We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean and quiet hotel near to gate”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort
Ranked #2 of 211 Hotels in Jiuzhaigou County
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We stayed two days at the West Annex of Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Level 5. The Hotel is located about a 5 minutes ride from the Jiuzhaigou (JZG) gate at an altitude of 1800 meters comprised of three blocks:

(i) Main Building with the restaurants, pool disco & swimming pool, massage, sauna & spa services, KTV and a business center with SPG gaming(!?) which you will need to get the network password from the staff and free Wifi at the Lobby (note: you can access tripadvisor via your TA account but not via facebook as fb is blocked in China). We were pleasantly surprised that the dinner buffet in the restaurant is not as bad as read on TA reviews. The food was not fabulous and the breakfast falls short of the Sheraton standard. but compared to the fare we tried in restaurants around and in the canteen inside JZG, it is definitely better and much cleaner;
(ii) the Grand Theatre where the Qiang & Tibetan Performance are held in the evenings. If you are staying in the vicinity for more than one day, this is one way to spend your evening as there aren't many options for night activities available around the area. Do book in advance as the seats fill up quickly with reservations from tour groups/guests staying in other hotels;
(iii) The West Annex where we stayed is a separate building. It has free Wifi at its lobby and houses a souvenir shop and guestrooms. Unconnected to the Main Building, it is a 2-3 minutes walk away. We liked the annex as it looks newer, cleaner, quieter and less confusing compared to the bustling Main Building. The downside of the annex is that it is far from the hotel facilities and crossing to the Main building to dine can be a hassle when it rains. Do take note of this when you request for rooms.

If you have too much time on your hands at night, do not want to partake on the hotel's facilities and want to experience more authentic local flavours, you can visit the row of brightly lit shophouses at the bustling adjacent hotels (exit Sheraton hotel gate and turn left towards JZG gate direction, after the gravel parking compound). There are provision shops, shops selling combs and scarfs, a mini mart and open air hawker stalls selling BBQ and such which are set up only in the evening.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zutzut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonJZG, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear guest,thank you very much for your precious comment and feedback. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority. I believe that you enjoyed beautiful sceneries in Jiuzhaigou and wish you an enjoyable day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (669)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

237 - 243 of 669 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2011

The hotel was booked through Travelzen (HK$1580 per room per night with 2 breakfasts and 2 evening meals) as they were the only site that had availability at the time of our booking (one month prior to arrival). Travelzen also permitted cancellation without penalty which Ctrip did not offer. Our main consideration in booking the Sheraton was proximity to the JZG park entrance and altitude. The other main option was the Intercontinental which is approximately 30 minutes drive from the park and at a much higher altitude.

We had booked two twin rooms for 3 nights but on arrival realized that we could all fit in one twin room (2 adults and 2 children) so we managed to cancel the second room for nights 2 and 3 (very good service from Travelzen through skype).

The rooms were fine, a little old but the beds were comfortable and the room was clean. Food at the Sheraton was good but language was always a problem. There were a few frontline staff who spoke good English - the staff did make a great deal of effort to help though. In the evening we saw the show at the Sheraton Theatre (150RMB). The costumes were colourful but it was a typical Chinese variety show with the host introducing each act, some miming, some singing. I wouldn’t recommend it to other people.

Buffet breakfast at the Sheraton was adequate with the usual western choices, egg station, noodle station, etc. The buffet food could have been a bit warmer though.
The kids enjoyed the swimming pool and the amusement arcade which are both in the basement of the hotel. I managed to get free wifi for most of our visit (I don’t think it was the hotel server).

The best thing about the Sheraton is the location, less than a 5 minute taxi ride from the park (6 to 10RMB depending on whether the driver uses the meter). We later booked an extra night direct with the hotel (rather than with Travelzen) as it included breakfast (1450RMB per night booked on the day of stay extension).

So, you won't get the usual five star service but you will get staff who are eager to help. If I was going to JZG again, I would stay here as the location is unbeatable (for a western brand hotel).

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HKDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonJZG, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear guest,thank you very much for your precious comment and feedback. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority. I believe that you enjoyed beautiful sceneries in Jiuzhaigou and wish you an enjoyable day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2011

The hotel is a bit old, and more like a 4 star hotel. Staffs are helpful but rooms are old and the shower is not good due to the low water pressure. The breakfast buffet is OK., however, the dinner buffet is over charged and well below a Sheraton standard. The Chinese restaurant is of the price of a Sheraton hotel, but not of a Sheraton standard. However, I would still recommend you this hotel when you visit this area, as this is already the best hotel and best restaurant in around the Jiuzhai Valley Park, and is less than 2km away from the Park entrance.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terence C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonJZG, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear guest,thank you very much for your precious comment and feedback. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority. I believe that you enjoyed beautiful sceneries in Jiuzhaigou and wish you an enjoyable day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Sheraton. The room was excellent, very very comfortable. The bathroom was also very nice (hot water 24 hrs a day - thank goodness!). Service was good for the most part. Breakfast was very average for a hotel of this standard; the buffet dinner is not bad but you have to pay for that. The massage at the hotel is a rip off, it, the masseuse scammed us into paying more (long story) and the massage wasn't good anyway. So I can recommend staying at the hotel but I cannot recommend the use of the SPA / massage facilities as I think the massage staff can't be trusted.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 555_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonJZG, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear guest,thank you very much for your precious comment and feedback.We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority. I believe that you enjoyed beautiful sceneries in Jiuzhaigou and wish you an enjoyable day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed at the Jiuzhaigou Sheraton for 2 nights and really enjoyed the typical 4-star hotel amenities and service. The service and facility are pretty standard for a 4-star hotel so that is good news for a picky traveler like myself. If you travel a lot in China, you will realize that the Chinese "5-star" hotel standards is equivalent to that of 3-star in the International hotel standards. The pool was heated to a comfortable temperature and the gym was adequate. The only thing I did not like was the smoke smell in the entertainment room (room is supposed to be smoke free). But then again, people smoke anywhere and everywhere in China regardless of whether smoking is allowed. But I would expect the hotel to enforce the no smoking policy especially in places where children congregate.

We walked by a number of hotels in the area and were not impressed with what we saw. Most of those other hotels seemed old and in serious need of renovations. So I have concluded that the Sheraton may be the best option in the immediate area. We drove by the Inter Continental on our way into Jiuzhaigou but that hotel seemed to far from everything.

The walk to the park entrance from the hotel is short and convenient. I like the convenience of the 5-10 minute walk to the night market and food vendors in the area. The area feels very safe even though some area are not well lit. We ate at a few of the food stands and the food is fresh and acceptable. We will definitely stay here again on the next time we travel to Jiuzhaigou

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HipHipHop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonJZG, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear guest, thank you very much for your precious comment and feedback. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority. I believe that you enjoyed beautiful sceneries in Jiuzhaigou and wish you an enjoyable day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Family of 5 booked 2 rooms at the sheraton.
service is very friendly and the hotel is a 20 minute walk to the park entrance.The 5 of us opted for a quick 5 minute taxi ride to the park for 10 yuan instead.
This is not the closest hotel to the park as there are several other chinese hotels that are a little closer than the sheraton.
Rooms here are clean and are very comfortable but overall below the general standard of the Sheraton brand but probably very good for the given area.
Forget the pool in the basement of the hotel--it is very small and very very cold.Our kids really wanted to swim in it but was just too cold.
The dinner buffet is very bad-avoid it at all costs.The room service menu was much better in both taste and value.The breakfast buffet was better and we ate there twice since this was included in our room rate.
Front desk english was fair but we had the usual problems as when we asked for an extra blanket we got extra towels and when we requested a roll away bed for our 10 year old we received a baby crib!
There are a number of small stores next door to the hotel which is good and the night market is about a 10 minute walk.
The tibetan night show was a disappointment for most of our group but the kids seems to like it as there was one dancer who was very good and energetic and seemed to carry the show.
tip--get seating towards the middle or you will go deaf sitting near the speakers.we were sitting in the second row and I has to plug my ears with my fingers as it was so loud.
we would say here again as hotel options are limited and this is probably the best choice for a family and the proximity to the park is excellent.
the holiday inn and the intercontinental are VERY far from the park as we saw both of these driving in.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank desslock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonJZG, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear guest,thank you very much for your precious comment and feedback. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests’ satisfaction is our main priority. I believe that you enjoyed beautiful sceneries in Jiuzhaigou and wish you an enjoyable day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

this hotel needs renovation obviously
no spa, but an old swimming pool in the basement! (so no view on the surrounding mountains)
service ok when dealing with management at reception, otherwise medium neutral service

poor breakfast buffet, even to chinese taste and standards

very bad experience at check-in (twice we asked clearly for a double room and non smoking oom... we had to do several trips back to reception to finally get what we ordered).

we were on a wedding anniversary trip, that we mentionned at reception at check-in, but we got no feedback, no particular letter or gesture at all.... a flower will have been ok :)

this hotel is a boring style, no elegancy, no charm

but it is not far the entrance of the park (good point)

free good internet access if SPG member

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank camok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonJZG, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear guest,thank you very much for your precious comment and feedback. For service quality feedback from you, more training on improving staffs' working and language skills will be provided by hotel management team. We are looking forward to serving you again. so we can have the opportunity to offset your unhappy experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jiuzhaigou County hotels
9.3 mi away
InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise
InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai ...
#3 of 211 in Jiuzhaigou County
1,177 reviews
4.6 mi away
Howard Johnson Tianyuan Resort Jiuzhaigou
Howard Johnson Tianyuan Resort J...
#4 of 211 in Jiuzhaigou County
70 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hilton Jiuzhaigou Resort
Hilton Jiuzhaigou Resort
#6 of 211 in Jiuzhaigou County
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Jiuzhaigou Tibetan Barley Inn
Jiuzhaigou Tibetan Barley Inn
#1 of 211 in Jiuzhaigou County
37 reviews
11.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo
Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo
#5 of 211 in Jiuzhaigou County
109 reviews
0.0 mi away
Banyan Tree Jiuzhaigou
Banyan Tree Jiuzhaigou
#7 of 211 in Jiuzhaigou County
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort

Address: Jiuzhaigou Scenic Spot, Aba Zhou, 623402, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Jiuzhaigou County
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Jiuzhaigou County
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Jiuzhaigou County
#4 Best Value Hotel in Jiuzhaigou County
Price Range: $187 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 482
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Get the celebrity treatment with world-class service at Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort One of our bestsellers in Jiuzhaigou! The 5-star Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort is located only 1.5 km from Jiuzhaigou Valley National Park, a UNESCO World Heritage site. It boasts 5 dining options, a variety of leisure facilities and rooms with natural spring water. The elegant rooms come with stylish modern interiors, soothing coloured tones and large bay windows that overlook the mountain. Each has a sofa seating area, flat-screen TV and private bathroom with a bathtub. Guests can indulge in a body massage at the spa, or relax in the hot spring bath. Taking a dip in the indoor pool or exercising at the gym are also good recreational choices. Mirror Lake and Colored Lake cafes serve a variety of international dishes, while Chinese specialities are offered at Pearl Court restaurant. Refreshing beverages can be enjoyed at Colorful Pool Disco and the Lobby Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Hotel Jiuzhaigou County
Jiuzhaigou County Sheraton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing