We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality - a home away from home !!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel du Temps Perdu
Ranked #250 of 1,446 Dali B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 10, 2008

Just returned home from our holidays and wanted to share with all our wonderful stay in Dali @ Yunnan, China.

The best place to stay while vacationing in Dali, no doubt, is to be close to the Ancient City or Old Town, which dates back to 1382 during the Ming Dynasty and was once the gateway to the SilkRoad in SW China. Although there are a lot of budget rooms (be careful of touts), we decided on "Hotel du temps Perdu" 风情大理客栈 after we did some due diligence on the internet and walked in to the hostel to have a peek at the place before we made up our mind to stay.

Although we were looking at budget accomodations, we didn't want the challenge of staying in a locally managed hostel and certainly not in a shared room dorminatory. "Hotel du temps Perdu" 风情大理客栈 offers a good compromise at a great price and close proximity ~5 minutes walking distance to the South Gate of the Old Town. The hostel is clean & homely, with an intimate open roof courtyard in the center of the modern decorated traditional house. We stayed on the 2nd floor, and find the room to be spacious and quite comfortable (see picture) with the usual amendities we have come to expect from an international hotel like TV, bathroom & WiFi not to mention the outdoor sitting area overseeing the naturally-lit beautiful courtyard.

We find the stay to be memorable as our hosts are hospitable and eager to please , offering great advices (from where to go for great food & pastries to where to gym close-by) and for getting the eggs right (sunny-side up with a little runny) and we must add - the really delicious coffee (with creamy milky-white foam) for breakfast, served whenever you like when we are awake.

They also helped with our bus tickets and transport for our onward journey to Lijiang. Overall, our 2 day stay at "Hotel du temps Perdu" 风情大理客栈 has exceeded our expectations and we certainly look forward to coming back to stay with them again and would recommend this home-away-from-home to all those visiting Dali !!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Dennis_san
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (31)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 31 reviews

A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed December 21, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed August 7, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed July 9, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed June 15, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed May 29, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed May 4, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dali hotels
3.1 mi away
Hilton Dali Resort & SPA
11.9 mi away
The Linden Centre
The Linden Centre
#1 of 518 in Dali
603 reviews
11.6 mi away
Sky Valley Heritage Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Lily Pad Inn
The Lily Pad Inn
#4 of 125 in Dali
122 reviews
1 mi away
Yinfeng Hotel
Yinfeng Hotel
#8 of 518 in Dali
103 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Jade Emu International Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Temps Perdu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Temps Perdu

Address: 81 WenXian Road DaLi Old Town, Dali 671002, China
Location: China > Yunnan > Dali
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #250 of 1,446 B&Bs / Inns in Dali
Price Range: $31 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Temps Perdu offers you a peaceful pause from your travels in a cozy hotel that brings modern style to a traditional Bai minority house. With its courtyard cafe and friendly, multilingual owners (Chinese, English,), you will find a charming hotel and friendly staff in a beautiful setting that you will remember always. Hotel Temps Perdu combines the comfort of a high-class hotel with the intimacy of a countryside inn . We welcome you to stay at the hotel and enjoy its beautiful landscape and ancient, cultural setting. It is a magnificent place to relax and enjoy a luxurious leisure time. Great location by the South Gate about 3 minutes' walk from the center of Old Town Dali on Wenxian Road with all of its delicious and inexpensive local food right next door ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA so you can book your Hotel du Temps Perdu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing