We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reverence for the Culture,beautiful everywhere you turned,magical in every way.”
Review of The Linden Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Linden Centre
Ranked #1 of 478 Hotels in Dali
Certificate of Excellence
WI
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Reverence for the Culture,beautiful everywhere you turned,magical in every way.”
Reviewed April 5, 2010

The Linden Centre is a beautifully restored Inn,within easy walking distance to town, surrounded by acres of farmland and mountains to the west. The Lindens and their staff were very helpful,organizing short trips, drivers,and were happy to share their knowledge of China, art, the culture, and the people. It was fun to jump on bikes and ride to the market or through the neighborhood.
The Cheff is amazing, cooking fresh ingredients from the morning market! Needless to say, it was a magical, unforgettable time. We hope to come back to explore more sights with Jeanee and Brian or on our own.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    508
    54
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
178
135
45
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2010

I have lived and traveled in Asia for nearly 20 years and have to say that the Linden Center has to be my favorite place to stay. The hotel is situated on the edge of a small Bai village, surrounded by paddy farms and village life. The Lindens have faithfully restored a tea merchant’s home with great care. There are four courtyards, and a sun terrace over looking the paddies. The rooms are tastefully designed and very comfortable. The staff is top notch, but best of all the Lindens, Brian and Jeanee are available to share their knowledge about China, antiques, and the local scene. Nothing has been overlooked at the Linden Center and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clayonsteele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
1 review
Reviewed March 27, 2010

Most of us on the trip are of Chinese Ethnicity or married to one who is. Our travel experience is far and wide and many of us have been to China before but I am sure that none of us have ever had an in-depth look into rural China. The location of the Linden Centre in the small village of Xizhou near Er Hai Lake and the nearby Cangshan Mts. was an ideal hub for us to explore the area. We would wake up early and witness the sunrise over the fields of broadbean and wheat. A simple Chinese and Western breakfast prepared by the on-site chefs fueled us to venture out to the morning farmer's market. On the way, we would pass Bai-style residential houses. The Bai people is one of 26 ethnic minority groups in Yunnan Province. We also saw other minorities such as the Yi and Naxi people. The walks on the village streets and markets gave us an insight into the world of Jeanee & Brian Linden and their two boys. They have established a unique site that have drawn visitors from all over the world. The center itself, with its 14 guest rooms, library, tv room, meditation room, dining room and 4 courtyards and a roof terrace, rivals that of any 5 star resort we have encountered in our travels.

Brian and Jeanee along with staff members, Lei Lei, Ling Ling, Frank and Adrian created a wonderful mixture of trips and activities for our group. At the center, activities included how to make steamed buns, videos and slides on Yunnan and it's Ethnic Minorities. Nearby trips included visiting a tearoom and sampling teas; watching a Bai dance performance and receiving the Traditional Three Course Tea served during the performance; a hike up to a tea plantation overlooking the famous Three Pagodas in Dali., a visit to Dali Old Town for shopping and a wonderful ride by horse cart to the lake where we boarded boats to watch cormorants catch fish. Another nearby visit was to a school where each Saturday, Martha Aurelius from Wisconsin, would teach English to the local Bai children. She is also tutor to the Linden's two boys, Shane & Bryce. On this particular Saturday, two teachers in our group taught 2 songs in English to the children.

We took a day trip to Weishan and visited a Muslim village. These Muslims were different than those found in the Middle East. We also made visits to a famous Taoist Mountain. Weibaoshan. This gave us some perspective into the religions of the area. Another day trip took us to the East side of Er Hai Lake where we went to another Bai market and a nunnery and temple.

Our last long distance trip took us further north to Lijiang, a bustling city at the base of mighty Jade Dragon Snow Mountain, 18,360 feet above sea level. We first visited a nearby grotto at another Taoist, Shibaoshan where we saw 1200 year old stone carvings. The carvings exhibit a Hindu sensibility which demonstrates the cosmopolitan nature of old Yunnan where Chinese and Indian culture collided.

By far the highlight of our Lijiang adventure was the attendance at a beautifully choreographed show directed by the man who choreographed the 2008 Beijing Opening/Closing Ceremonies. We completed our journey here by wandering the streets and alleys of Lijiang Old Town.

Thanks, Lindens, for introducing us Overseas Chinese to the "real" China. We would highly recommend your site to everyone .

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jqandmoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2010

You leave feeling like you have really learned something about the culture with very little effort. The Lindens want to share their knowledge with you and they are very warm and giving people. Brian will share his extensive knowledge of antiques and Jeanee her knowledge of textiles and food of the region. The facility is lovely and the food is great. I highly recommend it to anyone who just wants a quiet sanctuary or those who want to be active and learn something new.

  • Stayed March 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2010

I took my girlfriend for a holiday in Dali for Chinese New year. We spent three days in Dali and decided to look for a change of pace from the noise and crowds. We read the reviews here and it sounded like it was worth a try. It was the best decision we made on our entire trip. From the first time we walked through the gate until we said goodbye, we loved the experience. The staff and the Linden family were wonderful. They made us feel right at home. I loved the fact that I felt like I was experiencing the "real China" , but had all the comforts of the west.
We spent the first day exploring the village and biking to the lake. Then we borrowed books from their extensive library, drank coffee and chilled out on the rooftop patio that look out onto picturesque fields with snow peaked mountains in the background. We also ate lunch and dinner at the centre. The food was great. The chefs actually came out and asked how everything was.
I can't recommend this place enough. It's uniqueness, it's obvious care and passion from it's owners and it's quality of service make it a must stop for anyone traveling through Dali or Lijiang.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bubba38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Sussex, UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2010

It's difficult to say anything different to the reviews before but I can only agree that this is an amazing building run by a very interesting couple with staff who really do their best to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable.
The food is fab, the location in the village does make you feel that you're in a rural retreat and the view from the roof terrace is lovely.
We had a wonderfully relaxing 3 days at the centre and really recharged our batteries whilst taking in some interesting sights and experiences such as the cormorant fishing and meeting the village elder who was a hit with the ladies :-)
However, what made our stay really special was the staff and in particular Frank. I have never encountered someone as enthusiastic, charming and happy to help as Frank. He obviously LOVES his job and is a real assett to the Centre, even arranging for me to see a local accupuncturist and then translating my ailments etc to the Doctor.

We arrived as strangers and left as friends and I was genuinely sad to say goodbye.

Throughly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SussexEm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2010

Like a typical Bai house (only modernized with all amenities), staying at the Linden Center gave us a taste of rural China. We took advantage of their 'Short Stay,' which included three days of local sightseeing. After having traveled to the major cities and sights in China, coming here was a wonderful end to our trip. We fell in love with the area, and the Linden Center, which is such a unique place to stay, helped us understand the rhythm and customs in Yunnan Province. If you want to experience this special part of China, this is the place to go.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NycCjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dali hotels
15.0 mi away
Hilton Dali Resort & SPA
17.3 mi away
Seclusive Life Erhai
Seclusive Life Erhai
#41 of 478 in Dali
2 reviews
11.4 mi away
Gurong Hotel
Gurong Hotel
#7 of 478 in Dali
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Landscape Hotel
Landscape Hotel
#9 of 478 in Dali
251 reviews
11.9 mi away
Jim's Tibetan Hotel
Jim's Tibetan Hotel
#8 of 478 in Dali
168 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sky Valley Heritage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Linden Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Linden Centre

Property: The Linden Centre
Address: No.5 Chengbei Village, Xizhou Town, Dali 671004, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Yunnan > Dali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dali
#5 Best Value Hotel in Dali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Linden Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Linden Centre is a meticulously restored courtyard mansion in the pristine Yunnan village of Xizhou. Great care was taken to preserve the beautiful Bai architecture of this nationally protected cultural heritage hotel, while modern conveniences including heating and air conditioning were added to ensure guests a comfortable and absolutely unique stay. In this elegant setting, connect with the local ethnic cultures that make this part of China so special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Linden Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Linden Centre Hotel Dali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing