We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just ok, batroom needed fixing”
Review of Yak Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Shigatse
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yak Hotel
Ranked #26 of 55 Hotels in Shigatse
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Just ok, batroom needed fixing”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Single room, private bathroom, TV. Room was confortable but looked quite dated in general. The bathroom was not in very good condition and it was the perfect example of what you don´t have to do when trying to fix things. It worked and there was a hot shower but it was a real mess and should really repair it. Nevertheless tha room was quite clean and slept well. Buffet style restaurant with chinese and western choices was good. In general the hotel was ok for one or two nights and it was clean but the bathroom needed some important repairs. Therefore it would be a 2,5 out of 5.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LTA1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    14
    5
    9
See reviews for
3
6
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed a night on the way the E.B.C. In contrary to what other reviewers write, we had both hot water and aircon as room heater, but no wifi. The cleaning was relatively bad and there was nothing charming about the hotel.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kattefar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Shigatse hotels

Netherlands
Level Contributor
167 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Rooms are OK, but without heating.
Slightly out of city centre.

Good for a 1 night stay if you can get a good price.
Remarkable is the military style drilling of the staff in the afternoon. Apart from the fact that some of the girl servants couldn't stop their uncontrolled laughter, it would be scary !

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutchman-nl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 2, 2011

Three reasons not to stay at this hotel:

1. Dishonest staff
2. No hot water
3. Poor room heating

Stayed here on Nov 27, 2011 for one night. On check-out, they witheld my 100 yuan room key deposit claiming I burnt their kettle - the one that sat on the shelf unplugged and unused throughout my stay. I did not touch the kettle at all yet their staff member adamantly claims she saw it plugged into the bathroom outlet when she came in to fix the heating unit while I was out - note that I had the room key with me that turns on the power to the room so not only was she lying about seeing the kettle plugged in, even if it was it wouldn't be on. I suspect they switched the bad kettle in when they came in to fix the AC unit or on checkout.

My guide argued with them and finally gave them 50 yuan so we could go. This is definitely a scam.

The AC heating unit was inadequate for the size of the room so be prepared for a very cold night.

In addition, the hot water was slightly less cold so forget about taking a shower.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whiskypaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
328 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 399 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

The hotel is dirty and dark. Difficult to tell what the room numbers are because it's so dark.
3 Floors without elevator.
Foul-smelling bathrooms.
Windows don't close, so expect to be very cold at night.
The bed is as hard as concrete.
Breakfast includes steamed buns, hard-boiled eggs, tomatoes, coffee.
Very basic hotel stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krawner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
377 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Where to start... the rooms were dirty, the sheets had holes in them and one bed looked like the sheets hadn't been changed. Watermarks and peeling paint on the ceiling. Mouldy, dirty bathroom and we didn't dare put our feet on the filthy dirty carpet.
This is lower than budget - this is sub-terrain basement level accommodation

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatielouAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seremban
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2010

Recently stayed here for a backpacking trip to Everest area. Hotel located in quiet area of Shigatse town. Numerous shops nearby. Probably underwent refurbishment as rooms not like in previous postings. Rooms were reasonably clean and so were the toilet and bathroom. Room noise insulation is reasonable. Had to carry heavy luggage to room in 3rd Floor via stairway. ( At altitude of 3900m, climbing 3 flight of stairs seems like 6 ). Hot water shower available ( thank goodness- after freezing my buttom off at Everest Base Camp in Winter ) Downside : 1) Limited horrible breakfast Options - coffee tastes like water added with brown coloring 2) No WIFI ( though internet access available at dedicated lounge near cafe at 10 yuan/hr ) 3) Heating non existent - even at max settings ( though in room air conditioner / heater unit available )

Stay only if you have to.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Indushanti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shigatse hotels
0.9 mi away
Jiumu Yamei International Hotel
0.1 mi away
Tashi Choten Hotel
Tashi Choten Hotel
#2 of 55 in Shigatse
78 reviews
0.2 mi away
VanRay International Resort
VanRay International Resort
#16 of 55 in Shigatse
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Qomo Langzong Hotel
Qomo Langzong Hotel
#3 of 55 in Shigatse
24 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yak Hotel

Property: Yak Hotel
Address: No.22 Qingdao Road, Shigatse 857000, China
Location: China > Tibet > Shigatse
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 55 Hotels in Shigatse
Number of rooms: 72
Also Known As:
Yak Hotel Shigatse, Tibet

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing