We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly hostel”
Review of The Lily Pad Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Lily Pad Inn
Ranked #4 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Dali
Espoo, Finland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“very friendly hostel”
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We chose Lily Pad because of the good reviews and were not disappointed. The staff was indeed very nice and always ready to help, buy tickets and give advice. Also our room was pleasant - we had the double room at the roof terrasse with a view to the pagodas. The location proved to be even better then we thought, as it is very quiet by night, while Dali Old City can be very noisy. One point that might be improved though is the kitchen. While food is quite good, all in all, it takes a little while to arrive at the table and in particular the breakfast demands the patience of a saint. One more important advice: When ordering the cheese sandwhich make sure to double-mention that you actually would like to have it with a slice of cheese in visible size ;-) Everything else is just spendid.

Room Tip: The top floor room at the roof terrace is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mesiangervo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    22
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
24
24
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Rennes, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

The stay at this inn was an extremely pleasant experience. The staff was very kind and they even offered us to bring us from the bus station to the inn. When visiting you should definitely participate at the common dinner, it is a great way to get to know the other travelers.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yozilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012 via mobile

We loved our time here. Room was excellent, bathroom was clean and spacious (was part of our room), food was cheap and delicious. Convenient location, helped organize our trip to Cangshan mountain. However, I would add a fan in the room to cool it down a bit and also provide a bit of white noise, as we were woken early by roosters and dogs barking and nearby construction. Otherwise, a great stay!

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jbethune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We booked this hotel because reviews on Tripadvisor were pretty good. When we arrived, we were a little bit disapinted.
Our room was big but no heather (as most of hotels we stayed in China), we stayed there end of November 2011, so the weather was not really warm. Fortunately, we had heating blanket, but once you get in bed, you don't wanna go elsewhere.
All rooms are around the central living room and walls are like paper...
The hotel is a little bit outside the city, you have to cross the "highway" to go there. There is no "real restaurant" in the hotel, it was a little bit strange. We did order once our dinner at the reception but we had to eat it on the couch in front of the TV (in summer time, you can eat outside, there are some tables).
Staff was good but not all of them speak english.

From the rooftop, there is a nice view on the mountain and the lake. As the laundry at the hotel was a bit expensive, we did it ourselves. We could hang our clothes on the rooftop during sunny day.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francois M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indonesia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2012

It was the my first time to stay at The Lily Pad Inn and I was impressed with the service. It's clean, simple, you can sleep there just like a baby here.....The location itself is very close to the Old Town, just take a walk in 8 minutes and you'll be there. The staffs are so kind and helpful. When I left Dali, I forgot to bring my thing and Erin, as the host of the Inn sent it to me immediately. So, go to Dali then spend nights at The Lily Pad Inn and they will not disappoint their quests.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank indoboyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kunming, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2012

My family and I spent new year eves for three years in a row now. We're from Indonesia and are living in China for more than ten years.

We love it so much that we keeps coming back and everytime we recommends it to our friends and families, all of them love it! It's very clean, very friendly staffs, reasonable price, and strategicly located just outside Dali oldtown.

Erin, the lady, has fluent Chinese and does amazing job to make all guests comfortable and surprised with her hospitality everyday.

In the past three years, every year it has wonderful improvements. Now they have nice and warm blanket, heater, hot water for bath, even now they have complimentary wifi.

It's wonderful motel in dali, if you on the way to lijiang or shangrila and want to make one or two days stop in dali, this place is a must to stay!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huskey76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore River, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2012

The Lily Pad Inn is actually a Bai-style house with a very nice courtyard, that is on the slopes of Cangshan mountains. Wake up to the view of the mountains through the windows of your room, away from the hustle and bustle of the streets. Cross the main road from your Inn, go through a side portal, and you're in the Old Town in less than 5 minutes, with a pub waiting for you. Access to the several cable cars up the mountains is also one of the best of the accommodations in Dali. Erin, the host of the Inn and her staff, in their very friendly and not-too-pushy manner, will go out of their way to see your comfort and touring needs. They speak English quite well. The common rest area in the Inn has a very 'homey' feel to it. There's also a puppy and kitten loitering somewhere around the house. If you're in Dali for your holidays, then this is the place to pad in. More than real value for money.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the second floor or with rooftop access. You will have a view of the Cangshan moun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KP L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dali hotels
11.5 mi away
The Linden Centre
The Linden Centre
#1 of 478 in Dali
578 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gurong Hotel
Gurong Hotel
#6 of 478 in Dali
69 reviews
0.5 mi away
Jim's Tibetan Hotel
Jim's Tibetan Hotel
#8 of 478 in Dali
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hilton Dali Resort & SPA
0.1 mi away
Dali Five Elements Hostel
0.0 mi away
The Jade Emu International Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lily Pad Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lily Pad Inn

Property: The Lily Pad Inn
Address: No.13, Group10, Ximen Village, Dali Town, Dali 671003, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Dali
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Dali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — The Lily Pad Inn 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and HostelWorld so you can book your The Lily Pad Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing