We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Linden Centre
Nearby Hotels
$34
$27
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
The Lily Pad Inn(Dali)(Great Value!)
$16
$6
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$44
$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$24
$19
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dali Five Elements Hostel(Dali)(Great Value!)
$18
$15
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$53
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (635)
Filter reviews
635 results
Traveler rating
562
55
10
7
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
562
55
10
7
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscultural experiencelocal communityrice fieldschinese culturexizhou villagea special placehorse carttie dyemarket tourhistoric buildingyunnan provincelocal baicourtyard homeold townonce in a lifetimesmall villagecultural revolution
Filter
Updating list...
295 - 300 of 635 reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Our family of four stayed at the LindenC for four nights and really had an amazing time! The LindenC gave us the opportunity to go slightly off the beaten path (that is, beyond old town Dali) in a family friendly environment. Our children are still quite small (ages 2 and 5), and it was so safe and comfortable for them to toddle around the courtyards or play by the small fish and turtle pond. Not to mention relaxing bike rides along Erhai Lake. In between activities, the children could unwind in a kids' playroom upstairs or catch a film in the movie room. We had excellent experiences with all of the staff - from the travel curators who help to propose activities for your itinerary to the lovely dining room staff. The rooms are very comfortable (even heated at night when it can get a little chilly!) The owners and staff are quite open about talking about their experiences in China which I found quite fascinating along with their knowledge of the Bai/Xizhou community.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KMama2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2014

The Linden Center has done a lot to make people feel at home. It was quite luxury experience there, not only because of the facilities, the environment, but also the people there. Anyone coming will experience the comfort, but I want to say more beyond the experience. Lindens are doing amazing work to benefit locals. They trained local Bai and try best to employ locals. The most touching story I've heard is about Aling in the kitchen. She is so confident and proud of herself. I believe it's the very thing responsible travel should do and can do, to empower local, especially women. And Lindens are trying to spread this impact to help more destinations and people. We should be part of this positive impact!

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
3  Thank Peng L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Owner at The Linden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2014

Thank you for your kind feedback. We are very proud of our interaction with the local community. In fact, our neighbors feel as if they are part of the Linden Centre team, this is how proud they are of our efforts. As we grow, we realize that there are so many more things that we can do for Yunnan. We thus are hosting numerous experts and scholars in sustainable development, environmental protection, and micro-financing. We cannot stop the indiscriminate destruction enabled by businesses attempting to 'cash in' from mass Chinese tourism. We see it around Lake Er, which suffers from cement and steel structures that have no connection to Dali cultural traditions and only exacerbate the lake's pollution troubles. We can, however, persevere in supporting efforts that preserve and inspire. Everyday our guests and I share with the villagers. Our Centre is not closed to them, like other newly constructed 'old' hotels. At the Linden Centre, our villagers are part of the team that enchants you every minute of your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014

We stayed at the Linden Centre just before X'mas '13 and were blown away by the warm hospitality of Brian Linden and his wonderful team! The Centre itself is a carefully restored heritage property of traditional Bai Architecture and has charming courtyards, beautiful columns & corridors and a fabulous terrace overlooking the rice fields,against the Himalayan backdrop.

We were there on Christmas Eve and participated in the famous annual 'snow fight' at Dali Old Town. I must mention the incident that happened this evening, after the snow fight. We missed getting on to the bus that was organized by the Linden Center, after the snow-fight and were very impressed that one of the staff came looking and located us in the mayhem and organized a cab, at their expense, to take us back to the hotel! Its gestures like these, that elevates the position of a hotel, from good to excellent, in terms of hospitality.

Our room was very comfortable and we loved the sky lit breakfast lounge! We enjoyed the horse carriage ride to Erhai and the walking tour of Xizhou village with Anne-Liese. Thank you...Brian, Jeannie, Craig, Juliet, Andrew, Helen, Seb, Candy & Anne- Liese...for an enriching experience!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meeta666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Owner at The Linden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

Dear friends: thank you for spending Christmas with us. Your girls were quite the hit (target) at Dali's yearly snow fight!

With over 50 employees for 18 rooms, we are proud of our ability to provide personal service and attention. We do this in part because of the setting of Centre. Because it is a nationally protected building, one of only a handful open to overnight guests in China, we have focused on preserving its original grandeur. The Centre is clearly one of the best examples of pre-revolutionary architecture in SW China, and we have carefully incorporated comforts without destroying its charm. There are tens of thousands newly constructed hotels in China, each trying to out compete the other by spending money on gimmicks. We believe that our buildings and its setting offer China's most appealing alternative to soul-less, nouveau rich- targeted monstrosities.

Thank you again for being a part of the Centre experience!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for three night at TLC. The place is beautifully restored keeping original feel of on old chinese house. Rooms were very comfortable, clean, well equipped. It was very cold when we visited but rooms were cozy.
Service was outstanding they help us with bicycles (free for guests) , maps, guided tour of town, local cheese maker, noodle 'factory', local market.

Food was excellent! Breakfast perfect. Will recommend to all our friends.

Stayed: December 2013
2  Thank Milloscampeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Owner at The Linden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Thank you so much for your glowing review. Coming from someone with your extensive travel experience, we are honored and humbled. We hope that you will be able to visit again during a warmer time of the year.

Happy New Year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We loved the Centre and appreciated the very helpful and friendly staff. Looking at the menu of activities offered, we realized that we wanted to customize them and do things our own way. The staff didn't even flinch, and we were able to use their services, drivers, contacts, guides, etc. to get out into the area and see the region our own way. We would love to go back at a warmer time of year. We were so thankful for the space-heaters in the rooms - a true luxury in that area.

Room Tip: We had one of the two family suites, which has two separate sleeping rooms. That arrangement is so much better than one big room! It was perfect for us (two adults and two kids ages 11 & 12).
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swhodges67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Owner at The Linden Centre, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. You were here during a freak cold front that also brought our first snow in a decade. I am writing now one week later in a t-shirt looking out at the snow- capped mountains. Today's high will be 18 degrees- much more common for the end of December.

Because of chilly nights, we do provide heaters in every room. Our third courtyard has recently been fitted with wall heating- and air conditioning-units. We have tried to incorporate as many amenities as possible without damaging our Centre's historic structure. We believe that we have been able to strike a comfortable and appealing balance between comforts and historical accuracy/preservation.

We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews