We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not without its flaws”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shigatse
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gang Gyan Shigatse Orchard Hotel
Ranked #24 of 55 Hotels in Shigatse
Ireland
Level Contributor
256 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 270 helpful votes
“Not without its flaws”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Am more than aware that hotels in remote Tibet will not be to the same standard as in Europe, but even when compared to many other hotels in Tibetan cities I still found this below par. It seems to be the hotel of choice for tour groups in Shigatse given its excellent location right next to Tashilunpo Monastery. Its also within walking distance to many restaurants, ATM, pharmacy, (very VERY dark and VERY smoky) Internet cafe etc.

Pros - beds are clean and comfy, TV, working kettle
Cons - room doors have about a full cm gap at the top and the bottom and the staff have a habit of roaring and shouting up and down the corridor to each other from about 6.30 in the morning, so you wont be getting a lie-in. Our bathroom door had a scrunched up piece of toilet paper for a handle. You have to leave the shower running for (literally) about 25 minutes before it gets hot (scandalous waste of water). Our (and several other people in our group's) showers only had 2 of the 4 sliding doors to close it, and only the top bit was attached. Therefore if you have a shower the water in the bathroom goes everywhere. The toilet is located in a weird angle in the corner between the shower & the sink area so its actually quite tricky to sit on. The staff werent very helpful or remotely interested in our issues with the toom and the "handymen" were more interested in keeping their hair quaffed and cool clothes looking cool than actually helping us fix anything.

Overall the hotel is functional, the beds are grand and its in a great spot, but so much stuff (specifcally in the bathroom) was broken & didnt work & the staff didnt really seem to care at all so I dont think I'd stay there again,

Room Tip: Dont eat in Third Eye restaurant (on your right as you walk out of the hotel) instead go to the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank intrepudtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bowral, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2011

We stayed here twice on our way to and from EBC. The rooms are fairly ordinary and the beds are very hard, but the linen is clean. The carpet is filthy, however. Our room backed onto the rear courtyard and it was away from the street noise. However, we found the Chinese tourists were very noisy in the tiled corridor. The location is outstanding, 100m from Tashilunpo Monastery! The breakfast is very dull, there is no choice, you are given a tray with some fruit and a boiled egg. the bathroom was reasonable and there was hot water. The Third Eye Restaurant is almost next door, which is great.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, away from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Burradoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schkopau, Germany
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2011

It's nothing special, but if you come from the west this is the first place which really offers everything you expect when read "Hotel".
It's still far away from a European or American standards, but it offers a working aircon (which means in October you can bring the in-room-temperatures up to 15°C), hot water and electricity. But cleanliness of the carpet is not their task... Bed sheets and towels were ok, bathroom too.
The breakfast offered was nothing special.
The reason to stay here is the location, it's right across the street from Trashilhunpo-Monastery and 50 Meters from the Third Eye Restaurant!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2010

Of course, there`re other hotels & guesthouses in Shigatse, but if your trip is arranged by any tourist agency, there`re all chances that you`ll stay at this hotel.

There`re rooms of different prices and service level, so it`s difficult to say about service level of this hotel, but anyway it`s quite good. We stayed here two times in a room for three people. This rooms are typical, but first time after our way back from Kailash it was normal to sleep on beds without our own sleeping bag, so they`re quite clean.

You can find public shower with hot water at the end of coridor.

The last time we`re here breakfast was already included, but it was not so nice. It included toasts, butter & jam, eggs, fruits.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olgachup367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shigatse hotels
0.5 mi away
Tashi Choten Hotel
Tashi Choten Hotel
#2 of 55 in Shigatse
78 reviews
0.3 mi away
VanRay International Resort
VanRay International Resort
#16 of 55 in Shigatse
11 reviews
0.0 mi away
Qomo Langzong Hotel
Qomo Langzong Hotel
#3 of 55 in Shigatse
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices

Been to Gang Gyan Shigatse Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gang Gyan Shigatse Orchard Hotel

Property: Gang Gyan Shigatse Orchard Hotel
Address: No.77 Zhufeng Road, Shigatse, China
Location: China > Tibet > Shigatse
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 55 Hotels in Shigatse
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Gang Gyan Shigatse Orchard Hotel Tibet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing