We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, Great time, Great people”
Review of The Linden Centre

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Linden Centre
Ranked #1 of 490 Hotels in Dali
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai, China
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place, Great time, Great people”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

My Family and I stayed at the Linden Centre for 3 nights and enjoyed every moment we were there. Amazing location.... Amazing activities for family.... Just a great time for everyone. The staff is great. We did a tour of the flying tiger museum and a boat trip to watch birds catch fish. They also have bikes available to tour around the city.

The hotel is clean and well maintained. They can provide transportation from Dali city.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ayars-China
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    54
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
180
137
45
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Instead of staying dowtown in old Dali which is quite crowded, the Linden Center is about 10 Minutes north, close by the Er Hai Lake.

Lost in the middle of paddy fields, the little village of Xi Zhou is quiet and very enjoyable.

The Linden Center, owned by an American has great assets to make you spend a great time in Dali.
The rooms are clean, nicely furnished and include a spatious bathroom.
All has a local flavor and the courtyards are nicely decorated with Bai paintings and statues.
The cafe on the roof overlooking the paddy fields is a great place to have a drink late afternoon or even at night.
There are some Bai minority performances sometimes which is nice to see them close and watch their dances.

The staff is dedicated and very helpful.
Ping Pong, Pool and bicycles are available free of charge.

A ride to the lake takes no more than 10 minutes and you will see local fishermen on the shores.

We really enjoyed our stay there and would definitely recommend it !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JeffBHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian L, Owner at The Linden Centre, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for coming to the Centre to spend your vacation. A relaxing drink on the terrace is well worth the trip! We are happy your family had a great time in Yunnan and, we thank you for recommending our hotel to other travelers. J Linden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed at the Linden Centre for 3 nights, and had a great time. The staff was very informative, we spent time with Maureen and Andrew and both were extremely interested and knowledgeable about the local area.

The activities were the best part of the stay. Xizhou is quite charming, it definitely gives you an idea of the life of a local. Maureen gave us a very interesting tour of the village, including visiting the rice pancake bakery(?) and tasting the finished product right out of the grinder. I loved the mountainside hike to the temple and the mosque with Andrew as our guide. The cormorant fishing was also fun (although touristy). The only issue - they should provide helmets with the bikes.

The rooms themselves were fantastic, especially considering the rural location of the centre. The beds were soft, and the room was well lit. The room could be noisy at times, but overall fairly quiet. The bathroom had extremely nice fixtures, although there were a few issues: the toilet was very low-powered, and the shower seal was leaky, creating a pool of water on the floor after every shower. The hot water was limited to 6-10pm and 7-10pm but it didn't inconvenience us much.

The centre also has a fair bit of public space, the movie room and the game room were especially nice touches for a rainy day.

Overall, the Linden Centre was a fantastic experience and I recommend it highly to anyone wanting to get a feel for rural China.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rapidcitytraveler98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Our family of 4 (kids aged 12 & 7) stayed here in July for one night. The house has been beautifully restored and furnished (worth visiting to look at even if you are not staying there) and is a delight to stay in and the village of Xizhou is lovely. However be aware that it is about 20 minutes drive from Dali old town, so if you stay there you will need to negotiate getting back after a night in Dali old town.
We found the staff to be rather off hand - we were collected by their driver from the train station (price already pre-negotiated) and when we arrived he tried to over charge us. The staff were unprepared for our arrival (despite having sent their driver collect us!) and their reception staff didn't arrive for another 20 minutes. We were shown to our room, but not shown where anything else like breakfast rooms etc were. Upon leaving we were charged our room rate, despite this already having been prepaid by our agent. All in all, I would say that this is a beautiful place to stay, hopefully the staff issues were only a hiccup during our stay but for one night I think staying in Dali old town would give you a lot more options in terms of eating and sightseeing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kimbojimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I went to the Xizhou where the Linden Centre is located for a two week study trip. I was pleasantly surprised by the hospitality and camaraderie I felt with the staff at the center. The courtyard style hotel was beautiful and small. The food was freshly purchased from the local market every day. Each evening, we had a different guest who agreed to speak about what their field of study is. The center is trying to create an aura as a center for exchanging ideas. One night we listened to a speaker talk about the state of the organic food market in China. Another evening we heard about mask making.

We spent the two weeks traveling around the region. We visited Taoist mountains, local areas of worship, smaller cultural centers and much more. The guides were excellent and we had a terrific time.

The one thing to keep in mind is that many guests stay for just a few days but a longer stay is recommended because there is much to learn about this region. It is relatively remote -- we took a 4 hour flight from Beijing to Kunming, and a 4 hour van ride to the center. It is 30 minutes from Old Town Dali which is no longer an undiscovered place...now overrun with tourists. Xizhou is still relatively untouched and relaxed. Half of all ethnic minority groups live in Yunnan province so it is worth taking your time.

The rooms at the center were clean and efficient. The bathrooms were clean although the showers run only in the morning and the evening. Because it is a courtyard house, the sound echoes throughout but after a day of traveling, it is easy to get to sleep. I would recommend this as a special destination to savor.

Room Tip: All rooms face not the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Our family of four arrived at the Linden Centre for a three night stay in June. Our group consisted of a mom, dad, 25 year old and 15 year old sons. Our three week trip took us to many areas of China but this was one of our favorite stops. Many reviewers have stated the centre's positive points. When we first arrived to the hotel I thought it might be too quiet for us. The hotel has a very peaceful feeling which you experience as soon as you pass through the doors.
My husband is from London and both sons are soccer fans. The three of them wanted desperately to watch the Euro Cup and as it turned out one of the nights we were there England played Italy. As other reviewers have mentioned there is no television in the room but because the employees wanted to make sure we were happy they hooked up a laptop to the tv in the television room and made the connection. I should mention the games were played at 2:30am China time. This is just one example of how the employees want you to have a good time.
Other activities that we participated in was to take a tour of the local market, cormant fishing, cooking class and tea tasting. After staying for a week in Beijing and then some days in Xian these days in Xizhou were relaxing and enabled us to see another side of China.
My 15 year old thought this was the best hotel that we stayed at. He especially loved the ping pong and pool table.
Anyone who is thinking about staying at the Linden Centre should be prepared for a much lower key environment and also having employees who really want you to have a memorable time during your stay in Xizhou.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LivinCal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 6 Contributor
70 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

We had been to China a couple of times before our last visit in December 2011-January 2012. This time we wanted to stay in a small village and Linden Centre was the right ticket. There are a handful of basic rooms housed in an old, large Chinese style mini-mansion. It feels like staying in someone's house. The kitchen makes simple, homemade local Chinese dishes which we found very good. I also took a short and enjoyable cooking class. Linden Centre is within the village of Xizhou, about 40 minutes outside Dali. We loved the 10 minutes walk to the center of village and its colorful market.There are also complimentary bikes for guests. We biked to the nearby lake (20-30 minutes easy biking) and watched the fisher-women and enjoyed the wonderful scenery. There is a billiard table and a table tennis table as well as a library and media room. No TV in rooms which was delightful for us. We spent nights learning and playing Mahjong with the staff. We loved the rooftop balcony in the rear of the house with 360-degree views over the mountains, the village and the adjacent rice/vegetable fields.
Don't miss out on this wonderful experience. Try to stay a minimum of 3 nights. The rates at around US$170 which included breakfast are reasonable and food does not run you more than US$15-30 per couple for lunch and dinner.

Room Tip: upstairs room in the third and second courtyards are quieter, respectively. Don't forget to full...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LiveAmused
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dali hotels
15.0 mi away
Hilton Dali Resort & SPA
17.3 mi away
Seclusive Life Erhai
Seclusive Life Erhai
#41 of 490 in Dali
2 reviews
11.4 mi away
Gurong Hotel
Gurong Hotel
#6 of 490 in Dali
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Jim's Tibetan Hotel
Jim's Tibetan Hotel
#7 of 490 in Dali
171 reviews
11.2 mi away
Landscape Hotel
Landscape Hotel
#10 of 490 in Dali
252 reviews
18.8 mi away
Grand Bay View International Hotel Dali
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Linden Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Linden Centre

Property: The Linden Centre
Address: No.5 Chengbei Village, Xizhou Town, Dali 671004, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Yunnan > Dali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Dali
#6 Best Value Hotel in Dali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Linden Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Linden Centre is a meticulously restored courtyard mansion in the pristine Yunnan village of Xizhou. Great care was taken to preserve the beautiful Bai architecture of this nationally protected cultural heritage hotel, while modern conveniences including heating and air conditioning were added to ensure guests a comfortable and absolutely unique stay. In this elegant setting, connect with the local ethnic cultures that make this part of China so special. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Linden Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Linden Centre Hotel Dali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing