We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably better than other hotels there, but HORRIBLE service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort
Ranked #2 of 187 Hotels in Jiuzhaigou County
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
95 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
“Probably better than other hotels there, but HORRIBLE service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

My brother and I stayed 3 nights at the Jiuzhaigou Sherton from 9/30-10/02. Considering how rustic the area is despite 3 million + visitors per year... most of the places look like crap there... This is likely because 90%+ of the visitors to the area are still Chinese so the standards have not yet gone up. This hotel itself is VERY Chinese... the staff speaks barely any English at all, the food offerings are VERY Chinese... and there is basically nothing to do in the area except hike Jiuzhaigou valley which you can complete in one full day from 7am - 5pm easily.

For details...

BOOKING ENQUIRY
The hotel staff I spoke on the phone were excellent and extremely helpful in telling me about local transportation and how much time I would likely need and what costs, etc so I could plan our trip. But this could be I justgot lucky with one guy... Of course I had to speak to him in Chinese to get the information because the English ability of all staff at the hotel is VERY poor.

PRICE for VALUE
Horrible. 9100 RMB for 3 nights... That's $1,433 USD... = $478 per night. At that price it better be the best hotel ever... and it certainly was not.

ROOM
OK... a little old. I heard the hotel was built in the late 1990s... I doubt anytthing has been upgraded. No WiFi in the room... only in the lobby. There is a cable ethernet cord so they can charge you extra for internet use in the room. Again... for these prices this should be included. The room was small, not overly clean, but usable... It's what I would expect from a 3 star hotel.

FOOD
Very expensive and only 2 options... a Chinese restaurant with outrageous prices or a Chinese buffet with a few badly made Western options in it. Also expensive. The local area food outside which is about a 4km walk away are dirty hole in the wall places (which I am fine with) but the prices are higher than western food in Shanghai... so everything here in Jiuzhaigou is VERY hjighly priced to gouge tourists... even if you are fluent in Chinese.

SERVICE
Worst ever. No one speaks any English. Even in Chinese, they have no idea what they are doing. No matter what I asked for it was like pulling teeth... the simplest inquiries were met with confusion... ordering room service was a huge challenge... asking about hiking in Jiuzhaigou was almost impossible... and trying to get info about anything else to do in the area was a waste of time. The room had a book saying that Woolong Panda reserve was an option... but after an hour discussion, they said it was a 12 hour drive away... not exactly local... Then I did research on the web and found they have no pandas there anyway after the 2008 earthquake. The staff told me then that there is absolutely nothing to do in the area except hike Jiuzhaigou... but when we wasted a day walking around the town, at the end of our last day we saw a sign for the Golden Snub-nosed Monkey ecological reserve which is only 30 km away... so we could have done that... but no info on it from the hotel... The worst part of the service was that we asked the hotel to book a taxi for 5:30am the day we had to leave... they told us it was a 90 minute drive to the airport. They also told us to be in the lobby at 5:20am to check out and it would only take 5 minutes. We were at the lobby at 5:15am, with no one else there, it took 3 front desk staff 15 minutes to do a simple check out. At 5:30am, we went outside where the taxi driver yelled at us for being late. He said the hotel told him 5:20am and he was angry. We said we were sorry but we asked for 5:30am taxi and could we go to the airport now. He refused and drove off because he said we lied to him.... We ran back into the hotel to tell themm... they said they didn't know any other taxi drivers!!! They called a few... and said one would come in 8 minutes... But it took 30 miunutes to arrive and he had no gas. So he had to take us to another taxi driver... we didn't start out for the airport until 6:10... and our flight was at 8:20 am... with traffic we arrive at the airport at 7:55am... so the hotel telling us 90 minutes was bad anyway, plus they lied to the taxi driver, had no way to replace him, and did nothing to help us... we had to run through the airport and they literally closed the plane door as I walked in. A horrid experience all because the hotel has such poor service.

Additionally, when we were trying to go to sleep earlier the night before so we could wake up at 4:30am... the hotel kept calling our room over and over again despite me telling them not to. They called 3 times from 10pm to 11:30pm until we finally took the cord out of the phone. Horrid!

Overall... Jiuzhaigou is NOT worth the long trip, high prices you have to pay, and crowds of chinese you have to fight to see it. Yes, it is pretty - no doubt... so if you had to be in Chengdu for business and you had a weekend... maybe take a trip there and stay 1 night... OK... but really don't go out of your way... and I hope to God that Sheraton does some quality control and training for their horrid staff in Jiuzhaigou, as well as reduce the ridiculous prices they charge...

Room Tip: Dont stay here unless you want to waste your money
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blandmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonJZG, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for your comment to us. For the problems you have mentioned in the review, I will deliver them to relevant department. Again, thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    305
    137
    43
    16
See reviews for
119
151
37
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

At check-in, I was told there is no wifi in our room. It is the minimum standard for any international hotel - I think it is unacceptable of a great name like Sheraton. We reserved a deluxe, high floor, mountain view at 2090RMB per night, not inclusive of 15% tax. We got a mid-floor room, with our windows facing other room windows. The room looks aged. The shower was extremely disappointing - the temperature of the water fluctuates as you are taking the shower!!! - unacceptable. There was a note saying that they may be black out due to change of electricity grid. Why is it not reflected in the reservation website????? - unacceptable. Food was average. Not recommended.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gooofygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonJZG, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for your comment. For the suggestions you have made, we will deliver to relevant department. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The only well, it's very near the entrance park, but the price for a taxi is is weak; I choose with view on the mountains and I see another building and I must twist my neck and bend forward up !for the restaurant, for exemple, don't eat the cheeses, stale and only good for the mouses.So to speak try another. Don't believe the photo with many chinese women waiting you

Room Tip: I don't know Think to see an another fabulous Site : Huanglong scenic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Xiake41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonJZG, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for your time and comments for our resort! We will continously improving our services. Expecting to see you again in Sheraton Jiuzhaigou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
1,140 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,380 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is one of two 5-star hotels in Jiuzhaigou, so we decided to stay there. The rooms were well sized and well furnished but a little dusty. The safe is a little complicated to figure out, especially when they leave the instructions inside when it is locked! Location wise, it is close to dining options as well as the entrance to the Jiuzhaigou national park. Though not the usual high standards that you expect from Sheraton hotels (even the tour guide warned us of this), the staff were friendly throughout our stay, though there were a couple of occasions when housekeeping knocked on our door to turnover the room even when it had already been done earlier. The breakfast buffet was nothing much to write about, though they can prepare a travel box if you are leaving early to catch a flight. There is free wifi available in the lobby.

Room Tip: We were given a Club floor room, though there was not much differentiation from the normal room, fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank orator11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonJZG, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for your time and comment! Expecting to see you in Jiuzhaigou Resort again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

The hotel is less than 2 km for the 9 villages valley national park and is one of the higher standard hotels in the area. The hotel is quite large and also close to markets and restaurants. The area the hotel is located is quite stunning.

All the staff were helpful particularly the English speaking ones. The most helpful was Kyle who did quite a bit of organising for us which went very well.

Room Tip: There is an independent shuttle (small white and black coaster bus) pick up from the airport which c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonJZG, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for your time and review! Expecting to serve your again in our resort hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

First impression was very good. Friendly staff, greeting continuously. English communication was good, appreciated everyones efforts. The exterior facility was impressive, well kept. The contruction at the front entrance could have been barricaded, walked through a cloud of cement. The interior was very inviting, clean, decorations were very good, hallways were brightly lit, carpets were spotted but, clean. The restaurant was ok, variety was good, food quality was good. Our room was a deluxe priced option but at a standard room level. It did not meet our expectation.The bed was very hard. Both my wife and I had lower back pain after trying to sleep through the night. We called management in the morning, they added another cushion to the top of the bed. The cushion was a big improvement. The bathroom had black mold on the tub and floor and smelled like a sewer. There is only one light over the sink, very difficult to do anything using the mirror. The room would have been ok at half the cost we paid. The Star Cafe that is located just outside the hotel was a nice surprise, Pizza and Burrito. Overall, next time I'll try the Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: Rooms away road. Unable to open windows do to honking horns.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichiganExpat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonJZG, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear guest, thank you for your comment! Hotel will make efforts to improve both facilities and services. Thank you for your stay with us! Expect to see you again in Jiuzhaigou!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

well, i was told this is the best hotel in the JiuZhaiGou area and decided to spend 4 nights there. no question about the location of the hotel, it is very close to the entrance of the park, just 3 mins of taxi ride. the hotel has too many trainees and the standard varies greatly depending on who you run into. We dined at the restaurant every day for breakfast and dinner - very impressed with the chinese restaurant's quality of food and the spread of buffet dinner but not for breakfast. the room is spacious as usual for this class of hotel but the pillow could be better, it was too hard or too thin. one more thing - though i was put on a non0smoking floor, we could feel the smog almost every night. afterall, i think this hotel just lived up to our expectation - being so far away, it is indeed good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chongkc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonJZG, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Thank you for your stay with us! I will pose your nice suggestions to department in charge, and hotel will make effort to improve the facilities and services. Again, thank you for your stay with Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jiuzhaigou County hotels
9.3 mi away
InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise
InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai ...
#1 of 187 in Jiuzhaigou County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
4.4 mi away
Jiuzhaigou Tibetan Barley Inn
Jiuzhaigou Tibetan Barley Inn
#3 of 187 in Jiuzhaigou County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
4.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Tianyuan Resort Jiuzhaigou
Howard Johnson Tianyuan Resort J...
#4 of 187 in Jiuzhaigou County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo
Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo
#5 of 187 in Jiuzhaigou County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 104 reviews
0.3 mi away
Qian He International Hotel
Qian He International Hotel
#13 of 187 in Jiuzhaigou County
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
17.8 mi away
Jiuzhai Wanjiahao Hotel
Jiuzhai Wanjiahao Hotel
#23 of 187 in Jiuzhaigou County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort

Property: Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort
Address: Jiuzhaigou Scenic Spot, Aba Zhou, 623402, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Jiuzhaigou County
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Jiuzhaigou County
#2 Luxury Hotel in Jiuzhaigou County
#3 Best Value Hotel in Jiuzhaigou County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 482
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get the celebrity treatment with world-class service at Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort One of our bestsellers in Jiuzhaigou! The 5-star Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort is located only 1.5 km from Jiuzhaigou Valley National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage site. It boasts 5 dining options, a variety of leisure facilities and rooms with natural spring water. The elegant rooms come with stylish modern interiors, soothing coloured tones and large bay windows that overlook the mountain. Each has a sofa seating area, flat-screen TV and private bathroom with a bathtub. Guests can indulge in a body massage at the spa, or relax in the hot spring bath. Taking a dip in the indoor pool or exercising at the gym are also good recreational choices. Mirror Lake and Colored Lake cafes serve a variety of international dishes, while Chinese specialities are offered at Pearl Court restaurant. Refreshing beverages can be enjoyed at Colorful Pool Disco and the Lobby Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Hotel Jiuzhaigou County
Jiuzhaigou County Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing