We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise
Ranked #1 of 194 Hotels in Jiuzhaigou County
Petaling Jaya, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Impressed”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights while went to jiuzhagou, huanglong and song pan. I like the entrance, Super relaxing... Lake with swans, restaurants, spa. excellent service especially front desk, conceirge, they are able to arrange transportation to scenic spots. There Tibetan performance offered just next to hotel, only rmb150. The room is extra comfy, well mainatained, clean, with balcony, small living area.. Big enough for family of 4.. Hope to come back again...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaki H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelaw513, Web Interactive Marketing Specialist at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for taking time to post your review regarding your recent trip in Jiuzhai. Welcome to InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise! We pride ourselves on the quality of our service, restaurants and hotel amenities and we are delighted to hear that you appreciated it. Please do not leave it too long before you visit us again. We are right here waiting.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    478
    105
    38
    25
See reviews for
102
76
15
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

When first i entered the hotel lobby the only words come from my mouth is "wow". It's so big and yet very beautiful. The room and breakfast also great. At night they have some show which is interesting to me and also the scenery is beautiful. There are 2 things that disturb me is not all the staff can speak english and there is no free wifi. But overall my stay in this hotel is very memorable...

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian1184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelaw513, Web Interactive Marketing Specialist at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear Christian, welcome to InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise. What make us happy the most is satisfied guests, and this review will surely be cheerful for us. Our aim is to always exceed our guests’ expectations and your suggestion is our positive energy to improve all the time. Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back again in future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magelang, Indonesia
Level Contributor
238 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Stay here while went to Jiuzhaigou and Huanglong, event I went here with group of tour, but big part of the tour member is my family, and 2 others family. First impression is: is this hotel??? Wow.. so great, beautiful. But When entering the room for the first time, there's something bothering me and my brother. Seems like there's another people that stay in that room already. One of the bedroom, has its blanket open. And there's 2 postcards in there. The slipper was beside the bed, and the mineral water was at the table beside the bed. (In the bathroom, there's two mineral water new). One of the bedroom decorations was not on bedroom, but in the cupboard. Me and my brother feel uncomfortable with that situtaion. Altough we had called the receptions and room service had come and said that it's all for VIP customer. But why us? The other member of tour, didn't has same experience. They had everything is normal (normal for us if entering the room hotel for the first time). So we ask the tour leader to change our room. After that, everything is okay for us.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaWong5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelaw513, Web Interactive Marketing Specialist at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise, responded to this review, September 11, 2012
Dear Anna, thank you for staying at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise. We are pleased to see you and your family enjoyed your trip here. As for your concern, hotel offers turn-down service. Services are offered for your convenience, including room cleaning, laundry, breakfast, etc. Besides, the post card you received is a gift from hotel of Jiuzhai distinguishing features. Hope you like it and welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We spent our last day in Jiuzhaigou at InterContinental after 2 nights at Sheraton. The minute you entered the hotel, you did not want to leave. In fact, it was hard to leave, as there was nothing much around. We were lucky to hire a car to take us to Zhongze Village for a horse ride before checking in, and I highly recommend the Zhongze visit. The horse ride cost 180 yuan for two hours per horse. The Tibetan villager will take the rein, and take you to tour the village. The horses were small, and they were hesitated to let my American husband who happen to be a bit bigger than average Chinese to ride on. The horse would take us to climb a small hill, and then to a holy top with Buddhist pagoda. The horse keeper suggested or implored us to buy some incenses and prayer flags which cost another 50 yuan. We obliged, as the Tibetan boy who led me told me he only earned 10 yuan per ride. But the incense money will be their own. Once we got to a flat grassland, they would suggest us to ride the one yak waiting there for the tourist. This time, I refused. We took a little rest and lots of pictures. It is like a Shangarila place.

However, the Tibetan boy told me that a developer is planning for conference center and 5 star hotel here. Why do we need more 5 star hotels in such pristine place?

After the horse ride, we are heading to InterContinental with much anticipation, as even the Tibetan boy told me his elder brother works the summer job there.

The hotel is magnificent, and very well kept. We had a mountain view deluxe room, although the mountain was only on the side. Since we had time, we even tried the swimming pool with the glass ceiling under the mountain sky. There were more service people than guests.

The breakfast next morning was a disaster. The buffet style is typical for Chinese group travelers. The cafe is a scale in display. Hundreds of tourists are there piling foods on their plates. The eggs are prepared in advance and they hide the yugurts behind the counters.

When we checked out the hotel, we hired a driver and a car from the Taobao who would take us to Huanglong National Park and then send us to the airport to fly home. This turned out to be of great convenience and cost us 450 yuan. Not bad a deal.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caitrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelaw513, Web Interactive Marketing Specialist at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Dear guest, it is very pleased to know that you enjoyed and shared your recent experience with us at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise. It is kind of you to share your trip tips. Thank you very much for taking time to post your review and we cherish every guest comment to have better stay experience delivery. Hope you and your family have spent a wonderful time in Jiuzhai and we are expecting your revisit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

This hotel is very huge, very beautiful even have big pond with live ducks. The decoration amazes me, however the service is not as high as the decoration. Dont forget to bring oxygen, first day coming here, sometimes will feel unwell at first but the following day should be allright, it is because i think this hotel is the highest positioned hotel on the mountain

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelaw513, Web Interactive Marketing Specialist at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Dear Winata, Welcome to InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise. Thank you for your commend on our hotel. It is kind of you to share your experience with us. There is a hotel clinic in the Lobby to consult. We hope our improving service will live up to guests expectations, and we all look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Very bad that a 5 stars international hotel does not have people speaking english around. Everything is built up for group tours. I was traveling by myself without a local guide - impossible to get decent help.
Leaving 5h00 to the airport took me more than 30 minutes to get a check out and i just got i because i had to scream with the receptionists (3 - one doing group check out / 2 distributing brekfast bags / 0 english speakers). it was a drama to them to check me out
At least the gorgeous surroundings compensanted the trip

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FCTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelaw513, Web Interactive Marketing Specialist at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for sharing with us your experience in InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise. What make us happy the most is satisfied guests, and we are delighted to know you enjoyed your trip bonding in Jiuzhai. We are strengthening staff overall service; including language training to have guests from all over the world to be better served. We hope the lapses in check out did not mar your overall impression, and that you will afford us another opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

The location is gorgeous - surrounded by pine forests and snow-capped mountains. The rooms in this hotel are very large and comfy - it is a new hotel but the room decor is styled like an old muntain lodge. There's even a simulated (electric) fireplace. The entrance is somewhat odd for a mountain resort - you walk quite a ways under a large glass skylight until you get to the actual lobby entrance. This is due, in part to the scale of the hotel - 1000 rooms! So the sense you get, especially in the F&B outlets is that you are in a big, conference hotel cafeteria but definitely not a five star resort that you would expect from an Intercontinental. That being said it is currently the nicest hotel in Zhujiagou although this could change in a few years.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oakland_diner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angelaw513, Web Interactive Marketing Specialist at InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Dear guest, it is appreciated for your comments after stay in InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise. Hotel is meant to create a feel of a disappeared architecture in the forest. The integration of local Tibetan and Qiang culture and international hotel standard makes the hotel becomes unique in this region. We are delighted to find you enjoyed the beauty of Jiuzhai and the comfy in hotel room. Your suggestion is precious to us to be a great resort for all the guests from worldwide. It is our hope to see you soon here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jiuzhaigou County hotels
5.6 mi away
Jiuzhaigou Tibetan Barley Inn
Jiuzhaigou Tibetan Barley Inn
#3 of 194 in Jiuzhaigou County
28 reviews
5.5 mi away
Howard Johnson Tianyuan Resort Jiuzhaigou
Howard Johnson Tianyuan Resort J...
#5 of 194 in Jiuzhaigou County
59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Banyan Tree Jiuzhaigou
Banyan Tree Jiuzhaigou
#7 of 194 in Jiuzhaigou County
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo
Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo
#4 of 194 in Jiuzhaigou County
108 reviews
6.1 mi away
Hilton Jiuzhaigou Resort
Hilton Jiuzhaigou Resort
#6 of 194 in Jiuzhaigou County
4 reviews
9.6 mi away
Qian He International Hotel
Qian He International Hotel
#14 of 194 in Jiuzhaigou County
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise

Property: InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise
Address: Ganhaizi Scenic Zone, Zhangzha Town, 623402, China
Phone Number:
Location: China > Sichuan > Jiuzhaigou County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jiuzhaigou County
#1 Spa Hotel in Jiuzhaigou County
#5 Best Value Hotel in Jiuzhaigou County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise 4*
Number of rooms: 1020
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise is an intimate upcountry retreat nestled high in the mountains. The unique design is reminiscent of an ancient city protected under a glass atrium, marrying the exquisite interior with the bewitching natural beauty outside. With more than 1,100 rooms, the hotel is the largest in the region and perfect for leisure travellers seeking comfort and solitude. The province is home to a stunning array of calcified pools and the picturesque meadows of Ganhaizi (Dry Sea), just 20 kilometres (12.5 miles) away, are not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise Hotel Jiuzhaigou County
Intercontinental Jiuzhai Paradise
Intercontinental Hotel Jiuzhaigou

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing