We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, clean, reasonably priced tourist hotel”
Review of Yalu River Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Yalu River Hotel
Ranked #58 of 154 Hotels in Dandong
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This is an excellent Chinese tourist hotel conveniently close in walking distance to the train and bus stations in Dandong. The staff was very helpful, but don't expect excellent English. We booked through elong.net and got a discount rate for a quiet, clean room facing the park, buffet breakfast included. The room had a desk top computer with free Internet access. The breakfast is definitely all Chinese fare, but there was a wide variety of items, including toast and fried eggs. The hotel is recessed a bit from the road, which made it seem quiet at night although downtown.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ansensei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 33 reviews

Reviewed January 25, 2012

My original plans were to take the Dandong Ferry from Incheon. Unfortunately, due to Chunyun, the boat was booked through Chinese New Year and beyond. My backup plan was to fly into nearby Shenyang and catch a train or bus to Dandong. Unfortunately again, my flight landed after all the trains and buses had gone. To my surprise, I found a taxi driver at Shenyang's North Bus Station who was willing to take me to Dandong... for 800 yuan. For lack of a better alternative, I took him up on his offer. We left at 10pm and I was dropped off at the front door of the Yalu River Hotel at 1:10am.

According to elong.com, the hotel was going to hold my reservation but only until midnight. To my surprise, however, I was checked in without incident.

The room was absolutely beautiful! The bed was huge and not ridiculously firm. Plus, I had a great view through my window! The room was very spacious and, when it came to amenities, if something in the room was not free, it was clearly labeled in both Mandarin and English.

After the "taxi" to Dandong and paying my room in cash at check in, I was tapped out. To my surprise, the front desk does currency exchange... and with great rates too! I know because I checked on Google before coming downstairs. (My television doubled as the PC's monitor. Internet use is free.) According to Google, $150 = 947 yuan. The front desk gave me 937 yuan.

Unfortunately, the holiday caused many businesses to be closed and bus 215B to the Great Wall either was not running anymore or eluded me completely at the train station. To my surprise, the riverfront and Broken Bridge were still open. So I was able to get close to North Korea, which was the main reason I came to Dandong in the first place. Who cares if it was -16 degrees? I came prepared so the 15-minute walk was a piece of cake.

I was able to call home, have some instant roast beef ramen noodles and grab some canned fruit juice at check-out time and didn't pay more than 1000 yen. [Here's a tip: If you're paying your room in cash and pay at check-in, keep the receipt you're given. You will need it at check-out.] All in all, a most wonderful stay!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank l337sp34kr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank よきーと
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed July 10, 2014
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed December 21, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed July 27, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed July 26, 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dandong hotels
0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dandong
Hilton Garden Inn Dandong
#1 of 154 in Dandong
86 reviews
0 mi away
Rising International Zhonglian Hotel
0 mi away
Wanda Realm Dandong
Wanda Realm Dandong
#2 of 154 in Dandong
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Zhenzhudao Jiangpan Hotel
Zhenzhudao Jiangpan Hotel
#18 of 154 in Dandong
14 reviews
0 mi away
Home Inn Dandong Jiangcheng Main Street
0 mi away
Xin'andong Hotel
Xin'andong Hotel
#43 of 154 in Dandong
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yalu River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yalu River Hotel

Address: No.87 JiuWei Road, Zhenxing District, Dandong 118000, China
Location: China > Liaoning > Dandong
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 154 Hotels in Dandong
Price Range: $31 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Yalu River Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Yalu River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing