We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big comfortable rooms”
Review of Yinfeng Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yinfeng Hotel
Ranked #7 of 493 Hotels in Dali
Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was a very good value hotel, situated on a quiet side street not far from the center of town. The room was very big as was the bathroom. We really liked having such a lot of space. There are good views of Dali and the lake from the balcony and roof.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Faith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yinfeng Hotel D, General Manager at Yinfeng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2013

On behalf of management and stuff , I’d like to thank you for your lovely review.
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit.


Best Regards,

Wang Yan
General Manager
Yinfeng Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (102)
There are newer reviews for Yinfeng Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 68 of 102 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

It was great that we could check in real early. It was probably between 7 and 8 am. The rooms are big, optical separation between sleeping and sitting area. The rooms are a little to dark though. Big bath rooms (toilet paper seems to be rationed, the rolls contain maybe a forth of a regular roll). But that is something one sees pretty often in Chinese Hotels. The place is well kept and clean.
The location is good to do lot's of things by walking.
The front desk staff is friendly and speaks enough English to get things done if needed.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monika1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yinfeng Hotel D, General Manager at Yinfeng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Thank you very much for your kind feedback.
We appreciate your compliments for our facilities and service.

For reasons of building conservation-oriented society, many hotels including us adopted small size rolls in the bath room. Since some foreign customers had told us about this, we decide to change them back to normal size. Sorry for the inconvenience it brings to you.

Your comments reinforce our vision and give us the motivation to continue.

Welcome back again and please don’t hesitate if there are any questions.


Best Regards,

Wang Yan
General Manager
Yinfeng Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We had a very spacious room for two nights on the third floor. We loved it. The view from there is wonderful, the room was quiet and very, very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was great (very big, new, good shower, window, etc.). We liked the family who runs the hotel a lot because they very friendly and their recommendations reliable. If you go to Dali, this hotel seems to be the best place to stay. It is close to the heart of the Old City, buses stop only 5 minutes away and you get everything you need for breakfast within a few minutes.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LanguageFellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yinfeng Hotel D, General Manager at Yinfeng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you for letting us know we provided a great experience.

We look forward to providing many, many more.

Best Regards,

Wang Yan
General Manager
Yinfeng Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

After arriving at the New Dali trainstation, getting a taxi was a little chaotic because there is not really a line. At 50 RMB we probably didn't get the cheapest rate but based on the reviews on TA we knew that the Yingfeng is a little hard to find and this driver had a map of Old Dali.

The hotel is indeed a little hard to find but our taxi driver persisted and he got us to the hotel.

Locationwise the hotel is perfect, just off the North-South mainstreet and close to Foreigner street (or even better Renmin road with the wonderful Yunnan cafe and Go / Go café for excellent food).

Check in was very friendly. At the front desk they also booked us on the bus to Kunming.

One cannot compare the YinFeng with a western chain hotel, it is really chinese and that means a little bit more emphasis on functionality than design. The room was huge and was decorated with chinese furniture (we had the suite and there was even a gambling table).

Bathroom was large and very clean. The Yinfeng was great value for money and above our expectation.

On internet there is a bit of a debat whether one should go to Dali or Lijiang. We ended up going to both and for us Lijiang was the winner. Although a lot more touristy, the old town of Lijiang is larger and there were a lot more buildings in traditional style. Dali is famous for being a backpackers place but the chinese tourists have definitely taken over the place.

There was one big surprise for us on the first night of our stay: the annual torch festival. During the day you can say people erecting big wooden poles. At night the wooden poles are lit and a lot of people (even young children) start to walk around with torches and throwing pine resin into the fire resulting in big fire balls. On one hand this was very impressive, the whole city is covered with incountable fires and a photographer's heaven.

On the other hand people really get crazy and we felt is was very dangerous. Our daughter was very scared because of all the fires. The girl from reception came to us to comfort our daughter, another example of the friendliness of the hotel.

There is no restaurant on site, but for breakfast we can really recommend Bakery 88 with its delicious breakfast options.

If you want to stay in Dali, the Yinfeng is definitely a good option, comfortable and friendly!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TripleDutch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yinfeng Hotel D, General Manager at Yinfeng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

It’s very rewarding to know we’ve succeeded in providing such a good experience for your family, and I’m delighted you enjoy the hotel so much.
We believe that attentive service and communication with our guests is our first priority in providing the best hospitality available.
Thank you kindly for your warm words for the hotel and staff. We look forward to welcoming you back for many more wonderful visits.

Best Regards,

Wang Yan
General Manager
Yinfeng Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We called hotel the day before to inquire about free pick up from Dali train station and they said to call them again when we arrived. Outside the train station we called them from a store's public phone and someone arrived about 30 mins later to fetch us.
Hotel is located in a quiet side street and very convenient to Sifang Jie pedestrian mall. Lots and lots of small shops and eateries. You could shop till 11pm late at night and just walk back to the hotel. Room and bathroom are very spacious and clean. You can also make free domestic phone calls to anywhere in mainland China which we did to our next hotel destination in Lijiang. You can see part of Erhai Lake and Canshang hills from hotel's rooftop. As they do not have any dining, it would be lovely if they could convert this area to a small dining outlet even if it's just for breakfast.
Tip: Ask for directions to where you can take Bus No 2 near Siefang Jie. For 1 yuan the bus terminates near Erhai Lake, 10 mins walk away. Like the locals walk along the path on right side of lake instead of taking a ferry.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greenhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yinfeng Hotel D, General Manager at Yinfeng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Your obvious affection for the hotel is heartwarming. Thanks very much.

Right now we are building a restaurant so the breakfast will be available soon.

Welcome back again and please don’t hesitate if there are any questions.

Best Regards,

Wang Yan
General Manager
Yinfeng Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Not easy to find in the Old Town as it's tucked down a laneway off a side street, so make sure you get good instructions or are prepared to wander around asking for street directions as it is only signed in Chinese once you are in the lane way. Alternatively, use the hotel's pick up service.
Beautiful 3-level building - small hotel - with large, clean and tidy rooms. Our room was on the top level - no lift so be prepared to carry your bags up or ask for help if they are too heavy or you are not young & fit.
Free wi-fi worked perfectly during our stay, massive bathroom with huge shower area and nice modern fittings suited to a higher rated hotel. Bed was typically firm (which I prefer, anyway) and the living area could have accommodated a football team or two. Furniture relatively new, functional and in perfect condition. No refrigerator, so if you are a coffee lover and want fresh milk, or like a beer or cold drink, head off to the supermarket (as we did) which is just over 5 minutes away, or just trundle down to the restaurant sector which is a leisurely 10 minute walk away. No mini bar either, which for us is a blessing as in over 30 years of travelling we have successfully managed to not fritter a penny on these ridiculous amenities.
There was a modern flatscreen TV which we turned on only to access the internet - never had time to watch anything as there's so many better things to be doing - and an air conditioner which ran quietly and worked perfectly. We stayed during the summer season, so day temperatures neared 28 degrees C (83F) and nights cooler at about 20C (68F). Room lighting could have been improved, perhaps only because I like very bright reading lights - otherwise quite functional.
No breakfast/dining at the hotel, so head to the restaurants and enjoy a multitude of choices of western or local fare starting at a few US dollars per person. We got toast & jam, plus omelette and coffees for 2 at US$10.
Keen shoppers and sightseers will love the location. Walk 100 metres and you are in the main street which runs from the South Gate to the North Gate. The evening we arrived, we immediately ventured into this mall area (no cars, but delivery vehicles of many description) and spent the next few hours casually bargain hunting and sightseeing.
DIY laundry available with great drying balcony (scenic views too), which is a blessing after a week's travel with little prior laundry opportunity. Rooms were maintained exceptionally well and all staff had a smile for us. If cleanliness and functionality are important to you, this hotel will be an ideal choice.
Only downside to our 2 night stay was a rooster that insisted on waking the neighbourhood before 6am (I was awake at 5am so not an issue), but prior to that the hotel's location well away from traffic and public areas gave a perfect night's sleep - uninterrupted 8 hours if you're asleep before 10pm.
Young family members running the hotel spoke good English and were extremely helpful. Best value for money accommodation we have experienced in China during our 3 holidays there in recent years.

Room Tip: Our Chinese guide stayed on a second-level room which was cheaper and equally well appointed, albeit...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rederob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yinfeng Hotel D, General Manager at Yinfeng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

We appreciate all the time you took to share your experience at Yinfeng Hotel with the tripadvisor.com community.

The restaurant will be OK soon, and breakfast will be no problem.

We’re glad you enjoyed staying here. Welcome back again and please don’t hesitate if there are any questions.



Best Regards,

Wang Yan
General Manager
Yinfeng Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

To put it bluntly our room was huge, lovely, clean, almost shiny new (I was told by the staff that it was 3-years old but it seemed 3-months old). The only problem was that our unofficial taxi who only charged us 30RMB from the train station circled though every alley in the ancient city before he found it. I later realized that a driver familiar with the area would have no problem. The desk clerk had recently transferred from another hotel and had pretty decent English skills. No breakfast but at that price and with all the options in the area who cares. We were there three days and would not have minded several more.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Albuquerque_NMGeezer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yinfeng Hotel D, General Manager at Yinfeng Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Thank you kindly for your warm words for the hotel and staff. We look forward to welcoming you back for many more wonderful visits.

Best Regards,

Wang Yan
General Manager
Yinfeng Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dali hotels
11.0 mi away
The Linden Centre
The Linden Centre
#1 of 493 in Dali
587 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hilton Dali Resort & SPA
0.9 mi away
Jim's Tibetan Hotel
Jim's Tibetan Hotel
#8 of 493 in Dali
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Landscape Hotel
Landscape Hotel
#10 of 493 in Dali
253 reviews
0.4 mi away
Gurong Hotel
Gurong Hotel
#6 of 493 in Dali
70 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dali Palace Hotel
Dali Palace Hotel
#97 of 493 in Dali
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yinfeng Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yinfeng Hotel

Address: No.41 Yincang Road, Dali 671003, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Dali
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 493 Hotels in Dali
Price Range: $47 - $95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Yinfeng Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The elegant Yinfeng Hotel is a shining jewel, nestled in the heart of Dali Ancient City. It is located at No.41 Yincang Road, Dali, nearby the back door of Yu Er Park. Our hotel looks out over Er Hai Lake and Cang Shan Mountain from its patio area; offers everything the weekend and business traveler could need, including a touch of the history. Our hotel is located right in the old city among the entertainment complex and shopping plaza. In the radius of 100 meters, you can find the historical and famous "Foreigner Street" attractions, banks, special food, night clubs, shopping and other entertainment district. It is also surrounded by lots of international cuisine such as German, Thai, Italian, etc. Yin Feng Hotel is committed to provide the highest quality of hospitality to our guests who visit Dali, China and call us as their "Hotel of Choice". Our luxury hotel rooms are clean and comfortable which feature air-conditioner, LCD TVs, free Internet and domestic telephone calls. For guests who wish to travel, we provide bicycle rental and ticket service at the front desk. For convenience, laundry and dry cleaning services are also available. We pride ourselves in providing our guests the most professional and economical, world standard service and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Yinfeng Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing