We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near to the park, nice staff but dirty rooms”

Zhuoma Youth Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Zhuoma Youth Hostel
Bern, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Near to the park, nice staff but dirty rooms”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We chose this hostel without high expectations : the price was ok, 800m from the park entrance and the reviews were something better than in other hotels.
Well, the service was ok and the staff kind (not english speaking though), the rooms and bed are standard (even if the deco is really cheap) but the bathroom was really awful : it stinks really bad even when the door (quite broken) is closed, the sink loses water so that the room is always wet and you have to ask for toilet paper at the reception. More than that, the floor was dirty of chips and bread when we came in ( they cleaned on our demand)... In short, if you don't want to ruin your visit to the beautiful park, You can probably find a better accomodations for the same price!
On the opposite, the restaurant of the hostel is really good and cheap so, if you can, sleep elsewhere and go to Zhuoma just for dinner!

Room Tip: perhaps with a room at the second floor we would have had less problems about stinking toilets and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steo_to
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    7
    4
    1
See reviews for
2
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Zhuo Ma seems to be one of the big entrepreneurs in the valley and Jiuzhaigou Kou. They now run a big and expanding hostel with a number of brand new rooms (as of July 2012). They also run a unique Tibetan restaurant down the main road and offer a range of services to travellers such as arranging chauffeurs, accommodation inside the national park of Jiuzhaigou (even though this is not officially possible).

We moved to Zhou Ma’s hostel out of desperation after having spent a bad night at the neighbouring Migu hostel. Zhou Ma is marginally more expensive but much more professional than Migu and the place seemed much more tidy and clean.

For travellers going in 2012 it should be noted that the buildings at Zhou Ma are new and still undergoing construction. We felt this as a worker found his way to our floor at 10 pm and started hammering off cement from the wall to make room for at power outlet (or something like that…). This seemed completely absurd and the worker showed no understanding when I asked him to stop. But he stopped 30 minutes later after my second complaint (I had to get up at 5.30 am next morning so I think this was reasonable). It should also be noted that there is a new construction yard behind the hotel where construction was just taking of – looked like preparations for an entirely new building. In China this means construction from early morning to late evening (if not 24/7/365). It will likely be finished by 2013 but just take this into consideration when booking.

Unlike the neighbouring hostel (Migu) Zhou Ma delivered on the promise of hot water in the room which was really a must for us after a long hike in the national park and the climate of Jiuzhaigou being quite chilly at times.

I would not have been satisfied with the room that I got if I had been there for more than one night. But we got it really cheap and this was our choice. We could have chosen more expensive rooms and they may be more comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHREF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We had stayed in their quad sharing room from 20 to 23 Jun 2012. It was a clean, spacious and cooling room with high ceiling. It was cooling when it was warm & sunny outdoor while it was not freezing cold at night.

They provide free land transfer from the bus terminal (upon arrival) & to Jiuzhaigou entrance. All the staff are very friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Puzzled75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jiuzhaigou County hotels
3.2 mi away
Jiuzhaigou Tibetan Barley Inn
Jiuzhaigou Tibetan Barley Inn
#3 of 201 in Jiuzhaigou County
34 reviews
7.7 mi away
InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise
InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai ...
#2 of 201 in Jiuzhaigou County
1,169 reviews
9.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo
Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo
#6 of 201 in Jiuzhaigou County
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Zangwang Holiday Hotel
Zangwang Holiday Hotel
#27 of 201 in Jiuzhaigou County
4 reviews
1.9 mi away
Qian He International Hotel
Qian He International Hotel
#10 of 201 in Jiuzhaigou County
97 reviews
3.4 mi away
Howard Johnson Tianyuan Resort Jiuzhaigou
Howard Johnson Tianyuan Resort J...
#4 of 201 in Jiuzhaigou County
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zhuoma Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zhuoma Youth Hostel

Property: Zhuoma Youth Hostel
Address: Pengfeng Village, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Jiuzhaigou County
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 Specialty Lodging in Jiuzhaigou County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Zhuoma Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing