We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, very average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tuha Petroleum Hotel
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Turpan
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Good location, very average hotel”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

Starting with the good things, the location of the hotel is good. There is a square opposite the hotel to walk around and see the local people dancing and spennding their evenings, there are also restaurants around the square.

The hotel itself is a typical old style Chinese hotel which i guess is to be expected considering where you are. The beds are hard, the rooms are basic, and the breakfast is quite local.

Most people are here as a stopover on tours and it does the job but it is in no way a luxury or 5* experience.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HKSmithers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    25
    18
    17
    3
See reviews for
13
17
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beijing
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We upgraded upon arrival to connecting rooms on the executive floor, which was a great choice as the room looked brand new. Super clean, nicely decorated, comfortable beds and the in-room humidifiers were a nice touch. Laundry service was efficient, Chinese restaurant (a little hard to find, tucked off a corridor and looks like a private banquet room) served good food and a welcome change to lamb and pilau! Breakfast buffet wasn't too great and the Olympic sized swimming pool does not have a shallow end (making it unsuitable for children) but the bowling alley was fun instead! There is a small man-made lake just across the road, surrounded by Muslim restaurants - which means that they only serve more lamb and mutton, but there are other Chinese restaurants a couple of blocks away (close to the night market). All in all surprisingly good, and by far the best hotel we stayed in in Xinjiang.

Room Tip: Enquire about upgrading to executive rooms - they were really lovely and worth the extra money for u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bamboo401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 6 Contributor
317 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2011

Despite the strange name (driven by the conglomerate which presumably owns it), it was a decent Chinese 4 star hotel. Rooms were in pretty good shape, above average on cleanliness and condition. Bathrooms were good, beds were the standard hard/firm. The facilities were quite nice- a well equipped gym in reasonably good shape and a massive olympic sized pool (although both with strange hours 12 noon- 10 pm so not a useful time for business travelers). The breakfast was about average for Chinese hotels , with limited Western options other than toast, juice, and a bit of yogurt. Fruit quite limited and then plenty of Chinese options- noodles, congee, stir fries, baozi (dumplings) and mantou (steamed rolls). The hotel also had an interesting feature - a pristine 12 lane Brunswick bowling alley, which we made use of. The location is quite good, 2 blocks from a night food market, and basically a few blocks from the main square and the bazaar. Although really you spend most of your time outside the city. In all, a comfortable stay and good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bjnomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
watford
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Much better than we had been led to believe. The hotel was in a good location opposite the People's Square. It does have a bar but you need to be shown where it is and you MUST remember the way back, you could get lost! Probably it's hidden as the area is quite strict Muslim and therefore a no alcohol policy.The beds were comfortable and the breakfast was reasonable. There is a great restaurant acroos the road from the hotel, (has a big tespot on the roof so can't be missed) serving really good Uygur food at reasonable prices. We ate a huge late lunch there so didn't need the hotel's buffet evening meal. Rooms were a bit hot but it didn't stop us sleeping very comfortably. Staff were helpful and friendly

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valgardening
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level 6 Contributor
48 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2011

Turpan is not a big city so I didn't expect much of its hotels. I booked Tuha Petroleum Hotel for less than 500 RMB online (ctrip or travelzen) but it was cheaper than other less fancy hotels (from the rates I saw on the wall of Jiaotong Hotel - at the bus stop - and Turpan Hotel). I didn't care for the facilities in the hotel so judging by just the room, I would personally rate it a 3 star, when compared to a 5 star hotel in New York City.

The room was spacious, pleasant and comfortable. Cleaniless was up to par. Free breakfast (was ok) and free internet in room. However, as also read on other reviews, the AC wasn't strong enough even on highest.

There is a big supermarket in the basement of a mall down the street (turn right and walk for less than 5 minutes to the end of the block).

Food-wise, we've been risking having upset stomach and enjoyed the street food. By the corner mall I just mentioned, after sunset, food stalls will set up tables and chairs serving grill meat and noodles. We ate by China Post building on Gaochang Middle Road across the street from the big park with dancing fountain (operates around 9pm) a few blocks away. Prices were good. They did not rip us off and charged us the same as the locals as I overheard when they paid. 3 RMB per lame skewer, 5 RMB normal noodles and 20 RMB hotpot noodles with scrumptious toppings (first time I had it).

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lprisr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2011

we were told not to expect much but it was much better than than. our room was huge and very comfortable. laundry is expensive - not recommended. the breakfast was just ok. but overall - the room and hotel were very pleasant. the staff was very willing to help even though we couldn't communicate very well.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
turpan
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2010

The first night:
- the room was hot, so we tried to turn on the AC and only found warm air. Later, we were told that the AC season is over, central air stops all together.
- the shower switch knob was stuck. we could not turn it in any direction; since i don't want to have a bath, I had to use a cup to scoop water onto myself. on the 2nd night, we had someone show us how to operate the thing...
- On the 2nd day evening, we came back from a whole day's trip and found the room was exactly the same as we left in the morning. I checked with front desk and was told that everyone was very busy since there was a VIP from government stayed in the hotel the same night and blah blah blah... She did apologize for it though.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eshens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Turpan hotels
0.7 mi away
Jiaotong Hotel
Jiaotong Hotel
#17 of 41 in Turpan
30 reviews
0.6 mi away
Silk Road Lodges - The Vines
0.3 mi away
Turpan Dap Youth Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Home Inn Tulufan Gaochang Road Tongluowan Squaer
0.5 mi away
Baituo Youth Hostel
Baituo Youth Hostel
#2 of 4 in Turpan
18 reviews
52.1 mi away
Kanerjing Minsuyuan Hotel
Kanerjing Minsuyuan Hotel
#13 of 41 in Turpan
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuha Petroleum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuha Petroleum Hotel

Property: Tuha Petroleum Hotel
Address: No.230 Wenhua Road, Turpan 838000, China
Location: China > Xinjiang Uygur > Turpan > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Turpan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA so you can book your Tuha Petroleum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing