We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tuha Petroleum Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$26
Trip.com
View Deal
$33
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$49
Trip.com
View Deal
Turpan Hotel(Turpan)
$33
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$41
Trip.com
View Deal
$33
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (67)
Filter reviews
67 results
Traveler rating
5
25
17
17
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
5
25
17
17
3
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 67 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This hotel has fairly nice facilities. It would help if they allowed guests to use them. The swimming pool was roped off so that only a section could be used. The bowling alley was closed. The 2nd floor bar was closed. We asked every day in Chinese when it would be opened and received a variety of answers. The 'Labby' bar in the lobby serves no alcohol, so I am not sure why it is called a bar. Finally we resorted to buying our own wine and having an ice bucket and wine glasses delivered to our room. We also asked for a local map and were told we would find one in our room. We did not. After insisting in Chinese, we were delivered an obviously used map with helpful notes from the previous owner. Breakfast buffet is quite extensive, complete with coffee police who tried to prevent us from taking a cup of coffee back to our room. After the second day, our free bottles of water were not replaced. I am willing to accept that it was the national holiday and a rather fancy wedding took place in the hotel so they may have been rather busy. Nevertheless, there seemed to be quite a few people standing around doing nothing.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laowailady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a very functional hotel with a decent place to eat. What makes this special is the locaiton. Turpan is a very nice small town. Make sure to go for a walk since the hotel location is vey good.

Dont miss the museum. Turpan has its own mummies, which are different form those of Urumqi.

Room Tip: Dont miss the museum. Turpan has its own mummies, which are different form those of Urumqi.
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travlindudeMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Stayed here for two nights in late June, 2013. This is a hotel run by an oil company, people, so it caters to the engineers and petroleum workers. Think heavy smokers. Staff is pleasant but almost no english. Breakfast buffet is extensive but caters towards Chinese style food for big eaters. Saw lots of sweaty western tour groups filing through the enormous lobby. There is a bbq/beer garden outside that is good for kebabs. Bring your dictionary, the menus are Chinese only. Hotel has good location near vine-covered city streets. Beds are hard and worn, bathroom drain did not work and room had that "too many smokers" smell to it. The lobby is fun to sit and have a cheap beer or two and watch the madness.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheKrezAbides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

This is the quintessential Chinese 5-star hotel - a lobby large enough to fit a disco, an indoor swimming pool, a bowling alley (yes, a bowling alley) and rooms that are indistinguishable from a nice three star. It is the flagship hotel of a local petroleum company and it appeared from our two nights there that most of the guest were oil execs. Everything is nice, but not up to international five-star quality. The buffet breakfast is huge but you had better have a palate for Chinese breakfasts. The rooms do not have wifi although they were advertised as such. Our biggest complaint was the air conditioning is centrally controlled and it was set at 29 degrees C (85 d F). Just cool enough to avoid heat stroke but too hot to sleep comfortably. When we questioned the setting, they supplied a fan. This is not a small issue in Turpan where summer temps are the highest in China. I would do some serious research before staying here again.

Room Tip: Get an east-facing room or you'll bake in the afternoon.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dhannum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We had no expectations for a hotel in a small town literally in the desert, so Tuha Petro surprised us positively. Public spaces are huge (hotel even has a super large swimming pool), rooms very large (we had 2 rooms adjacent to one another for a family of 5 travelers), and location is very close to shops/eateries just around the hotel. The rooms did not have a cigarette smell (which immediately ugrades the rating of this hotel by one notch). Bathrooms worked fine, though the amenities were only ok-ish (probably the driest, hottest place in China has no moisturizer supplied). Breakfast was very average for non-Chinese travelers, and there was utter chaos in assignment of tables in the morning with mutliple tour groups fighting for table space. We had dinner at the hotel, and the dinner buffet that night was pretty good in terms of value and spread. English is clearly a challenge at the counter, as well as the restaurants. Check-in and Check-out were fine.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SNottIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews