast.
Having said that, it is very conveniently located, and excellent value for money.
Just 2 minutes walk away is Fuxing Road, the main pedestrian street or "bu xing jie" which is *supposed to be* free from motor vehicle traffic, but the rule (like many rules in China) is often ignored by motorcylists. Foreigners Street, with its many bars and cafes, is about 6 minutes away; just walk out to Fuxing Road, turn left and walk another 3-4 minutes. The old city gates are at both ends of Fuxing Road and within easy walking distance.
The rooms are functional, but clean and spacious.
The staff are very friendly - it helps if you speak and understand Chinese - and can help to book buses to other cities in Yunnan, as well as sightseeing trips.
Overall, if you do not need 5-star luxury, the Yinfeng offers very good value for money at a very convenient location within Dali old town.

Room Tip: There are no elevators. Keep in mind Dali is about 2,000 metres (6,560 feet) above sea level, so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yinfeng Hotel D, General Manager at Yinfeng Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We appreciate all the time you took to share your experience at Yinfeng Hotel with the tripadvisor.com communityl

We are going to have a restaurant in a few weeks. The breakfast will be no problem.

All hotels in Dali ancient town have no elevator, because the government introduced rules that all buildings in the old town should not be more than 6 floors high. So there is no need of elevator for these short buildings which are only 2 or 3 floors high.

We believe that attentive service and communication with our guests is our first priority in providing the best hospitality available.

We appreciate your compliments and warm words for our hotel and staff.

Welcome back again and please don’t hesitate if there are any questions.

Best Regards,

Wang Yan
General Manager
Yinfeng Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Despite the odd - and uncommon - poor experience in some reviews, this hotel could charge twice the price and still get excellent reviews.
My second stay this year, and it was better than the first as I used the hotel's booking services on a number of occasions -which included being driven to and from events, plus the free railway station pickup service. As we had the very late train into Dali our Chinese guide rang from our departing station at Lijiang and a driver was waiting to collect us at the other end; for free!
Used the free laundry facility (including washing powder) the next morning and clothes were dry on the hotel's rooftop area early in the afternoon - was a huge wash and would have cost around US$100 at the previous hotel we were at.
My son caught a cold and a hotel member walked us to a nearby pharmacy to help us buy medication - everything was is in Chinese so we had no hope by ourselves.
Like many other reviewers, we opted for a room on the top level - a bit quieter although as there is no traffic nearby, noise was never an issue. There is no elevator so if your bags are too heavy ask for assistance and don't worry about tipping as the practice is not yet common in Dali.
On a previous trip in May 2012 our guide stayed on a lower floor and I can confirm there is a consistency of quality and cleanliness throughout the hotel - I have yet to experience bigger, cleaner, newer rooms at a comparable price. And the beds were fine by comparison with the very firm ones typically found across China.
Free wifi, good airconditioning, flat screen TV (never turned it on so don't know if there were English channels) and a bathroom befitting a 5-star hotel added to the experience.
If you want a mini-bar in the room and restaurant at your hotel, then DO NOT stay at Yinfeng. It also means there is no fridge in the room, so if you want cold food or drink items make alternative plans.
Local restaurants are just a minute walk away and within 10 minutes you are in the heart of the Old City and can find western foods/restaurants and small supermarkets.
Dali Old City is not as pretty as Lijiang (or Shu He) but that is part of its charm. If you want to really get a taste of what it's like living in a Chinese town, just spend 30 or so minutes walking around a few blocks from the Yinfeng and you will experience it all - market gardens, public parks for the locals, kids going to school, and every type of small vendor from foods to fire-brick makers. From Yinfeng it's only a 20 minutes walk to the 3 Pagodas - head along the street towards the North Gate and keep going ahead until you see the Pagodas to the west - impossible to get lost as the landmarks are always prominent with the mountains behind. If you come out on the east-west promenade you can catch a donkey ride for a negotiable fee - and nothing like the prices you will be charged in Lijiang.
The hotel arranged a driver for us at 50rmb to the station and our wonderful stay a Yinfeng ended.


.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are great and only quieter as the owner keeps several beautiful song birds in cages...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rederob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yinfeng Hotel D, General Manager at Yinfeng Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Our warm thanks for your review, and your kind words on so many different points. We make every effort to ensure a supreme hospitality experience, and your review is wonderful acknowledgment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dali hotels
11.0 mi away
The Linden Centre
The Linden Centre
#1 of 490 in Dali
583 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hilton Dali Resort & SPA
0.1 mi away
Landscape Hotel
Landscape Hotel
#10 of 490 in Dali
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Jim's Tibetan Hotel
Jim's Tibetan Hotel
#7 of 490 in Dali
171 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gurong Hotel
Gurong Hotel
#6 of 490 in Dali
70 reviews
9.6 mi away
Seclusive Life Erhai
Seclusive Life Erhai
#41 of 490 in Dali
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yinfeng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yinfeng Hotel

Property: Yinfeng Hotel
Address: No.41 Yincang Road, Dali 671003, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Dali
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 490 Hotels in Dali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yinfeng Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Yinfeng Hotel is a shining jewel, nestled in the heart of Dali Ancient City. It is located at No.41 Yincang Road, Dali, nearby the back door of Yu Er Park. Our hotel looks out over Er Hai Lake and Cang Shan Mountain from its patio area; offers everything the weekend and business traveler could need, including a touch of the history. Our hotel is located right in the old city among the entertainment complex and shopping plaza. In the radius of 100 meters, you can find the historical and famous "Foreigner Street" attractions, banks, special food, night clubs, shopping and other entertainment district. It is also surrounded by lots of international cuisine such as German, Thai, Italian, etc. Yin Feng Hotel is committed to provide the highest quality of hospitality to our guests who visit Dali, China and call us as their "Hotel of Choice". Our luxury hotel rooms are clean and comfortable which feature air-conditioner, LCD TVs, free Internet and domestic telephone calls. For guests who wish to travel, we provide bicycle rental and ticket service at the front desk. For convenience, laundry and dry cleaning services are also available. We pride ourselves in providing our guests the most professional and economical, world standard service and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Yinfeng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing