We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Works for a night, wouldn't spend a week here”
Review of Shigatse Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Shigatse Hotel
Ranked #13 of 58 Hotels in Shigatse
Reviewed May 5, 2012

The building is shaped like a horse shoe, so ask for a courtyard view (interior) if you want a quiet room. They have a limited supple of double beds.
Breakfast is sad, no other word for it. They avoid tring on the heat or lights, and the eggs had green tints to them.
All together, this is still the best place in town and easy to walk to the market and other restaurants.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Goosekins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 42 of 90 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2012

Grand (more or less) public areas. A quite large and busy hotel which is probably one of the major hotels in this area. Foyer and dining areas strongly decorated, WiFi OK (but pay by the hour), breakfast typical mix of Chinese & western (sort of) and was OK. Hotel is handy to central commercial area of Shigatse. Room was Tibetan style décor and rather small but quite clean.

Room Tip: Don't expect a lot of space ..maybe check first?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiRJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2011

We traveled to Shigatse from Lhasa and were told by our tour operator that this was the best hotel available in the area. Our room was ok, a bit tired and drab but fully loaded with the usual 4* complimentary toiletries, coffee & tea making facilities etc. The public areas, including the dining room, were freezing. The Chinese buffet dinner was awful. There was not enough of it as several of the dishes had run out and the food was luke warm at best. All the staff in the restaurant had their coats on, as did we! Breakfast was much better, pretty varied, mainly Chinese but with a selection of western biscuits and pastries. The hotel seems to cater mainly for business men and large tour groups. The location was great, a few mins walk to the town, restaurants and markets. I know that I keep saying OK, but that's what it was; not a particularly memorable of pleasant experience, but OK for two nights in which to explore Shigatse.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NikkifEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Good Hotel to stay just one night. Rooms are clean and quite. We had a good night sleep after touring all day in Tibet.
One of the few hotels we visited with a bar where you can have a "sundowner" for relaxation after the day.
Breakfast was ok and had traditional as well as "western" style food.
The Hotel Restaurant is Buffett only and the look was not realy an invitation.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RKBeij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Arrived here in the middle of a wedding (never seen a bride look so cold........), so we were made to park round the side. The whole of the town was being spruced up for some visiting dignitaries so every last bit of road appeared to be dug up, nearly all the buildings had scaffolding and green mesh screening over the face of them, and the electricity was off during daylight hours because of all the road/building works. This all had to be finished by June/July so all the hotels were probably suffering the same problems regarding power etc. The rooms were fine - nothing of note to say about them either way apart from the (constant) lament of rock-hard beds, but they didn't live up completely to the opulence of the foyer, although there appeared to be signs of restoration going on. Once the power was restored, the internet centre and TVs etc worked fine. The restaurant was closed in the evening because of the wedding (plenty of restaurants down the main streets though), but the breakfast was good and the staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank intrepidtraveller13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2011

The hotel was built in 1985. Our room had two twin beds, a small desk, TV, nightstand, shelf with teapot and tea, and a cramped bathroom with full bath. The room smelled like cigarette smoke. We stayed there in February, and the outdoors temperature was about 2-5 degrees celsius. The hallways were extremely cold, and the shower water never got warmer than tepid, despite running the water for over 15 minutes. The room heater worked well. The Chinese-menu breakfast -- boiled eggs, steamed bread, several sauteed veggies, congee, cookies -- was included. When in Shigatse, try the Wordo Kitchen Restaurant on Tade East Road for excellent Tibetan food and very welcoming hosts.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JerseyInShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2011

As others mentioned, there's not much for choice in Shigatse but if you can find a hostel I'd stick with that instead. This place was not worth the money. It looked so nice from the outside but was freezing cold, the staff were rather absent/MIA, food was really really bad, and heat/electricity was not working. We had sporadic hot water, toilets were flushing, and it was cleaner than some of the other places we stayed in Tibet so that being said it was better than most. The internet worked for a little while down in the office so we were able to send out a quick couple of emails. If you cannot find a hostel and have to do a hotel, it was ok although less than you would expect and certainly not worth the price.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KristinCarlson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shigatse hotels
0.2 mi away
Qomo Langzong Hotel
Qomo Langzong Hotel
#2 of 58 in Shigatse
26 reviews
0.7 mi away
Tashi Choten Hotel
Tashi Choten Hotel
#5 of 58 in Shigatse
88 reviews
0.6 mi away
VanRay International Resort
VanRay International Resort
#16 of 58 in Shigatse
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
0.6 mi away
Zanglong Hotel
Zanglong Hotel
#24 of 58 in Shigatse
4 reviews
0.8 mi away
Manasarovar Hotel
Manasarovar Hotel
#11 of 58 in Shigatse
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shigatse Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shigatse Hotel

Address: No.12 Shanghai Middle Road, Shigatse 857000, China
Location: China > Tibet > Shigatse
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 58 Hotels in Shigatse
Hotel Class:3 star — Shigatse Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 180
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Shigatse Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shigatse Hotel Tibet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing