We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The English name doesn't do it justice, it's the "Blue Orchid" but don't expect a beautiful hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Landscape Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Landscape Hotel
Ranked #8 of 463 Hotels in Dali
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
119 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
“The English name doesn't do it justice, it's the "Blue Orchid" but don't expect a beautiful hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2010

I was in Dali as part of a tour package, and stayed here at the arrangement of the tour agent. But this hotel is good, I must say and serves its purpose well, although it does not deserve rave reviews.

This hotel is apparently owned by a rich man who started with just a few blocks of the old houses in this old part of town. Over the years, he started walloping up more of the neighbouring blocks and then turned the whole cluster into a hotel. So the traditional architecture is still there, although designs are updated and the whole complex spruced up, updated and renovated.

The room look like a traditional Bai-style house from the outside. But inside, it's like most 3-star modern hotel with a Western-style toilet and bed, and TV and all. The bath-tub doubles up as the shower stall, but I must say this is where it gets tacky. The bathtub is obviously a make-shift one, and actually made of plastic. Fat people like me and my partner stand on it to shower will simply crack it. Not surprising, it's already been cracked by a previous guest, and so we had a leaking bathtub for two days. Not that it's so much of an issue, but the bathroom itself looks modern but is actually inadequate -- the toilet bowl got stuck at the last night.

Breakfast was at an adjacent block with a huge mass of Chinese tourists. Some Western-style stuff like bread and butter aere found, but the spread was mainly Chinese style. Not too much of an issue for us again, as we don't eat too much at breakfast. But we saw some bewildered Caucasians who were looking at the near-empty spread around 9 am, as the Chinese tourists tend to eat early and they're truly numerous.

The location of the hotel must be its main attraction -- it's just about 100-150m away from the so-called Foreigner Street. From there, the restaurants, bars and shops are clustered near. So even without a fantastically beautiful room and awe-inspiring service, the location of the Landscape Hotel makes it a worthy bet. Just don't expect too much.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sal the Fat Fish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    127
    58
    13
    5
See reviews for
21
81
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Maryland
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2010

This is a beautiful 4 star hotel that is worth staying in due to its location in the heart of the old city. The staff and hotel tries hard and is charming almost because they aren't adapted to Westerner's--this is part of cultural travel, e.g. the tea demo girl wouldn't stop pouring so she could practice English. My only real complaint is that the guests are often loud and the breakfast is mediocre.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MDTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2010

A truly nice hotel, kept in chineese style all throughout. Placed near the main street, but far enough to be very quiet. It had a Dali's laidback atmosphere, with very nice restaurant, massage, green surroundings and wooden buildings.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DirtyFeets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2010

This hotel was a disaster. Nothing worked, no-one at reception spoke English, the room was small, musty and breakfast was the worst I've ever experienced in China. including a fruit drink which had been diluted with tap water and made me quite ill. The aircon rattled like an old T-model Ford, the toilet wouldn't flush, the doorbell wouldn't ring, the mattress was a brick even by Chinese hotel standards. DO NOT STAY HERE!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulysses10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dali hotels

Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2010

Landscape hotel is in a small side street off the main pedestrian street in Dali, a little hidden and initially not looking so appealing, but once you are there, it is superb! It is as the name suggests a landscape, with plenty of outdoor, comfortable rooms and lots of Chinese artsy things to see. Breakfast was wonderful and location as central as could possibly be.

Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank margitmargalit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2010

As Chinese hotels go this is pretty good with the exception of breakfast.

The rooms are large and comfortable(with the exception of the hard as nails bed), the bathroom is cosy, the reception area is OK but what really make this hotel great is the location; in the middle of town without being noisy.

Breakfast however is certainly lacking in anythiing remotely edible if you're not a lover of Chinese noodle soup!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maccy01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2009

Based on earlier reviews we booked into this hotel for 5 nights. We arrived at about 1 am after a flight delay and found check in to be extremely slow and frustrating. When we eventually got to our rooms they were clean and seemed fine though rather stuffy. We did not however have a very peaceful night - telephones kept ringing for some strange reason and very early in the morning the other hotel guests disturbed us as they were heading off for breakfast or out for the day. The phone continued to ring in the corridor and there were people shouting up the stairs to one another.

We found that it was a very large hotel used by many chinese tour groups and hence the noise. The chinese do tend to be rather noisy! The view out of our window was awful - an inner courtyard used to dump broken chairs, fridges etc. The breakfast was very chinese and there was nothing to our taste at all. Internet was not free. We decided to check out and found a much nicer, small and very peaceful hotel - Zhong He Ju Hotel which I highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1try
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dali hotels
0.3 mi away
Gurong Hotel
Gurong Hotel
#7 of 463 in Dali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hilton Dali Resort & SPA
11.2 mi away
The Linden Centre
The Linden Centre
#1 of 463 in Dali
5.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Jim's Tibetan Hotel
Jim's Tibetan Hotel
#6 of 463 in Dali
4.0 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
7.9 mi away
Grand Bay View International Hotel Dali
0.2 mi away
Yinfeng Hotel
Yinfeng Hotel
#5 of 463 in Dali
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Landscape Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Landscape Hotel

Property: Landscape Hotel
Address: No.96 Yuer Road, Dali 671003, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Dali
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Dali
#4 Luxury Hotel in Dali
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Landscape Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 284
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA so you can book your Landscape Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Landscape Hotel Dali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing