We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“6660 steps to heaven”
Review of Mount Tai

Mount Tai
Book In Advance
More Info
$396.00*
and up
Private Tour: 2-Night Shandong by Bullet Train from Shanghai Including Temple...
Ranked #1 of 84 things to do in Tai'an
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A symbol of the Chinese Spirit and the royal object of worship, Mount Tai has many spectacular scenic and historic sites.
Germany/UK
Level Contributor
171 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“6660 steps to heaven”
Reviewed March 19, 2012

You have to do it but try avoiding a summer day with a temperature of over 30°C or on a public holiday. The day we first climbed Taishan was both and it was very tough going. They say there are 6660 steps (rather narrow and high ones too) so it is a hard climb. The summit is rather disappointing - with lots of stalls selling souvenirs. But once you have reached the top you don't really care and the view is magnificent on a fine day (the second time we went up it snowed). We once took the north route down, which was very beautiful but brought us out a long way from the city. If you are a westerner be prepared to have your photo taken at regular intervals: you are still a little exotic in this neck of the woods.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    802
    644
    168
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Beautiful mountain but too many people”
Reviewed February 13, 2012

I was unsure whether to give three or four stars. It is a very nice place: the mountain is beautiful, the hike difficult and it holds an important place in Chinese culture - being the most important of the 5 sacred mountains of taoism. However, I think due to its fame, it is very busy, and if you go during holiday periods, when you climb the steep mountain, there are so many people, you could literally lean backwards and not worry about falling! I personally think Hua Shan in Shaanxi is more beautiful and has better hiking.

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank xiaoyaoYantai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Absolutely not to be passed on!”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

This is another of those places we didn't really know much about, but it was part of our tour, and boy are we glad it was! We took the cable car to the top rather than brave the stairs, and the small village at the top is just incredible, as are the views! There are still the stairs to the top of the mountain, but they are more than worth the aching calves, as the buildings, sculptures and ruins are just incredible. There is a huge incense 'house' that just billows smoke, and small burners everywhere. The carved inscriptions in the rock walls are fabulous, and the two large walls near the top are amazing. This was truly an unexpected highlight of our trip. We loved it!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
7 Thank janett1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“a once in a lifetime experiemce”
Reviewed October 18, 2011

I went with a group of friends and we were divided between the intrepid who insisted on climbing at least the top half of the 8000 steps (4000 plus) and the less adventurous who elected to take the cablecar to the top. Do note that the latter choice does not absolve you from climbing steps as we found on emerging from the cablecar, that we STILL had to climb several flights to get to our hotel. This holiday is not for those with health or joint problems as it involves climbing up steps to visit the temples and viewpoints scattered around the summit
The sunrise is worth getting up early for, but it will be cold and the windchill factor easily lowers the temperatures by several degrees. DO wear layers especially a windproof outer layer, but the hotels provide coats for hire for about 20yuan . You also have a choice of renting army surplus coats from vendors along the way
DO get there way before the expected time of sunrise as you will find that no matter how early you are, there will be crowds who seem to have gotten there even earlier and you will find yourself standing four deep , but the better hotels have guides who will steer you to a better vantage point, which may involve scrambling over rocks in the predawn semi darkness.
Mt taishan is worth a visit , but make sure you and your joints are fit enough first !

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank Maysze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awe inspiring”
Reviewed February 24, 2011

My wife, my father-in-law and myself went to the summit via tram car. This journey was awe inspiring in itself, however, once we reached what I thought was the summit, we hiked farther some 300+ feet, and it was here we reached the true apex.
Amazing and beautiful do not fully discribe the true feelings that one experiences when there. If you have a chance to make the trip to this, one of 5 sacred mountains, make room for it on your itinerary.

Visited March 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank kmileshtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Tai also viewed

 

Been to Mount Tai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing