We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy wintery stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise
Ranked #1 of 187 Hotels in Jiuzhaigou County
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Comfy wintery stay”
Reviewed December 16, 2013 via mobile

As it was winter, we decided better to be safe than sorry and booked Intercontinental Jiuzhai for 3 nights. No complaints about the hotel, rooms were cosy with great views. No major issue with cold in the rooms. No regrets with our choice of hotel. It is a good place to go back to at the end of the day after out in beautiful winter Jiuzhaigou. However, we found some of the staff to be a bit snobby. Also, at breakfast ( which was pricy) if we had not persisted, we would have been charged full price instead of half for our children too.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Speis75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian_Li, Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback regarding your recent stay at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise. We are glad to know that our rooms helped in making your visit comfortable. Thank you once again for your review and we look forward to an opportunity to welcoming you back to us in the near future.
Lilian Li
Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    476
    103
    38
    25
See reviews for
99
74
15
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013

My room was facing the mountain, what a beautiful view. An amazing hotel in the middle of nowhere. The breakfast might be not up to the western standard and the lobby might be a bit cold. But we had a wonderful time visiting the area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WC3721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian_Li, Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so glad to learn that you enjoyed our rooms, especially the view from the wooden balcony. We have taken note of your feedback and will take the necessary actions to ensure we can delivery memorable experience to all the guests. Thank you and we look forward to serving you again in the future.
Lilian Li
Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

I travelled from Australia and stayed in the hotel with my family for 2 nights. The hotel is very well set up with beautiful surroundings and room is cosy and clean, it's a bit pricey of AU$450pn but ou pay for what you get. The breakfast was very good with lots of varieties of chinese and western food to choose from; quite a few restaurants inside hotel comes handy for dining as there aren't much gourmet dining around Jiuzhai valley, the local tibetans eat very basic simple food, so if you want to find a good interesting menu, you will be hard pressed to find one. overall, I do recommend, but you will need to get up early and drive about 20-30 mins to the Jiuzhai National Park and find parking there, if you want to get there before the tourist buses with floods of Chinese tourists, you need to be on the ticket office by 7:30am.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thewomby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian_Li, Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback of your recent stay at Intercontinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our breakfast and thank you for your kind recommendation. It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Lilian Li
Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We travelled from London to China to explore the country for 2 weeks, JHZ was our second stop, the place was beautiful but this hotel was so disappointing and an awful experience. The service was so terrible that we changed our flights and had to take first class flight out of there, it was such a miserable stay we absolutely hated it. Firstly in the entire hotel only the manager could speak english, checking in at the desk which took ages, there was no orderly system and Chinese tourists were pushing in which the hotel staff allowed and when we were finally attended to not one of the reception staff spoke english, they were all looking at each other lost for words, this was SO frustrating! The entire hotel was absolutely freezing so you have to where you outdoor clothes everywhere, including your room! The heating did not work and we had to layer up in bed, the bathroom was even more cold that we didn't even want to go to the toilet. It was the only '5 star' hotel that we stayed in that did not offer breakfast room service. The restaurants food was awful, again the staff couldn't speak english and the western buffet consisted on a few bits of leaves as salad which ended up making me very sick. The hotel looks amazing for all of 5 minutes but that is it, it was the down fall of our entire trip to china! it caused us so many problems changing our flight but we had to because the hotel was a disgrace and we could not bare it, do not do it to yourselves!!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rosh3010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian_Li, Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for staying at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise. Please accept our sincere apology for any inconvenience that caused while you were here with us. We would like to assure you that we have pass your feedback to hotel management and concerned department and corrective actions have been taken. We hope you would give us a chance in the future to show how great our hotel is, and we look forward to welcoming you back again.
Lilian Li
Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chengdu
1 review
Reviewed November 13, 2013

The hotel is really amazing, the the architecture is awesome, the rooms are very nice. BUT the hotel is also very expensive and not even the visit to the pool is included, you have to pay the pool extra and not too less, over 150 yuan per person. Also the choice of restaurants is not too good in the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dago24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian_Li, Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We are so glad to learn that you enjoyed our architecture and rooms. For your kind information, in room guests are free to use the swimming pool. We are sorry for the misunderstanding and will make it clear to all the guests. Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back to Intercontinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise in the near future.
Lilian Li
Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KL
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

We had an upgraded awesome suite with panoramic views of the green mountains on arrival, which magically transformed to a winter wonderland the next day. We thoroughly enjoyed awakening to the imposing mountains and valleys view and was relunctant to leave the comforts of this magnificent view. We enjoyed a wonderful honeymooner welcome deco, welcome fruits and sweet pandas memorabilia. Good airconditioning and hot water. Heart warming electric fireplace and humidifier equipped. The director of room has personally ensured that we have an unforgettable experience here at intercontinental. We see much efforts have been put in to ensure great guests experiences. Glad to know that this property is well managed given such a magnificent location. They also arranged a good car for us to huanglong at a bargain , being concerned about our wellbeing travelling on icy roads and our baffling experience with external cabs. Visits to jiuzhaigou is incomplete without a stay here at the splendid intercontinental. Our appreciation to the management for having taken our earlier feedbacks with proactive response and making our honeymoon unforgettable,especially Stanley and Martin.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stuffme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian_Li, Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Stuffme,
Thank you for taking the time to share such a wonderful feedback with us. We are so glad to learn that you were taken very good care of and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We have passed on your comments to the hotel team. It was indeed our pleasure to have you as our guest and we hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Intercontinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise in the near future.
Lilian Li
Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This hotel has magnificent architecture and scale. My problem was when I decided not to visit the park due to sinus infection, there was NO person who spoke English and my Mandarin is non-existent. First, trying to reach by phone the room of a friend resulted in waking up a stranger at 7am! Because the operator couldn't understand a word I was saying, I stopped trying. Second, ordering room service resulted in a major misunderstanding about means of payment due to absence of a common language. Third, after a day with no confidence in my ability to communicate with anyone about anything, it was a bit frightening. They need some English speakers, and English that a westerner can understand.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWF63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilian_Li, Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay with us at Intercontinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise. We would like to take this opportunity to apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Your comments have been noted and service in this area will be certainly improved with the help of management trainees. Also we have incentive to encourage staff to learn English. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your continuous support in the near future.
Lilian Li
Distribution &Relationship Marketing Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jiuzhaigou County hotels
5.6 mi away
Jiuzhaigou Tibetan Barley Inn
Jiuzhaigou Tibetan Barley Inn
#3 of 187 in Jiuzhaigou County
23 reviews
5.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Tianyuan Resort Jiuzhaigou
Howard Johnson Tianyuan Resort J...
#5 of 187 in Jiuzhaigou County
52 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo
Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo
#4 of 187 in Jiuzhaigou County
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Qian He International Hotel
Qian He International Hotel
#13 of 187 in Jiuzhaigou County
94 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort
Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort
#2 of 187 in Jiuzhaigou County
638 reviews
6.5 mi away
New Jiu Zhai Hotel
New Jiu Zhai Hotel
#8 of 187 in Jiuzhaigou County
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise

Property: InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise
Address: Ganhaizi Scenic Zone, Zhangzha Town, 623402, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Sichuan > Jiuzhaigou County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jiuzhaigou County
#1 Spa Hotel in Jiuzhaigou County
#5 Best Value Hotel in Jiuzhaigou County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise 4*
Number of rooms: 1020
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise is an intimate upcountry retreat nestled high in the mountains. The unique design is reminiscent of an ancient city protected under a glass atrium, marrying the exquisite interior with the bewitching natural beauty outside. With more than 1,100 rooms, the hotel is the largest in the region and perfect for leisure travellers seeking comfort and solitude. The province is home to a stunning array of calcified pools and the picturesque meadows of Ganhaizi (Dry Sea), just 20 kilometres (12.5 miles) away, are not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise Hotel Jiuzhaigou County
Intercontinental Jiuzhai Paradise
Intercontinental Hotel Jiuzhaigou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing