We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent”

Tashilunpo Monastery
Book In Advance
More Info
$350.00*
and up
2-Day Gyantse and Shigatse Tour from Lhasa
Ranked #1 of 14 things to do in Shigatse
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Tashilhunpo Monastery is situated in Shigatse, the second largest city in Tibet. In 1447, the first Dalai Lama built it and it has been one of the six great Gelugpa monasteries. If you go to Shigatse, you cannot miss the marvelous monastery where you will see a lot of precious religious statues and stupas.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
378 reviews
283 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

It is a complex of white and red buildings founded in 1447 by the 1st Dalai Lama.Not all of the shrines are open to visitors. If you wanted to take pictures or videos you shouild pay extra.
In one of the shrine there is a 26 meter high statue of seated Bouddah made of gold (6.700 ounces) and copped (over 115.000 kg) as my information say.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jimtraj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    53
    6
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chongqing
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“One of Gelug Sect Monasteries”
Reviewed July 4, 2012

It is located at the slope of Nyima Mountain on the outskirts of Shigatse.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank Ronbk B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Angeles, Washington
Level Contributor
159 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A working monastery, not a museum”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

There are many steps to climb on the uphill walk. Founded in 1447, Tashilunpo Monastery is home to the Panchen Lamas. The buildings stand close together in terraced rows overlooking the view of the city and countryside. I was almost breathless keeping up with the guide. Rounding a corner, I saw a beautiful woman posing for photographers. Taking a rest break, I asked permission to take photos, and they said yes. One of them told me she is a renowned retired ballerina in China.

Tashilunpo means "heap of glory" and was once home to 3,800 monks. It houses 15th century paintings. Even the paving stones have carvings, and the floors have beautiful stone inlays. I spotted decorated metal thresholds.

Among its many halls and chapels, are statues of the 18 arhats. There is an 86 foot sitting Buddha statue cast from 6,700 ounces of gold over 115,000 kg of copper. It's the world's largest copper Buddhist statue.

We also saw the fourth Panchen Lama's 11 meter tall gold plated reliquary decorated with precious stones.

This place is amazing for its architecture and tranquility. Putting history in perspective, Joan of Arc was born in 1412, just 35 years before its founding. Imagine who walked here before me.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank indrablanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Central, rural Tibet at its best!”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Things about Tibet:

If you've traveled in Bhutan or Nepal, the roads of Tibet will be a welcome change. Count on paved and striped highways with guardrails. That said, quality comes with a catch…speed limits of 40-70 kph when traveling between Lhasa, Gyantse, and Shigatse. This snail’s pace came into effect after a tour bus crashed n 2007 with 30+ Chinese tourist fatalities. Armed checkpoints stamp and time the vehicles, so consider 2 options:

1) Go the speed limit- It’s an OK drive, lots of rivers and mountains to see. Time stands still in Tibet anyway

2) Drive fast, with stops at points of interest – Your guide should know plenty of interesting stops along the way. We toured an incense factory, grain mill, and scenic overlooks/picture stops.

Whatever you do, avoid letting the diver speed like a bat out of hell then pull off the road 1 mile from the checkpoint to wait 45 minutes. We had this happen once, and it’s painful, believe me.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Goosekins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A more or less original monestery”
Reviewed January 5, 2012

A quite large and interesting monestery apparently not too affected by the cultural revolution etc.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank KiwiRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tashilunpo Monastery also viewed

 
Shigatse, Tibet
Burang County, Tibet
 

Been to Tashilunpo Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing