We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful place”

Jiuzhaigou Natural Reserve
Book In Advance
More Info
$988.00*
and up
3-Day Private Tour of Jiuzhaigou From Chengdu With Flight
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Jiuzhaigou Valley, eulogized as a world of magical fairytale, has for years enchanted tourists with its mountains and luxuriant forests, colorful lakes, gushing waterfalls and abundant wildlife. To its south is the Huanglong (Yellow Dragon Scenic Area). Jiuzhaigou Valley is located in Nanping County, 450 kilometers (about 280 miles) to the north of Chengdu City, Sichuan, covers a total area of 720 square kilometers and the valley is 50 kilometers in length. In 1992, UNESCO entered this scenic area onto the world natural heritage list.Jiuzhaigou, literally the Nine Village Valley, is hence known for the nine Tibetan villages within its boundary, Inhabited by Tibetans, the nine villages and alpine lakes, are like reflecting mirrors or crystal jade blocks inlaid in snow mountains and forests.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A wonderful place”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We went to the site two days, first day arrived at about 8 am started from the forest, walked to the Swan Pond, then took the shuttle down to the Panda Pond, Panda waterfall, Pearl Pond, Pearl waterfall, etc. The colorful lake so pretty that you will not believe it's real, the air was very fresh. If you can arrive the site at about 7 am on a sunny day, try to start from the Pearl Pond for you can see the beautiful pearl shinning over the lake, the morning we went started a little rain, luckily, it just a little and the sun came out in the afternoon, we left the site at about 4 pm.

Next day we went to the other part of the site, the view is gorgeous, don't forget bring along your lunch and water, there's food provides at the 諾日郎 centre, but it's waste time to go back there with high price, You need to walk quite a lot if you want to see more by walking point to point on the trail, it's enjoyable when walking on the beautiful landscape and the air is so fresh.

樹正 waterfall is very wide, I think it's more than 180 degree round, 諾日郎 waterfall is tall, big and amazing. You can stay at the 樹正 village, but I think better find a hostel close to the site.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank hahaHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,094 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,307
    667
    87
    19
    12
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
152 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

The beauty of this place is incredible. The lakes are bright blue, the forests and mountains look like something out of a movie. This place is awesome.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank IowaRod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth-WA
Level Contributor
140 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Amazingly beautiful”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Apon entering the park you travel by bus to the different areas. We chose to start with the furtherest away and work our way back. The colours of the lakes are so vibrant it is almost unbelievable. Thought the park you walk along a boardwalk through the Forrest and over streams, beside the lakes and next to the waterfalls. There are many steps also along the way. There are restaurants in the park with buffet style meals but our local guide took us to one of the homes that are also shops selling local crafts and tourist souvenirs for a traditional Tibetan meal in their kitchen made and served by the family. It was basic yak and dried pork and a bread made from barley served with a local tea. A great experience. Although it can be viewed in a day it would be better to do slower over two days. Depending on the number of tourist 20000 a day but can be up to 50000, it can be slow going and persistence required to get the best viewing spot. A must see.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank GillianKPerth_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Villa Park, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Scenic wonder, but be prepared for an 8 km. hike”
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Just arriving in Jiuzhaigou I was concerned about altitude sickness so my guide carried a bottle of oxygen for me. I never used it. I got a bit short of breath on climbing up the many stairs but considering I am 66 years old I did just fine. What you find is forests, waterfalls, nature at it's best along with small Tibetan villages. Defintely worth it for the more adventurous.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank dr_elliott_brender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DFW
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Natural & Gorgeous!”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is quite likely the most beautiful place I have ever visited. The scenery was absolutely phenomenal and the atmosphere of the interspersed minority villages/temples was quite charming. After a full day, we still only saw about half because we walked the trail/road back from the Colorful Pond bus stop. Although the heavy crowds could be considered a big drawback, we encountered very few people on our long walk by avoiding the bus and taking the scenic route back to the next stop (roughly 11 miles down the road). I do regret not preparing more food/water - there were many perfect spots to have a picnic along the way.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lintaitai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jiuzhaigou Natural Reserve also viewed

Jiuzhaigou County, Sichuan
Jiuzhaigou County, Sichuan
 
Jiuzhaigou County, Sichuan
 

Been to Jiuzhaigou Natural Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing