We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a five star!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise
Ranked #1 of 192 Hotels in Jiuzhaigou County
Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not a five star!”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Staff don't speak english and this is supposed to be a five star hotel. Ordering room service was difficult and ordering extra "French fries" and "vegetables" in their restaurant was impossible. Staff couldn't understand these words despite trying to mime and describe what we were talking about. They are "sides", they couldn't understand the meaning of side dishes. This is disgraceful for the intercontinental hotel.

Also the spa, although the hot springs are nice, the staff don't speak english again and by the hot springs they send and stare and giggle. So unprofessional.

If you want good service, stay elsewhere

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelling-couple999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelaw513, Web Interactive Marketing Specialist at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for staying at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise. Please rest assured we are taking language training seriously as we always strive for service excellence. It is appreciated that your review urges us to pace up in improving ourselves. It is hoped the lapses in service did not mar your overall impression of our hotel, and that you will afford us another opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    517
    478
    104
    38
    25
See reviews for
101
75
15
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Got a great deal in the club rooms and what an experience! Jiuzhaigou is paradise in the truest sense and the hotel further improves on the experience. The drive from the airport to the hotle was scenic with the best landscapes you could imagine. Steped into the hotel which is super comfortable in the atrium even though it was chilly outside.
Room was super luxurious with fireplace; comfy sitting area and elegant styling. Kids loved the room and settled down easily. The Club lounge was excellent with great collection of wines and drinks and snacks! So we decided to have breakfast in the lounge too as it was much more intimate and less crowded. There is much to do in the hotel...also there is a very convinient 'family mart' inside the hotel to pick up fruits/water/beer etc. Thumbs up for a great hotel.

The only cons : the hotel gets taken over by convention attendees and at these times, the service levels deteoriate... hence I guess it pays to upgrade top the club rooms to ensure that service levels remain high!

Room Tip: Choose the club rooms if they ar ewithin yoru budget! We were in the 8th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RakeshShanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelaw513, Web Interactive Marketing Specialist at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for choosing InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise with your family. Your detailed review of this stay gives extra boost to us, whilst it is also important for us to keep our service quality. Again, thank you for your comment and suggestion which is a mirror to reveal guest personal experience. It is our sincere hope to welcome you on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This is the biggest hotel in town and for us its the best. Beautiful big rooms. So many restaurants around the complex. They have a cultural show inside the hotel every night. This is the best place to stay when you are touring this place.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 8audrey8_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelaw513, Web Interactive Marketing Specialist at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Dear Guest, what a delightful review! Thank you for taking the time to post it. We are pleased that you enjoyed your sweet journey here. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Park, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

after a long and winding trip from the airport as we pulled up to the hotel, you are awed by the magnificence of the extended lobby. You enter into a replica of a Tibetan Village replete with flowers, swans, ducks, statues, fountains, waterfalls, just breathtaking. Avtually got lost trying to find the front desk and the restaurant. Great service but limite English. Usins a translator app really helped. Beautiful rooms, lovelyy atrium. Rooms are fine but the rest of the hotel was distinctly cold. People ate breakfast in winter coats. I find that strange. I like it warm enough to remove my coat.

Another strange problem. As only I went touring each day, my wife and daughter thougt they would enjoy the spa. Problem is it doesn't open until 6 PM - 1 AM. What kind of hours are these. How about 8 AM - 6 PM. Pool was also closed until 6 PM. Not happy about that. So minus one star. That needs to be fixed to truly be five-star.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dr_elliott_brender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelaw513, Web Interactive Marketing Specialist at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Dear guest, welcome to InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise. Thank you for taking time to post this review. We are glad that both hotel environment and staff service lived up to your expectations, whilst it is also a reminding of us to strengthen staff language training. It is grateful that you share with us your happy visit with family and we all look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

nice landscape, nice room, good view, delicious buffet diner.
really like in Paradise.
would like to come again sometimes.
I was stay at suite room.
Although only 1 night stay, it give me very good impressed about this hotel.
The location is not easy to reach, but this hotel really amazing.

Room Tip: suite room type very nice and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 94Nany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelaw513, Web Interactive Marketing Specialist at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for choosing InterContinnental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise. It is delighted that you enjoyed the trip with friends bonding in our hotel. What make us happy the most is satisfied guests and we do hope to meet you soon in Jiuzhai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights while went to jiuzhagou, huanglong and song pan. I like the entrance, Super relaxing... Lake with swans, restaurants, spa. excellent service especially front desk, conceirge, they are able to arrange transportation to scenic spots. There Tibetan performance offered just next to hotel, only rmb150. The room is extra comfy, well mainatained, clean, with balcony, small living area.. Big enough for family of 4.. Hope to come back again...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelaw513, Web Interactive Marketing Specialist at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for taking time to post your review regarding your recent trip in Jiuzhai. Welcome to InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise! We pride ourselves on the quality of our service, restaurants and hotel amenities and we are delighted to hear that you appreciated it. Please do not leave it too long before you visit us again. We are right here waiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

When first i entered the hotel lobby the only words come from my mouth is "wow". It's so big and yet very beautiful. The room and breakfast also great. At night they have some show which is interesting to me and also the scenery is beautiful. There are 2 things that disturb me is not all the staff can speak english and there is no free wifi. But overall my stay in this hotel is very memorable...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian1184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelaw513, Web Interactive Marketing Specialist at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Christian, welcome to InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise. What make us happy the most is satisfied guests, and this review will surely be cheerful for us. Our aim is to always exceed our guests’ expectations and your suggestion is our positive energy to improve all the time. Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jiuzhaigou County hotels
5.6 mi away
Jiuzhaigou Tibetan Barley Inn
Jiuzhaigou Tibetan Barley Inn
#3 of 192 in Jiuzhaigou County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
5.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Tianyuan Resort Jiuzhaigou
Howard Johnson Tianyuan Resort J...
#4 of 192 in Jiuzhaigou County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo
Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo
#5 of 192 in Jiuzhaigou County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Qian He International Hotel
Qian He International Hotel
#13 of 192 in Jiuzhaigou County
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
9.3 mi away
Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort
Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort
#2 of 192 in Jiuzhaigou County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
6.5 mi away
New Jiu Zhai Hotel
New Jiu Zhai Hotel
#8 of 192 in Jiuzhaigou County
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise

Property: InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise
Address: Ganhaizi Scenic Zone, Zhangzha Town, 623402, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Sichuan > Jiuzhaigou County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Jiuzhaigou County
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jiuzhaigou County
#5 Best Value Hotel in Jiuzhaigou County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise 4*
Number of rooms: 1020
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise is an intimate upcountry retreat nestled high in the mountains. The unique design is reminiscent of an ancient city protected under a glass atrium, marrying the exquisite interior with the bewitching natural beauty outside. With more than 1,100 rooms, the hotel is the largest in the region and perfect for leisure travellers seeking comfort and solitude. The province is home to a stunning array of calcified pools and the picturesque meadows of Ganhaizi (Dry Sea), just 20 kilometres (12.5 miles) away, are not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise Hotel Jiuzhaigou County
Intercontinental Jiuzhai Paradise
Intercontinental Hotel Jiuzhaigou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing