We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort
Ranked #1 of 194 Hotels in Jiuzhaigou County
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Needs Improvement”
Reviewed September 21, 2009

Rooms are okay however service is definitely not the typical 5 stars hotel that you would expect. They had to charge us 200 Rmb extra a night for a King Size bed and non-smoking room ( i mean why??) which comes to Rmb 1,800 a night which is relatively expensive for China standard, esp when the hotel is quite old. The room is clean however quite old, toilet is small and can only fit one person in at a time. The spa, pool were closed when we were there for the weekend which is ridiculous since they should have informed us in advance when you book the room right? I haven't seen the room at the Intercontenniental, just had lunch there but definitely seems much newer and nicer although it's further than the valley, it actualy doesn't matter as taxi to the valley is very cheap so even a return trip will cost you nothing so i would definitely go for the Intercon when i go there next time.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DingDingHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonJZG, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear guest,thank you very much for your precious comment and feedback.We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority. I believe that you enjoyed beautiful sceneries in Jiuzhaigou and wish you an enjoyable day. We are looking forward to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    311
    142
    43
    17
See reviews for
124
161
43
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2009

This hotel made a great impression on us when we first checked in and it stayed that way until we checked out. The room is very clean, spacious and well appointed. The staff are very professional, friendly and go out of their way to accommodate the needs of the guests. This is in contrast with another high end hotel in the area that boasts a well known international brand. There is a great pool and hot tub in the hotel. For families traveling with kids, there is even a video game room with a wide selection of video games. The location of the hotel is also very convenient, only a 10-15 minute walk or 2-3 minute taxi ride (US$1 taxi ride) to the gate of the Jiuzhaigou park. There is a lovely walk path behind the hotel. It's right along the beautiful river and goes all the way to the Park gate. There are numerous simple eateries along this walk path that are worth checking out. You can also rent bikes from the hotel to ride around.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spiderkitties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonJZG, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear guest,thank you very much for your precious comment and feedback. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority. I believe that you enjoyed beautiful sceneries in Jiuzhaigou and wish you an enjoyable day. We are looking forward to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2009

(I stayed at the Sheraton and the Intercontinental during my stay at Jiuzhaigou.)

The Sheraton is a large resort ~1-2miles away from the opening of the Jiuzhaigou Park. It is a huge complex with 2 "wings" of rooms and then a completely separate building for more hotel rooms, theater, multiple dining areas. There is a medium-sized pool and spa area, and a reasonably appointed gym (no extra charge to use). There are stores and little convenience stores within walking distance (.5miles) from the hotel - the hotel is on the edge of the "town." A big plus - so you can eat at some of the small local (don't think grand, but yummy and cheap) restaurants and shop in the cheaper souvenir shops.

During our visit, the hotel was not completely full - so lobby and gathering areas (such as cafes) would be fairly empty. I was told that there was free wireless in the lobby, but I did not get a chance to try it out. Smoking is allowed in the lobby and cafe areas.

Rooms are comfortably sized with better then usual Chinese beds (although, they are on the very firm side). The furniture, carpet and cushions were well kept and in great condition. The bathroom was large with a large soaking bathtub and separate shower. A great plus - tons of little "amenities" and soaps: bubble bath, toothbrush, shoe cleaners, washing detergent, shower caps, shaving sets, sewing sets, etc. TV had a variety of international channels.

The breakfast buffet had a large variety - American breakfast, European style breads and cereals, cheese, spreads and yogurt, cold cuts, Japanese style condiments for the rice, and steamed Chinese buns. I thought this was one of the better hotel buffets of my trip.

A big plus - the hotel is very close to the Park, but, like everything in Jiuzhaigou, is at least an 1.5hour drive away from the airport.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonJZG, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear guest,thank you very much for your precious comment and feedback. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority. I believe that you enjoyed beautiful sceneries in Jiuzhaigou and wish you an enjoyable day. We are looking forward to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2009

Our visit to Jiuzhaigou was an unforgettable one. Our morning flight was delayed before takeoff . Then on reaching Jiuzhai we were not able to land and forced to return to Chengdu. we managed to take off in the late evening and arrived late at night. Although I cancelled my reservation to avoid a no show penalty, the hotel kindly hold the rooms for me which i sincerely appreciate. Upon checking in we were absolutely exhausted.. We just wanted to shower and get the much needed sleep after a long day .The water pressure was really weak and we had to content not only with a trickle of water but the water temperature was inconsistent. The next moorning before we left for our full day Jiuzhai tour we informed the front desk twice but when we return in the evening apparently nothing was done. Once again we communicate this issue to the front desk personally and waited for half an hour for the service staff. Half an hour and a phone call had to be made before a repair man finally appeared. After a series of sign language and a show of dissatisfaction with the water pressure and temperature inconsistency, he finally changed a mechanism and a new shower head and hey presto, we managed to enjoy a decent bath. However we encountered a host of unpleasant events. . The staff are inexperienced and have problems handling queries and billing issues. After reading positive reviews of this hotel i was extremely disappointed with my stay here

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M_Teo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonJZG, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear guest,thank you very much for your precious comment and feedback. Our Hotel Management is very attentive about it. On behalf of Hotel Management, we sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused.For service quality feedback from you, more training on improving staffs' working and language skills will be provided by hotel management team. Hotel is striving to have more facilities to balance the water pressure. We are looking forward to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 205 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2009

This is definitely 5-star hotel, with lots of facilities such as swimming pool, electronic games room, sauna and SPA, massage, restuarants, bar, airline ticketing, souvenir shops, beauty saloon, business facilities, tibetan show theatre, etc. The West wing is mostly closed down, a walking distance across from the main East wing. The grand theatre and zodiac plaza are in between them. The check-in and -out were fast, front desk, bellhop and lobby manager courteous and helpful, but some restaurant staff have poor attitude, which I have feedback to the hotel management upon leaving. The spread for breakfast is good, and the room spacious too. The buffet dinner is good but expensive ~RMB 180 / adult. Children half price. The hotel is close to the Park entrance, but far from the airport and Huanglong Park.
Jiuhuang airport is quite small, easy to spot the airport shuttle counter. Arrange with the driver to pick you up for the return trip to airport. They work in this way: the earning from the trip from airport to hotel goes to the company, whilst the return trip fully goes to the driver. It is RMB 45 / person. The driver who drove me even gave me free ride to and from Jiuzhaigou Park, which usually will cost RMB 5-7 / taxi, which amounts to about RMB 30 savings for me. In return I book a tibetan show through him, from which he will get some kickback. He drove us to the show ZhangMi free too. Show was great, dance good, but singing a bit too loud and high pitched for us. Flights to Jiuhuang airport have a high chance of failure. We met one for our trip. We were on China Southern flight, and met a rainy day there upon landing. Landing fail, plane turned back to Chengdu. Flights typically don't carry food for this route because time avaible for distributing food is only 5-10 mins. But we were also not provided with any food from the ground while waiting on the plane for more than an hour, despite complaints from passengers. Not sure whether other airlines will do better, bring your own snacks if you travel this route. We were in all more than 4 hours on the plane, and have 3 free flights. We missed lunch, survive on the few pieces of biscuits they gave out during the first flight. When we eventually landed successfully the second time, and get to the hotel restuarant, it is well in the evening. To make matters worst, because of the rain, the ground tempertaure when we landed was 1-3 degree celsius. The unexpected gain was first encounter with snow for us tropical residents. Our driver was kind enough to conced to our request to stop by the road for a while to allow us to experience snow touching and playing. Snow in summer, possible in Jiuzhaigou! Thank God, we have 5-star Sheraton to look forward to (some consolation) after such a frustrating and freezing experience. Imagine, if we have book some rundown place without good heater and restaurant!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WoodlandsSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonJZG, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear guest,thank you very much for your precious comment and feedback. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority. I believe that you enjoyed beautiful sceneries in Jiuzhaigou and wish you an enjoyable day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Thomas, US Virgin Islands
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2009

The staff at the front desk were genuinely helpful in trying to answer our questions. Of course, we don't know a word of Chinese and they didn't speak English, but it is amazing how helpful they were with a little sign language and pointing. They showed us maps and brochures and gave us a business card to give to the taxi so that we could find our way back. The food was ok, the buffet had a nice selection of Chinese food. We even tried some of the western food on the menu. Most strikingly unusual about this impressive marble hotel was the Chinese habit of cigarette smoking. If you don't like cigarettes, you will find it extremely uncomfortable to navigate through the lobby towards the elevators without being smoked. We had asked for a nonsmoking room, but there was no such thing, and the smell was distressing. apart from that, the room had some ammenities that were useful. I had a lot of trouble getting my internet to work, and downstairs they had a computer room which was a type of an internet lounge. There was a Chinese man who knew computers forwards and backwards, and despite that we were unable to find anyone who spoke english my problem was evident and he figured out how to solve it because luckily Microsoft places all the tabs in the same placed regardless of language and they got it working. The view from the window reminded me of a prison. The swimming pool was funny as there was a sign that gave rules for the whirlpool, but there wasn't a whirlpoo. The most amusing part was the spa! There was a room which had at least 12 if not more large comfy reclining chairs and everyone soaked their feet in wooden buckets with giant herbal tea bags. Then the Tibetan ladies sat in front of each chair and massaged each persons legs. That was the good part, the bad part was all the relaxing went down the drain as everone was transfixed on the television which had an emotionaly traumatic Chinese soap opera while they were each puffing away on their cigarettes. I signed that I wanted my foot massage in a private room and she was happy to oblige.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sybille S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonJZG, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear guest,thank you very much for your precious comment and feedback.We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority. I believe that you enjoyed beautiful sceneries in Jiuzhaigou and wish you an enjoyable day. We are looking forward to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2008

Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort offers highly attentive service and very friendly staff members. It is very close to the park entrance and main tourist restaurant strip (about 5RMB away from park entrance by taxi). It is also very clean and well-kept.

We visited Jiuzhaigou in April 2008. The weather varied a lot during my 4-day stay (apparently not uncommon in the high-altitude areas such as Jiuzhaigou), with temperature dropping to below 0 in last two-days due to snowfall. You can imagine my delight to return to a well-heated hotel room with fluffy robes and slippers.

I also loved the breakfast buffet - full of variety to the extent that its almost wasteful (maybe management could consider cutting back a little on this front). From memory, the bread was actually slightly salty unlike sweet version that is more common in China. However, being Chinese, I focused on Chinese breakfast items so I cant be sure about the bread:-)

  • Liked — Staff, service, location
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wnia3445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonJZG, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear guest,thank you very much for your precious comment and feedback.We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority. I believe that you enjoyed beautiful sceneries in Jiuzhaigou and wish you an enjoyable day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jiuzhaigou County hotels
9.3 mi away
InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise
InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai ...
#2 of 194 in Jiuzhaigou County
1,169 reviews
4.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Tianyuan Resort Jiuzhaigou
Howard Johnson Tianyuan Resort J...
#4 of 194 in Jiuzhaigou County
68 reviews
4.4 mi away
Jiuzhaigou Tibetan Barley Inn
Jiuzhaigou Tibetan Barley Inn
#3 of 194 in Jiuzhaigou County
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo
Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo
#5 of 194 in Jiuzhaigou County
108 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Jiuzhaigou Resort
Hilton Jiuzhaigou Resort
#6 of 194 in Jiuzhaigou County
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Banyan Tree Jiuzhaigou
Banyan Tree Jiuzhaigou
#7 of 194 in Jiuzhaigou County
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort

Property: Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort
Address: Jiuzhaigou Scenic Spot, Aba Zhou, 623402, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Jiuzhaigou County
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Jiuzhaigou County
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jiuzhaigou County
#3 Best Value Hotel in Jiuzhaigou County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 482
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get the celebrity treatment with world-class service at Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort One of our bestsellers in Jiuzhaigou! The 5-star Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort is located only 1.5 km from Jiuzhaigou Valley National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage site. It boasts 5 dining options, a variety of leisure facilities and rooms with natural spring water. The elegant rooms come with stylish modern interiors, soothing coloured tones and large bay windows that overlook the mountain. Each has a sofa seating area, flat-screen TV and private bathroom with a bathtub. Guests can indulge in a body massage at the spa, or relax in the hot spring bath. Taking a dip in the indoor pool or exercising at the gym are also good recreational choices. Mirror Lake and Colored Lake cafes serve a variety of international dishes, while Chinese specialities are offered at Pearl Court restaurant. Refreshing beverages can be enjoyed at Colorful Pool Disco and the Lobby Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Starwood APAC, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Hotel Jiuzhaigou County
Jiuzhaigou County Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing