We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don’t put high expectation especially food and bed in this areas”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jiuzhaigou County
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
New Jiuzhaigou Hotel
Ranked #56 of 187 Hotels in Jiuzhaigou County
Kajang
Level Contributor
29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don’t put high expectation especially food and bed in this areas”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

The room is pretty ok. The receptionist can’t speak English unless you speak mandarin they will friendly to help you. The breakfast is horrible with a long queue and even some of the local people jump queue. The food is local cuisine not really tasty and quite oily. The food not suitable for my liking. The table is full and no more empty table for us to eat breakfast. Even dinner, the food also not that tasty but they serve meat, fish and vegetables. The serve us a lot of vegetables rather than meat since I’m follow the tour. Don’t put high expectation especially food and bed in this areas. The lobby look grand and wifi is available in the lobby. I did try to use wifi in the room and it can connect but keep on disconnect. No heaters in the room even I stay during the winter. Outside temperatures -7 yet no heater in the room. Bed is hard and the pillow is very light yet thin. At least we able to have a good sleep and hot shower at night. Hotel surrounded with the mountain and you can enjoy the view. Beside the hotel, there is theatre performing a Tibetan cultural show. There is a mart in the hotel, selling souvenirs and winter clothing.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crystalfairel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
5
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

This hotel is a fantastic place to stay it was a taxi ride to get any where to see any thing of interested. The reason for our stay here was to visit the Crystal lakes of Jiuzhaigou .
Which was well worth the visit apart from the park begin very very busy and people pushing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Came in December during winter season.
Checked-in quite late at night. The lobby was very cold (colder than outside). There were some heaters, but not enough. You needed a good thermal jacket in this lobby.
Didn't feel like staying in 5 stars hotel, more like staying in 3 stars hotel or even a motel. However, their room was reasonably clean with clean white linen and towels. Their toiletries were basic.
The heater in the room was better than at the lobby. It worked. Yet, the bed also had its own heater. So we could slept comfortably.
The breakfast was a buffet style, quite oily, almost no western food (except for eggs, yet you need to speak chinese to order. The chef did not understand any english).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GNW325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Jiuzhaigou County hotels

Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

Low buildings- huge property -
modern styled rooms of average size-
breakfast below average for hotels of this price
staff not well trained and not willing

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andonget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

Let me begin by saying that when you come to JiuZhaiGou you must adjust your expectations overall. Everything is more expensive that you thought it would be and more expensive than it should be and consequently you don't feel you are get what you are paying for and it is true. You aren't crazy. You are being overcharged by the Jiuzhaigou attraction, by the nasty hotels, by the horrible restaurants and the unimaginative giftshops. I lived in the Sichuan province for 9 years and I have a general sense of what to expect in terms of service, cleanliness and cost. That said, the New Jiuzhaigou Hotel is pretty good in that it is very clean, very nice rooms, and friendly helpful staff (if you speak Chinese). But if you don't speak Chinese and you are not part of a tour you should be a very resourceful traveler or have iPhone with an unlimited data plan so you can use a translator. The restaurant is not any worse than other restaurants in the area. My wife and I tried the $30US buffet at the Sheraton and it was an oily, hardened mess. The New Jiuzhaigou doesn't offer western food and the chinese food was surprisingly bad. We ordered two common dishes typical of the Sichuan province and we couldn't even eat more than a couple of spoonfuls. We are seasoned China travelers having staying in 2 and 3 star hotels but this was seriously awful. So bottom line, the hotel has nice, clean rooms and friendly service if you can speak the language.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying extra for a room with a view. The view is not good as the area is filled wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sichuanbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

This hotel is very nice and comfortable for sleeping. It is very clean and nice environment. The problem with this hotel is that there is no shoplot or restaurant surrounding it, so you need to ride a taxi if you want to eat supper or go to minimart or pay double money to eat at the hotel restaurant . Taxi to nearby restaurant is very cheap cause is near.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goldenmouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jiuzhaigou County
0.0 mi away
Maoxian International Hotel
Maoxian International Hotel
#1 of 30 in Mao County
3.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Tianyuan Resort Jiuzhaigou
Howard Johnson Tianyuan Resort J...
#4 of 187 in Jiuzhaigou County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.0 mi away
InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai Paradise
InterContinental Resort Jiuzhai ...
#1 of 187 in Jiuzhaigou County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
New Jiu Zhai Hotel
New Jiu Zhai Hotel
#7 of 187 in Jiuzhaigou County
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort
Sheraton Jiuzhaigou Resort
#2 of 187 in Jiuzhaigou County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jiuzhaigou Tibetan Barley Inn
Jiuzhaigou Tibetan Barley Inn
#3 of 187 in Jiuzhaigou County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Jiuzhaigou Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Jiuzhaigou Hotel

Property: New Jiuzhaigou Hotel
Address: Jiuzahigou Scenic Spot, China
Location: China > Sichuan > Jiuzhaigou County
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 187 Hotels in Jiuzhaigou County
Number of rooms: 112

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing