We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, lack of heat in older hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo
Ranked #5 of 187 Hotels in Jiuzhaigou County
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good service, lack of heat in older hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Pros - nice looking lobby, very attentive service, excellent buffet breakfast and dinner

Cons - freezing temperatures in the area and hotel has NO heat!!! Apparently they turned off the central heat even though the weather was still close to zero. We asked for a heater but they were all being used (no surprise). They were able to provide us with a heating element similar to a radiator that heated about 2 feet of space. The beds had electric blankets so sleeping was not an issue, but getting out of bed was terribly cold. Also tiny bugs in room but that wasn't a huge issue since they didn't bite.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hxy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian_Li, Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo, responded to this review, May 4, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jiapo. We would like to take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience may have caused you. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best way to improve our service. We hope that you will witness our changes in the near future.
Lilian Li
Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    45
    21
    5
    5
See reviews for
21
16
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
942 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 396 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013

Located about half an hour's drive from the entrance to the Jiuzhaiguo National Park. Fantastic lobby with huge carved prayer drums, painted ceiling, shiny slate stone floor, this is a large hotel with an ancient-look exterior. Rooms are very comfortable with a large desk, easy chair, 2 double size beds, wood flooring in bedroom, polished slate in bathroom, excellent lighting and plenty of electrical outlets. Pay-internet access via cable in the room (30 RMB/USD5 for 24 hours), but free wifi in the freezing cold lobby, as the main doors are kept open in this rather cold late October climate. The offered buffet dinner is ok, varied but not great and the breakfast buffet is very extensively concentrating on Chinese food, which was fine as we were part of a Chinese travelling tour, but everything was fairly cold: eggs, sausages, etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weberwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian_Li, Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo, responded to this review, November 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jiapo. We really appreciate your kind comments on the facilities. However, it is regretful to learn that our breakfast did not meet your expectation. We have already passed your comments to the chef to improve the breakfast standard. We look forward to serving you again in the future.
Lilian Li
Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
208 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Booked by a local tour operator and we stayed for two nights. Interesting design adopting the local tibetan and qiang's culture. It's a sizeable complex and while the lobby is big and appealing, getting to the room took felt like 10 minutes passing 100 rooms on the ground floor so do ask for closer rooms if you prefer.

The two signle-beds room and the bathroom was spacious but that's pretty much the only pluses. Bed comfort was just ok but that would be below the Inter-continental (owner) standard. Free Internet only by cable. The real problem for me was no proper heating given the cold weather. Fortunately, front desk made available a mobile heater.

The real shock for me was seeing a mouse entering the room from outside in the early morning! It ran away quickly as I moved but never expected that and first time in any hotel I had stayed.

Buffet breakfast was good. The place is about 30-45min to Juizhaigou park and about 1-1.5hr to the airport. The name is a little confusing in Chinese as both the Inter-continental and Holiday Inn has Juizhaigou Paradise associated with it but they are like 4km apart so check carefully if arranged by a local tour operator.

It's an intersting and a decent 4-star hotel catered for big tour groups. We were told by the tour guide that Holiday Inn is a top hotel among the 200 pluses hotels in Juizhaigou. Deserved a 4 star if not because of the little visitor!

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian_Li, Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jiapo. We are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel room and our breakfast buffet. However, it is regretful to learn that our heating did not meet your expectation. We have already passed your comments to hotel management. We hope this would not deter you from choosing us again in the near future. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Lilian Li
Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu, China
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

Even though we speak some Chinese, it was still quite a struggle. The staff just isn't well-trained and the hotel suffers because of it. The rooms are nice and the building and decor are in some places very nice. There's no heat in the rooms so the only warmth comes from mattress pads that heat-up. It's located in a beautiful valley and there's nearby horseback riding through the great scenery (actually the horses are led through the ride-you don't control them). The included breakfast buffet was not attractive especially for Westerners. The other buffets were also sub-par but ordering off the menu was better, but expensive. If you can afford it, their sister hotel the Intercontinental, is staffed with more English-speakers and the food and service are far better.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bblum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian_Li, Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jiapo. We would like to take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience our service may have caused you. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best way to improve our service. We are bound to strengthen English training for all the staff, and we are improving the breakfast standard to meet the different needs of the guests. We hope that you will witness our changes in the near future.
Lilian Li
Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarnia, Canada
Level Contributor
356 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

The Holiday Inn at Jiuzhai Jarpo near Jiuzhaiguo National Park is 3 hours bus ride from Huanglong airport, which makes for a very long and tiresome trip. This Holiday Inn features unique Tibetan architectural style and not your usual western Holiday Inns. The hotel is situated in the mountain and is quite cold during our stay. It is about a half hour drive to the park. The foyer is beautifully decorated in Tibetan style and furnishings. We did not have any problem with our room nor with the staff. The dining room serves buffet and a la carte (Chinese cuisine) which is satisfactory. One should not expect western Holiday Inn standards to be met in this property. Jarpo town seemed to be almost deserted, and the buildings in need of obvious maintenance and upkeep. The Tibetan Cultural show across the hotel is excellent and could be an very enjoyable entertainment (Mandarin spoken) after a spending a whole day at Jiuzhaiguo National Park. At best, a 2 or 3 star (western standard) establishment.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian_Li, Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jiapo. Situated on the renowned Jarpo Town, our hotel is near Ganhaizi scenery. Enjoy a mountainside getaway that integrates with Tibetan culture and its customs. Boasting a beautiful climate and picturesque mountain scenery, our hotel is the ideal location for a vacation or weekend getaway. It takes 60 minutes from Huanglong airport .Jiuzhaigou Valley is situated approximately 28 kilometers or 30 minutes drive from the hotel, and we provide shuttle bus for guest’s convenience. We are pleased to know that you had quite an enjoyable stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.
Lilian Li
Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

The hotel had free internet in the lobby, but the lobby area was cold since the doors were often open and it was cold outside. The buffet breakfast and dinner were edible and slightly enjoyable. Pick up fruit along the way from Chengdu since there isn't much fruit in JiuZhaiGou. Bathrooms are pretty rugged, but overall "ok" place to stay. Not sure if my postcards will ever make it to the United States.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian_Li, Distribution &Relationship Marketing Teams at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jiapo. Most guests are enjoyed the cool weather here especially in summer . We are sorry it didn’t meet your expectation. Your comment is valuable as it shows what guest value and what can be improved. We thank you and look forward to welcoming you back.
Lilian Li
Distribution &Relationship Marketing Teams
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Stay at holiday inn for two night on 31 May & 01 Jun 13. When reached there on 31-May, temp at the location was 5 degree, freezing cold. Hotel lobby n restaurant was hugh n nicely decorated. Room was comfy tough look a bit aging, a refurbish to make it more modern look would be good. Toilet was icy cold, water drainage not so good, floor get wet easily. Luckily warm water & pressure is ok.
Staff is very friendly & helpful. Like to compliment the lady staff who bought the extra bed warm cover, tip her but she refuse to take, was impressed by her service attitude n honesty.
Breakfast selection was good but would be a bonus if can have a counter to serve fry eggs, omelette etc upon guest request. Would like to compliment the staff mike whom is very helpful to attend to our request for fry eggs. Noticed the orange juice etc are warm type, would prefer cold juices or at least should provide ice.
The hotel is surrounded by beautiful mountains. Shops at lobby sell souvenirs, winter gears etc. Overall, a nice hotel in the mountain area.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Panda9830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelaw513, Distribution&Relationship Marketing Team at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thankyou for staying at Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jiapo and posting this review. Due to the uniqueness of Jiuzhai location, temperature is still below average even it is summer already when you arrived. The hot water is a must for our guests to drive away their tiredness all the long. We are gald to know you find our staff friendly and helpful. Thank you again for your kind suggestions. Please do not leave it too long before you visit us again.
Lilian Li
Distribution & Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jiuzhaigou County hotels
2.4 mi away
InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise
InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai ...
#1 of 187 in Jiuzhaigou County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
7.9 mi away
Jiuzhaigou Tibetan Barley Inn
Jiuzhaigou Tibetan Barley Inn
#3 of 187 in Jiuzhaigou County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
7.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Tianyuan Resort Jiuzhaigou
Howard Johnson Tianyuan Resort J...
#4 of 187 in Jiuzhaigou County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Qian He International Hotel
Qian He International Hotel
#13 of 187 in Jiuzhaigou County
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
28.6 mi away
Jiuzhai Wanjiahao Hotel
Jiuzhai Wanjiahao Hotel
#23 of 187 in Jiuzhaigou County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
11.2 mi away
Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort
Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort
#2 of 187 in Jiuzhaigou County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo

Property: Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo
Address: Ganhaizi, Zhangzha Town, 623402, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Sichuan > Jiuzhaigou County
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Jiuzhaigou County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo 3.5*
Number of rooms: 780
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo The Gem of Jiuzhaigou, situated on the renowned Jarpo Town, the hotel is located on Jiuzhaigou's scenery and activity boulevard. Enjoy a mountainside getaway at the Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo that integrates with Tibetan culture and its customs. Boasting a beautiful climate and picturesque mountain scenery, Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo is the ideal location for a vacation or weekend getaway. Jiuzhaigou Valley is situated approximately 28 kilometers or 30 minutes drive from the hotel. Its location in the very heart of all that Jiuzhaigou has to offer and couldn't be more perfect. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jiuzhaigou County Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing