We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, spacious room”
Review of Yinfeng Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Yinfeng Hotel
Ranked #7 of 505 Hotels in Dali
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The 2 stars hotel is tuck at the side road of the old town. Design is classic chinese style but not grotty. I consider it 2 stars as there is no restaurant on site and the room rate is excellent value for money for such quality.

The room and bathroom is spacious but the room can be quite cold in the winter even with the air conditioning

Front office staff are quite friendly and helpful. As there is no restaurant on site, so I had to go out for breakfast, try going south (the non pedestrianised Yu Er Road) where there are many local noodle shops, the lovely Yu Er Park and a supermarket at the corner of the road with FU XIn Lu, the main pedestrianised walk.

It is closer to the north gate which is quieter with less glamourous small shops. It only takes 5 minutes walk to Foreigner street which is the most happening and colourful street in the old town.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexMcca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yinfeng Hotel D, General Manager at Yinfeng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

We appreciate all the time you took to share your experience at Yinfeng Hotel with the tripadvisor.com communityl

The restaurant will be OK soon, and breakfast will be no problem.
The power of air condition is high enough to keep the room warm. But sometimes, our guests forget to close all the windows, which result in indoor heat loss.
Please feel free to give any further questions and suggestions.

I thank you for your very rewarding review and look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Best Regards,

Wang Yan
General Manager
Yinfeng Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

56 - 62 of 103 reviews

Reviewed December 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Yinfeng for 1 night when we visited Dali.
Firstly, I should mention this is a motel rather than a hotel - it does not have a restaurant and there is no breakfast.
Having said that, it is very conveniently located, and excellent value for money.
Just 2 minutes walk away is Fuxing Road, the main pedestrian street or "bu xing jie" which is *supposed to be* free from motor vehicle traffic, but the rule (like many rules in China) is often ignored by motorcylists. Foreigners Street, with its many bars and cafes, is about 6 minutes away; just walk out to Fuxing Road, turn left and walk another 3-4 minutes. The old city gates are at both ends of Fuxing Road and within easy walking distance.
The rooms are functional, but clean and spacious.
The staff are very friendly - it helps if you speak and understand Chinese - and can help to book buses to other cities in Yunnan, as well as sightseeing trips.
Overall, if you do not need 5-star luxury, the Yinfeng offers very good value for money at a very convenient location within Dali old town.

Room Tip: There are no elevators. Keep in mind Dali is about 2,000 metres (6,560 feet) above sea level, so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yinfeng Hotel D, General Manager at Yinfeng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 29, 2013

We appreciate all the time you took to share your experience at Yinfeng Hotel with the tripadvisor.com communityl

We are going to have a restaurant in a few weeks. The breakfast will be no problem.

All hotels in Dali ancient town have no elevator, because the government introduced rules that all buildings in the old town should not be more than 6 floors high. So there is no need of elevator for these short buildings which are only 2 or 3 floors high.

We believe that attentive service and communication with our guests is our first priority in providing the best hospitality available.

We appreciate your compliments and warm words for our hotel and staff.

Welcome back again and please don’t hesitate if there are any questions.

Best Regards,

Wang Yan
General Manager
Yinfeng Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Despite the odd - and uncommon - poor experience in some reviews, this hotel could charge twice the price and still get excellent reviews.
My second stay this year, and it was better than the first as I used the hotel's booking services on a number of occasions -which included being driven to and from events, plus the free railway station pickup service. As we had the very late train into Dali our Chinese guide rang from our departing station at Lijiang and a driver was waiting to collect us at the other end; for free!
Used the free laundry facility (including washing powder) the next morning and clothes were dry on the hotel's rooftop area early in the afternoon - was a huge wash and would have cost around US$100 at the previous hotel we were at.
My son caught a cold and a hotel member walked us to a nearby pharmacy to help us buy medication - everything was is in Chinese so we had no hope by ourselves.
Like many other reviewers, we opted for a room on the top level - a bit quieter although as there is no traffic nearby, noise was never an issue. There is no elevator so if your bags are too heavy ask for assistance and don't worry about tipping as the practice is not yet common in Dali.
On a previous trip in May 2012 our guide stayed on a lower floor and I can confirm there is a consistency of quality and cleanliness throughout the hotel - I have yet to experience bigger, cleaner, newer rooms at a comparable price. And the beds were fine by comparison with the very firm ones typically found across China.
Free wifi, good airconditioning, flat screen TV (never turned it on so don't know if there were English channels) and a bathroom befitting a 5-star hotel added to the experience.
If you want a mini-bar in the room and restaurant at your hotel, then DO NOT stay at Yinfeng. It also means there is no fridge in the room, so if you want cold food or drink items make alternative plans.
Local restaurants are just a minute walk away and within 10 minutes you are in the heart of the Old City and can find western foods/restaurants and small supermarkets.
Dali Old City is not as pretty as Lijiang (or Shu He) but that is part of its charm. If you want to really get a taste of what it's like living in a Chinese town, just spend 30 or so minutes walking around a few blocks from the Yinfeng and you will experience it all - market gardens, public parks for the locals, kids going to school, and every type of small vendor from foods to fire-brick makers. From Yinfeng it's only a 20 minutes walk to the 3 Pagodas - head along the street towards the North Gate and keep going ahead until you see the Pagodas to the west - impossible to get lost as the landmarks are always prominent with the mountains behind. If you come out on the east-west promenade you can catch a donkey ride for a negotiable fee - and nothing like the prices you will be charged in Lijiang.
The hotel arranged a driver for us at 50rmb to the station and our wonderful stay a Yinfeng ended.


.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms are great and only quieter as the owner keeps several beautiful song birds in cages...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rederob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yinfeng Hotel D, General Manager at Yinfeng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Our warm thanks for your review, and your kind words on so many different points. We make every effort to ensure a supreme hospitality experience, and your review is wonderful acknowledgment.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

I was amazed when I arrived at this hotel - for around 170Y I wasn't expecting what looked like a 3 to 4 star hotel! I had to check that I was at the correct place. When I got to the room it was even better - it was big - two double beds, a sitting area and a bathroom as big as the small hostel room I had stayed in the previous night! It all looked to be only a year or two old, Excellent. It's in a great location in the middle of Dali so it's very easy to find somewhere to eat and drink. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Recommended

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RogerLakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yinfeng Hotel D, General Manager at Yinfeng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

We are delighted to know that we provided you with the service we strive for. Quality of service is essential and we fully recognize this. And I’m happy to say we do receive many compliments on our service.

Best Regards,

Wang Yan
General Manager
Yinfeng Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

very bad! when you check in ,you are the guests but you are nothing at that time when you check out !
we stayed in this hotel for 3 nights,there is no restaurant for the breakfast in this hotel ,you have to go to very far away place to have breakfast .At the last day we need to take the night train to Kunming and we have to deposit our bags in the hotel ,and they said no places for our bags because we will not stay anymore and none of their busness!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank teng x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yinfeng Hotel D, General Manager at Yinfeng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thanks for your feedback on tripadvisor.com.

Our hotel is in the center of the Dali ancient town, just a few steps from the pedestrian street, which is very convenient to buy local goods. Free wifi and self-service laundry are provided.
We have cloakroom ever since the hotel was established. We are building a restaurant right now, and breakfast will be no problem.

Please feel free to give any further questions and suggestions.

Best Regards,

Wang Yan
General Manager
Yinfeng Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

WE got this hotel thru Agoda for $33 and the room was worth a $100. It was huge with big sitting area and huge bahroom. Everything looked new and clean. Not breakfast in the hotel so to get an american breakfast you need to go to on the caffe on Foreiner street or get a street food. Cafes are opened around 9:00 am. You have to walk to the hotel from one of the streets thru an alley. Small car can get to it but a van can not.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irene025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yinfeng Hotel D, General Manager at Yinfeng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your review and praise. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Wang Yan
General Manager
Yinfeng Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights in April.
Very helping staff, clean, high quality rooms.
Walking distance from foreigners street.

Dali Airport is closed after noon flight arrival, no Taxis, we called the hotel, they sent a driver to collect us, RMB 80, - very honest price for such long drive.
We loved the place
Shifra & Zisi Barkan, Israel

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ZisiBarkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yinfeng Hotel D, General Manager at Yinfeng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to post the review.
We appreciate your compliments and look forward to your next stay with us.

Best Regards,

Wang Yan
General Manager
Yinfeng Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dali hotels
11.0 mi away
The Linden Centre
The Linden Centre
#1 of 505 in Dali
591 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hilton Dali Resort & SPA
0.9 mi away
Jim's Tibetan Hotel
Jim's Tibetan Hotel
#8 of 505 in Dali
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Gurong Hotel
Gurong Hotel
#6 of 505 in Dali
71 reviews
0.2 mi away
Landscape Hotel
Landscape Hotel
#9 of 505 in Dali
254 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ronglu Hotel
Ronglu Hotel
#10 of 505 in Dali
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yinfeng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yinfeng Hotel

Address: No.41 Yincang Road, Dali 671003, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Dali
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 505 Hotels in Dali
Price Range: $35 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yinfeng Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Yinfeng Hotel is a shining jewel, nestled in the heart of Dali Ancient City. It is located at No.41 Yincang Road, Dali, nearby the back door of Yu Er Park. Our hotel looks out over Er Hai Lake and Cang Shan Mountain from its patio area; offers everything the weekend and business traveler could need, including a touch of the history. Our hotel is located right in the old city among the entertainment complex and shopping plaza. In the radius of 100 meters, you can find the historical and famous "Foreigner Street" attractions, banks, special food, night clubs, shopping and other entertainment district. It is also surrounded by lots of international cuisine such as German, Thai, Italian, etc. Yin Feng Hotel is committed to provide the highest quality of hospitality to our guests who visit Dali, China and call us as their "Hotel of Choice". Our luxury hotel rooms are clean and comfortable which feature air-conditioner, LCD TVs, free Internet and domestic telephone calls. For guests who wish to travel, we provide bicycle rental and ticket service at the front desk. For convenience, laundry and dry cleaning services are also available. We pride ourselves in providing our guests the most professional and economical, world standard service and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Yinfeng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing