We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only Western chain in Jiuzhaigou”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort
Ranked #1 of 201 Hotels in Jiuzhaigou County
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Only Western chain in Jiuzhaigou”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Hey, if you want marble, English-speaking service, and a minibar only a 1 1/2 kilometer from the entrance to Jiuzhaigou, this is the place to stay. Staff are very helpful, food at the restaurant was good, rooms are clean. When I was there both my room and the one across the hall had climate control problems, and since most visitors eat in the riverside alley behind the hotel, the restaurant was a bit empty and depressing. The hotel has neither a teahouse nor a bar, which is kind of odd, but it does have a pageant of "traditional" Aba/Tibetan performances, if that's your thing. Breakfast is wide-ranging - very few non-Chinese guests when I was there but still plenty of western breakfast options and surprisingly good coffee.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimInNWDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonJZG, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for your precious comment and feedback.We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority. I believe that you enjoyed beautiful sceneries in Jiuzhaigou and wish you an enjoyable day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    311
    142
    44
    17
See reviews for
124
161
43
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

It is unfair to expect every staff member of a hotel in such an out of the way place to speak and understand English but it was clear during my recent stay that the management were encouraging staff to do this. There were a couple of set-backs when I was ignored in the dining room and when the lady at reception stopped, in the middle of checking me in, to help a colleague count some cash. Sometimes the hotel was just too efficient, such as clearing away my coffee before I had even tasted it while I was selecting dessert drom the buffet.

The room was clean and comfortable and at a perfect temperature but the bathroom was the smallest hotel bathroom I have seen outside of Japan.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-smoking room as these are on higher floors, smell better and are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEASIAtraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonJZG, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for choosing Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort for your recent stay. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority. I believe that you enjoyed beautiful sceneries in Jiuzhaigou and wish you an enjoyable day. We are looking forward to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Although it's Sheraton, don't expect too much luxury. The rooms are big and clean enough and the hotel is 20 minutes walking from the park entrance. It has no free wifi in the rooms which is very disappointing for a hotel of this standard. Breakfast is quite international, although don't expect to find cheese or smoked salmon (we're in Sichuan after all). The swimming pool was disappointing as the water was cold, so was the supposed jaccuzi and there were people smoking inside (really!). Don't ask them to arrange transportation from the airport as they wanted to charge 900RMB when the official rate is 300 (we paid 400 as it was Chinese New Year). And don't expect a nice view from your room (ours was facing a building). The room was hot which was a great advantage compared to other hotels I read about. Definitely worth it in winter when it's half price (not sure about it in high season).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AudeV439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonJZG, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for choosing Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort for your recent stay. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them. Our property has opened for years, for sure some decor looked not fashion or luxury comparing to city hotels. However, our property has processed renovation part by part. I believe that you enjoyed beautiful sceneries in Jiuzhaigou and wish you an enjoyable day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I booked a non smoking deluxe room on the hotel web site and I received following confirmation mail:
" CLUB ROOM & LOUNGE DELUXE NON SMOKING , HIGH FLOOR , MOUNTAIN VIEW, COMPLIMENTARY BREAKFAST, ALL DAY SNACKS, AFTERNOON APPETIZERS AND WIFI ". The hotel sent me the same confirmation mail two days before my arrival.

When I arrived at hotel:

1. The reception handed me the room key without any explanation. I asked if the room was a non smoking one and the reception girl informed me that they had to give me a smoking room because all the non smoking club rooms and lounges were closed due to ongoing “work.” Our room had been ventilated according to the reception girl. However when we reached the room, it clearly smelled of smoke. Now how could the hotel send me the confirmation mail with the same room rate two days prior to my arrival?

2. The security box in the room was out of function, so I immediately asked for help. Guest Relation Officer, Mr. Scott Wang, came up to the room and said that he did not know how long it would take for someone to come repair the security box. Mr. Wang suggested we just leave all our items in the room assuring that the hotel was safe with CCTV cameras. I asked him to call the technician right away, but he continued to suggest me to just leave everything in the room. I insisted... in the end, the technician arrived in 5 minutes and fixed the security box in 2 minutes. Now why was Mr. Wang so reluctant to call the technician (and how could he be so sure that all our things would be safe in the room)? How is it possible for a hotel staff member to tell a guest to just leave everything in the room without trying to find a solution?

At check out:

I paid for everything despite not receiving the club room and lounge benefits as booked and confirmed. I got the chance to speak with Guest Service Manager, Mr. Matthew Pan who has attentively listened to our complaints. He was genuinely sorry for all that happened and has kindly offered us free transportation to the airport. We would like to thank him for carrying his duties in such a highly professional manner.

Overall I would not recommend Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort for the poor hotel maintenance.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sushi730
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonJZG, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear guest,thank you very much for your precious comment and feedback. Our Hotel Management is very attentive about it. Our property has opened for years, for sure some decor looked not fashion or luxury comparing to city hotels. However, our property has processed renovation part by part. I believe that you enjoyed beautiful sceneries in Jiuzhaigou and wish you an enjoyable day. We are looking forward to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Basically this hotel is the only one of its class with a prime location five minutes from the park entrance so they don't have to invest a lot making the rooms spectacular. The decor in the hallways to the rooms and the room carpets and finishes seems dated and a bit dingy. I kept slippers or socks on while walking around in the room - unfortunately the slippers they provide are rather tiny. As other reviewers have noted, the rooms are spacious and the beds are good. The shower and water pressure were fine and the rooms have good blackout curtains. There's only wired Internet available so bring a WiFi like Airport if you want to connect your mobile devices. The WiFi is only in the lobby and is appallingly slow.

The buffet is decent especially if you like Asian dishes and spicy noodles which are available morning and night. They had no clue what "gluten free" meant but did arrange white rice in the morning for us on request. The Sichuan vermicelli was good too. There is a foot massage place downstairs which was our main evening activity. The kids liked the indoor pool and big game (more like arcade) room, so they were happily occupied. There is also a Karaoke place in the basement, should you be so inclined. A small room for 4-6 people runs about RMB400 when we were there (late March). I personally found China versions of "The Voice" and reality dating shows on TV to be more entertaining.

Though this is near beautiful Jiuzhaigou, there are limited hotel grounds to enjoy aside from a small courtyard. Despite the so-so rooms, I don't know of any other good options in this location. The Intercontinental is around 20+ minutes away but we did not visit that hotel.

Room Tip: If you want twins for your kids and a King for yourselves, you won't be in adjacent or nearby ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SnowjoHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonJZG, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear guest,thank you very much for your precious comment and feedback. Our Hotel Management is very attentive about it. On behalf of Hotel Management, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused. Regarding non-smoking room you have mentioned, our hotel is striving on creating a smoking-free environment for non-smoking guests. We will execute more work on seperating smoking and non-somking rooms.Our property has opened for years, for sure some decor looked not fashion or luxury comparing to city hotels. However, our property has processed renovation part by part. We are looking forward to serving you again. so we can have the opportunity to offset your unhappy experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Flash sales pricing at USD100/night via third party reseller, which represent a good value.
Stayed mid March2013.

Pros :
1. great value
2. near to park (CNY10 taxi ride away, ample taxis waiting at entrance gate)
3. nice breakfast buffet
4. great bed, but sleepless due to too much heating

Cons :
1. option for cool air via airconditioning not working. either heating or off with it. Main windows cant be opened, thus not helping.
2. quiet part of neighbourhood.
3. no wifi in room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JKTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonJZG, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for choosing Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort for your recent stay. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority. I believe that you enjoyed beautiful sceneries in Jiuzhaigou and wish you an enjoyable day. We are looking forward to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kajang
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Paid rm350(malaysian) or approx. usd120/night for two nights through a hotel booking website. Check in was ok but reception asked for about usd330 deposit, couldn't fathom why such a high amount, paid by credit card which was eventually backcharged upon check out, so was ok. Hotel/room does look jaded but was clean without any noticeable unpleasant smells. Toilet facilites good and in working conditions except for what looks to be a few cracked tiles which makes it look it bit unsightly. Breakfast spread looks sufficient for both local and foreigners, and service was reasonable. 2 bottles of water, TV, but no room internet/wifi. Wifi available downstairs near lobby area but limited to 1 hour with their computer but seems unlimited if own devices used.
Bus from Xinnamen bus station stops slightly further down from park entrance and from there its about another 15 minutes walk down the road to the hotel.(about half an hour leisurely walk from hotel to park). Next morning took taxi to park entrance, approx. 5 minutes drive costing about usd2. From hotel about 10 minutes walk to the right a few shops, including local eateries available. Taxi ride from here to airport about usd35.
Nothing much to walk about at night except if you take a cab out. Overall pleasant stay for a good rest after a hard but pleasant day's workout (worth it for all the beauty, serenity etc) at the park. Lastly, staff was very polite.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CherasLawrence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonJZG, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear guest, thank you for choosing Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort for your recent stay. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority. I believe that you enjoyed beautiful sceneries in Jiuzhaigou and wish you an enjoyable day. We are looking forward to serve you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jiuzhaigou County hotels
9.3 mi away
InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise
InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai ...
#2 of 201 in Jiuzhaigou County
1,169 reviews
4.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Tianyuan Resort Jiuzhaigou
Howard Johnson Tianyuan Resort J...
#4 of 201 in Jiuzhaigou County
68 reviews
4.4 mi away
Jiuzhaigou Tibetan Barley Inn
Jiuzhaigou Tibetan Barley Inn
#3 of 201 in Jiuzhaigou County
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo
Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo
#6 of 201 in Jiuzhaigou County
108 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Jiuzhaigou Resort
Hilton Jiuzhaigou Resort
#5 of 201 in Jiuzhaigou County
8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Banyan Tree Jiuzhaigou
Banyan Tree Jiuzhaigou
#7 of 201 in Jiuzhaigou County
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort

Property: Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort
Address: Jiuzhaigou Scenic Spot, Aba Zhou, 623402, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Jiuzhaigou County
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jiuzhaigou County
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Jiuzhaigou County
#3 Best Value Hotel in Jiuzhaigou County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 482
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get the celebrity treatment with world-class service at Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort One of our bestsellers in Jiuzhaigou! The 5-star Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort is located only 1.5 km from Jiuzhaigou Valley National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage site. It boasts 5 dining options, a variety of leisure facilities and rooms with natural spring water. The elegant rooms come with stylish modern interiors, soothing coloured tones and large bay windows that overlook the mountain. Each has a sofa seating area, flat-screen TV and private bathroom with a bathtub. Guests can indulge in a body massage at the spa, or relax in the hot spring bath. Taking a dip in the indoor pool or exercising at the gym are also good recreational choices. Mirror Lake and Colored Lake cafes serve a variety of international dishes, while Chinese specialities are offered at Pearl Court restaurant. Refreshing beverages can be enjoyed at Colorful Pool Disco and the Lobby Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Starwood APAC, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Hotel Jiuzhaigou County
Jiuzhaigou County Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing