We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quite a good choice for visiting Jiuzhaigou”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Qian He International Hotel
Ranked #13 of 192 Hotels in Jiuzhaigou County
Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Quite a good choice for visiting Jiuzhaigou”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Admittedly, if you don't speak a word of Mandarin and have no-one with you who does, staying in this hotel may not be always as simple. The staff doesn't speak English (well at least I didn't meet anyone who did).

Yet, this hotel is a good alternative for the nearby Sheraton Resort. It isn't cheap, but most hotels in this location are expensive. However, it definitely exceeded our expectations having read some reviews on sites like Tripadvisor.

The location is quite good, about 1.5 kilometer from the National Park entrance, just east of it. It is close by the Sheraton Resort. Behind the hotel are some streets that in the evening turn into a little night market, and along the river that runs at the back of the hotel, are quite a few bars, restaurants and little shops. More shops and many more hotels are located at the west side of the Park entrance.

Frankly, during our stay it were the people who made the difference here, from the front desk ladies to the housekeeping staff, and from the super friendly bell boy to the waitresses in the dining room. Despite the language barrier (which was never a real problem, if I had needed help, all my travel companions spoke Mandarin), they went out of the way to make our stay pleasant.

The hotel is 4 floors and spead out over several wings that are connected with indoor walkways. The rooms at the side street are a bit noisy, the other ones are quiet. The room was specious enough and clean. The beds are hard, as almost everywhere in China, but not rock hard. The bathrooms are adequate. We did not experience any blackout or any lack of hot water during our 3 nights stay. Hot water was available all the time with sufficient pressure.

There are coffee and tea making facilities in the room (but no coffee) and there is LAN internet that actually worked most of the time. There are no in room safes but the reception will provide and your valuable stuff will be stored in a locked room if you ask about it.

The reception people are nice even though checking in was a bit slow with the double copying process of passports that you can expect anywhere in Sichuan. But the ladies are very friendly and if you give it a try to say a few words in Mandarin, they will remember that you tried, and you can be sure that they will be very patient and try to make sure they understand you.

Breakfast is served in the big round dining room. It is a typican Chinese "grand" hotel type of dining room, which may not be appealing for many westerners. It can get very busy in the morning and the staff has to work hard to keep all dishes supply as some people literally "attack" the buffet, for example is there is a new supply of fried eggs. For the rest it is Chinese fare only. But there is coffee too and it is surprisingly drinkable. The orange juice is not really orange juice though, it is some sort of orange flavored tea or water, served luke warm.

The tour groups of Chinese can be annoying in that many people literally stack up their plates. That is why the hotel has implemented an interesting rule: if you stack up and leave more than 50 gram of food wasted on your plate, they will add a "penalty" of RMB 20 to your bill. Great initiative!

The lobby is also ornamental in Chinese style. There is a concierge desk with the intriguing sign in English saying "Ritual Guests". But the congierge is helpful in arranging transportation, tickets for the Tibetan dance performance and any other services you may need.

It is written that the hotel provides karaoke lounge, massage, spa etc. but we didn't use these so I can't comment on it. We had dinner and lunch one time at the hotel. You can order from an I-Pad with the menu on it, with pictures so that makes it somewhat easier. We had yak meat, some pork dish (more or less like thin sliced smoked bacon) and a dish with the "cushions" of duck feet in a plate filled with red, green and orange peppers. It was good and reasonably priced for a hotel.

When we left, some of the restaurant staff came to say goodbye in the lobby. We have only met nice staff here with smiles all the time. Once again, the people really made the difference.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JTNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    46
    27
    4
    5
See reviews for
8
22
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth-WA
Level Contributor
130 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This hotel is a 2 hour drive from the airport through beautiful landscapes and villages. It is only 2km from nine village valley park entrance. The hotel is set against the mountain and as only 4floors is spread out and connected by walkways. The room was nicely decorated and fresh, the bathroom had recently been renovated. There are spare quilts and an electric blanket as is did get cold at night. Complimentary water was given each day. There are no English channels on the tv. Free wifi is available in the Lobby area. Breakfast is available in the dining room, buffet style only Chinese food. Would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GillianKPerth_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We spent 3 nights in the Qian He and could not fault the hotel for the money.

Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The bed was a bit on the hard side but there was an additional dooner that we used which made sleeping comfortable. The room had free Wi-fi though it did cut out at times.

The staff even with limited English were exceptional as they went out of their way to help us and even purchased our bus tickets to Chengdu and organized a driver to take us to the bus station. The Bell Boy also came along to ensure we got on the right bus. We offered him a tip but he refused. Who could expect more service than that.

The hotel is a 20 minute walk to the park entrance and has many provision shops close by including a great cafe called the Star Cafe down on the river front which you access down the lane next to the Sheraton.
The hotel will not accept credit cards as a lot of places in China do not but if you need cash there is an ATM in the foyer of the Sheraton which is almost next door.

Fully recommend this hotel for value for money

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank imagine2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
141 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

I would give this place 0 stars if I could!

1. The staff speaks very little English. For an "international" hotel, it doesn't actually cater to people outside of China. They claim to be a 4 star hotel. It was not even close! Check in was very disorganized and hectic!
2. You can only pay with either a Chinese credit card or RMBs. We didn't know that. We went to check in and were told that our credit cards were not accepted. They expected us to have the cash. Who carries around $300-$400 when they travel? That's what credit cards are for. The staff was NOT helpful at all. We assumed that at an "international" hotel, they would accept the standard Master Card/Visa credit cards. We were wrong.
3. The evening got even worse as it continued. The lights were patchy. There were blackouts several times. At about $100 per night, we expected electricity!
4. They do not provide the regular amenities one would expect from a hotel, such as toothbrush, toothpaste, etc... Those items can be purchased at the hotel.
5. The bed was really hard. We woke up with back pains.
6. The hotel is really loud! It's almost as if it's dorm style! People left their doors open. There was a lot of yelling and loud talking. This is definitely one of the loudest hotels I've ever stayed at.
7. The free breakfast buffet they provide was GROSS and dirty! I found a hair in my vegetables and an eyelash in my congee! Disgusting!

I will definitely never stay at this hotel again. I do NOT recommend this hotel! I have chills just thinking of this place....

Room Tip: There's no hope. Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jenkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jiuzhaigou County hotels

Brisbane
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Stayed 3 nights during our 3 week tour of China. Rooms were large , clean and quiet. Free wi-fi in the lobby. Hotel shops similar prices to local shops just outside. Major letdown was the food - it just didn't appeal to us. (maybe it was the way other guests just rushed and grabbed everything -maybe they hadn't eaten in awhile). Rather difficult communicating as we found no staff that spoke English - one girl could read English, so she was able to help us contact our guide.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vada_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed at this hotel for 3 nights during our visit to JZG in June 2012. We booked a tripple room: one room with a queen bed, one room with 2 single beds. Breakfast is included in the rate. The rooms are spacious, clean, and quite. Beds are comfortable. Breakfast is descent but not great (lots of vegetables & eggs, not much meat). Our driver told us this is probably the second best hotel after Sheraton that are close to the park entrace, but you would have to pay a lot more for Sheraton even for a regular room.

The hotel is about 20 minutes walk from JZG park entrace. I estimate is is about 1km in distance.

The only negative thing about the hotel: the rooms do not have AC or heating. This is not an issue in June, but if you come in the winter months the rooms may be very cold. The beds have heating blankets, but they are no help for heating up the rooms.

Overall I think the hotel is great value and would recommend it if you come in the summer months.

Tip: the tripple rooms get sold out fast so book early. The riverwalk between park entrance and the hotel is nice and quiet, much better than along the road.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, Chine
Level Contributor
205 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Hotel just for chinese, coming, eating, living and visiting in a group...
Breakfast is awfull, only for chinese peoples....
Rooms are big and modern but cold...
All attractions in the Qian He hotel were closed (no spa, massage, pool, wellness centers....). Nothing to do except walk in the neighbourhood....
Nice staff, doing his best for serving, smiling in front of laowai, but unable to speak english so far.
NO Wifi in the rooms !
Price reasonnable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gorgu1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jiuzhaigou County hotels
4.6 mi away
Jiuzhaigou Tibetan Barley Inn
Jiuzhaigou Tibetan Barley Inn
#3 of 192 in Jiuzhaigou County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
9.6 mi away
InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise
InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai ...
#1 of 192 in Jiuzhaigou County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,162 reviews
4.8 mi away
Howard Johnson Tianyuan Resort Jiuzhaigou
Howard Johnson Tianyuan Resort J...
#4 of 192 in Jiuzhaigou County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo
Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo
#5 of 192 in Jiuzhaigou County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jiuzhaigou Grand Hotel
Jiuzhaigou Grand Hotel
#56 of 192 in Jiuzhaigou County
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
1.7 mi away
Zangwang Holiday Hotel
Zangwang Holiday Hotel
#27 of 192 in Jiuzhaigou County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Qian He International Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Qian He International Hotel

Property: Qian He International Hotel
Address: Huodiba, Longkang Cun Village, Zhangzha Town,Zhangzha Zhen, 623600, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Jiuzhaigou County
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 192 Hotels in Jiuzhaigou County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Qian He International Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Qian He International Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing