We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Jade Emu International Guest House
Ranked #2 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Dali
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I stayed at this guest house for 4 nights. I had a private room that was clean and comfortable. The lobby is very spacious and provides a great atmosphere for travelers. The owner added greately to the camaraderie by providing thursday night pool tournaments. Drinks were included before and after which added to the fun. The staff was very helpful and spoke good english. The food was excellent,I recommend the banana pancakes. The location was a 5 minute walk to old Dali, and the bus stop was right out front. I recommend this guest house for the value and service.

Room Tip: I recommend a room on the second floor> I did see a few mice scurry about on the first
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lori l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

132 - 138 of 288 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

this guest house is the best place we stay in china .
we stay here for 9 nights -the rooms are spacious and very confortable .
the bathroom is big and very nice , the service is excelent and the staff
are nice and helpful.The food is excelent , the courtyard is great and the location is just right at the east gate to Dali old town.The owners Dave and Song are friendly and very helpful !
this place is most luxury hostel we ever stay !
i would highly recommend anyone to stay here !

Room Tip: all the rooms are nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drukmanj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

A lovely place with the best rooms we stayed in during our entire trip! Staff were friendly and helpful, and we had a number of (unsuccessful!) staked games of pool against the owner and enjoyed the decent music played. There is a big library of DVDs you can borrow for free to watch, and the food is excellent and pretty cheap. Not the cheapest available, but it is China, and it's definitely worth splashing out after spending weeks in cheap accommodation!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bethan19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I was there only for one night. Best value for money, nice big double room with big bathroom, free hand soap and shampoo and lotion. Great location, just right at the East Gate to Dali Old Town. Everything very clean, TV with English channels. Great courtyard and comfortable lounge with sofa, TV and three computers with free internet. Very friendly and helpful staff, highly recommendable!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Muna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised over and over again by this place. Everything from the room, the staff, the location were awesome. I would highly recommend anyone to stay here. The location is great, located right next to old town. Really nice double rooms for the cost.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarlaTy06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

The hotel is great! It is very pretty, the rooms are very nice. The food is good. The staff speaks great English and are very helpful and friendly. It's very clean and very well placed outside the city walls. Highly recommended

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ammallabib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Bathroom smells atrocious. Not sure how to describe it, some combo of sewer and pet store.
It's not satisfied with this review so far so I'm adding this sentence. Still doesn't accept my review? Still not at 200 characters apparently. Here's some long words- aassddffgghhjjkkll.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dali hotels
0 mi away
Dali Five Elements Hostel
0 mi away
The Lily Pad Inn
The Lily Pad Inn
#4 of 132 in Dali
123 reviews
0 mi away
Four Seasons International Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dragonfly Guest House
Dragonfly Guest House
#1 of 132 in Dali
77 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hilton Dali Resort & SPA
11.5 mi away
The Linden Centre
The Linden Centre
#1 of 527 in Dali
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jade Emu International Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jade Emu International Guest House

Address: Area 10, West Gate Village | 500m, South of Sanyue Street, Dali 671003, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Dali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 132 Specialty Lodging in Dali
Price Range: $13 - $63 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Jade Emu International Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing