We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great stay with friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Migu International Youth Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Migu International Youth Hotel
Penang Island, Malaysia
2 reviews
“Great stay with friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Me and my gf visited Jiuzhaigou and stayed at MiGU International Youth Hotel on September, the guy was really helpful and friendly. The honeymoon double room is just fine, the double room on the 1st floor was way better. We had a great stay at Migu.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HuiLingOoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    14
    6
    3
    11
See reviews for
2
10
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

This place is so bad its not even funny, well maybe a little funny once you get home and describe it to your friends.
I stayed in the dorms,BIG MISTAKE.....The bunk beds felt like they were going to collapse when you climbed into them and were propped up by some bricks, the mattress was basically a plank of wood...i woke up soooo achy in the morning. the ceiling was crumbling and i had an exposed plug socket hanging over my head by a wire as i slept. They had a cat in the hallway that meowed all night long.
It also took about 45mins to explain to the staff that we had a booking.
only good thing is its close to national park.
do yourself a favour AVOID this place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoddersGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jiuzhaigou County hotels

yoqneam
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The dorm room was filthy under the bed and crowded and because it's in the basement- freezing!
Also we booked one night and when we came there we wanted to stay another night but they told us they're full, and when we looked online for a hostel we saw they still had a few places available! and after a lot of pressure they agreed to let us stay one more night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeeHeeDr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

It was filthy dirty, the guy behind reception was so unhelpful and quite rude. The power went out for hours on end. As it is a building site you have to walk over rubble and its pretty hard to see in the dark when there is no light outside, nearly fell several times. I would stay anywhere else than have to stay here again..... so terrible!

Room Tip: Dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RyChels d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We booked online 2 months before our arrival. On checking, we were offered 2 rooms in the roof. The floor in a room is nude. The wall is dirty. No light in one bathroom. No water sometime. We have to pay if we use AC. The manager ignored our request to put the light or to change to another room. We saw that the price we paid for two rooms is higher than their rate listed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thanha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This place definitely didn’t meet our expectations! Although one staff is somewhat English speaking, well-meaning and friendly this be warned: this place is not very comfortable.
We got a room reeking of mould and with visible wet fungus on the floor in front of the bath room.
Worse of all was that the hot water (which the hotel advertises to offer 24 hours) was not working. When confronted the staff acted as if it was a big surprise and promised it would come back soon. Next day we asked to be moved to another room – mainly due to the mould smell but also to get a room with hot water. The new room was a bit nicer but with a more expensive price tag. But we got it at the same price as the mouldy room. But still no hot water. When pressed the staff ended up admitting that it was not really working.

Furthermore it should be added that the reception offers very few services even though they advertise these online on hostelworld, etc.

We stayed in summer 2012 and things may change over time. There is a big construction work going on behind this hostel and the neighbouring hostel (“Zhou Ma”) and work is going on from early morning to late evening with heavy machinery drilling, digging and hammering. It looked like it was just that start of a bigger construction to erect a new building or the like. So it may be some time with noice. For us this was a smaller problem since we where out the door to explore the National park from early morning.

One good thing to say about the hostel though is that they were helpful in arranging overnight stay inside Jiuzhaigou park – something that is normally of limits. Zhou Ma’s place also offers this service though.

Jiuzhaigou Kou (as the town is called) is a very uncharming piece of land with noicy traffic and I know from talking to other western tourists that you shouldn't expect too much of most hostels in this town. They cater for tourist staying a night or two never to revisit. But of the many excellent hostels i have stayed at in China this was really the worse. We ended up moving the last night to neighbouring Zhou Ma, which was much friendlier, cleaner and more professional.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CHREF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzhou, China
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Not recommended, stay somewhere else! We booked online, on checking in were offered a room crammed in the roof space up 3 or 4 flights of steep metal stairs, tiny window, dingy, had to insist on a better room which we eventually got on the ground floor, although the bigger window looked onto a screen, a pile of rubbish and a building site! Service was awful, the rooms were not cleaned as a matter of routine, you had to request it, and ask for clean towels etc. The carpets and furniture were dirty, sheets and bedding were clean but grotty quality. Extra charge (40 rmb per night) if you use the air conditioning or heating. No remote control for tv. Bathroom flooded when shower was used - that was not often as there was no hot water. Got given some story about solar power used to heat water so only available 6pm to 6 am, but after several people complained it was miraculously turned on outside of those times. Guy in charge pretty indifferent to complaints, not helpful, but there was a young student there working over the summer, he was lovely and very helpful to us and probably helped get the no hot water policy changed, so thank you to him, otherwise pretty awful all round and not what you need after a long day's walking in the park. Thing is, there are lots of tourists, most staying only a night or two and then moving on, so maybe this hostel did not feel the need to give a good service or value for money- guess they will always have customers due to the location and high number of tourists. I would not go back there again. Plenty of other hostels available, so my advice would be to book with one of those instead.

Room Tip: no tips apart from - stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pichis83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jiuzhaigou County hotels
3.2 mi away
Jiuzhaigou Tibetan Barley Inn
Jiuzhaigou Tibetan Barley Inn
#5 of 171 in Jiuzhaigou County
5.0 of 5 stars 8 reviews
9.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo
Holiday Inn Jiuzhai Jarpo
#3 of 171 in Jiuzhaigou County
4.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
1.9 mi away
Qian He International Hotel
Qian He International Hotel
#11 of 171 in Jiuzhaigou County
3.5 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise
InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai ...
#1 of 171 in Jiuzhaigou County
4.0 of 5 stars 1,127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Zangwang Holiday Hotel
Zangwang Holiday Hotel
#16 of 171 in Jiuzhaigou County
4.0 of 5 stars 4 reviews
24.7 mi away
Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort
Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort
#2 of 171 in Jiuzhaigou County
4.0 of 5 stars 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Migu International Youth Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Migu International Youth Hotel

Property: Migu International Youth Hotel
Address: Huajiaodi, Pengfeng Village, Zhangzha Town, Jiuzhaigou County 632400, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Jiuzhaigou County
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 Specialty Lodging in Jiuzhaigou County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The most beautiful hostel in Jiuzhaigou of China. Our hostel is designed as a Tibetan traditional house. From our hostel to the park entrance only 10 minutes by walk. The hostel holds 15 standard rooms and over twenty-four bunk beds. All the room equipped with 24-hour hot water supply, free internet access, etc. Onsite facilities include a full service restaurant, bar, laundry, etc. All staff members speak moderate English, and are familiar with tourism points of interest and travel information. The hostel is also pleased to help guests with making travel arrangements and reservations. The hotel is one of the best choice of tour visiting guest and backpacker. All room rates include service charge. All room rates are subject to change during the peak season. Any applicable surcharge will be confirmed at time of booking. Check-out time: 12:00 at noon. The hotel will only keep room till 18:00. Late arrival after 18:00 must be guaranteed by credit card. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Migu International Youth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing