We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Friend Plaza Hotel Dandong
Ranked #3 of 150 Hotels in Dandong
Hong Kong, null, Hong Kong
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
“very nice hotel!”
Reviewed July 20, 2012

The hotel locates besides Yalujiang River with a very good landscape. The green river, the island and modern building. You can easily understand the difference between the two countries. a closed one, North Korea, a well developed one, People's Republic of China.
You can also visit the Yalujiang Bridge. It's an evidence of Korean War.
Certainly you may enjoy the local famous seafoods too.
No doubt I will choose this hotel again if I visit Dandong next time.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephenwwxw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy W, Manager at Friend Plaza Hotel Dandong, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your stay and your feedback. It is great to hear that you got a wonderful stay in our hotel. The hotel is located in the center of high-tech development zone, with views over to N. Korea; it takes you only about 10 minutes to the business district and 15 minutes to the Langtou Airport by taxi, and because the special location you could enjoy a fantastic view scene and splendid silent night. By the way, I’d like to recommend to you the Jade Garden specialty—the Fruit tree roast duck, which has a real fantastic fragrance, and hope you could try it next time just for taste’s sake; we also have spa and a large swimming pool and a gym with equipments form Italy, hope you could enjoy all these next time. Thank you again for your feedback and the whole hotel staffs looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    61
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
15
7
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tallangatta, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I decided to have a bit of luxury after 10 days in North Korea and this hotel certainly supplied that. Spotlessly clean, friendly staff and great views if you get a "river view" room.
Breakfast was great with western, korean and chinese food choices.
It is bit of a walk into town but walking through some of the back streets on the way I saw some very different sights!
I may have been expecting too much but i thought some of the staff would have had a better command of english (yes i know I am in a foreign country). When I was there only one lady on reception seemed to have much command of the english language. The compendium in the hotel rooms says, in english, the business centre can help with tickets, travel etc. I never found anyone on the bsiness centre that spoke English. This how ever did not detract from my stay, just be aware that you may struggle if you don't speak Chinese!

Room Tip: try and get a river view room (although I have no idea what the view the other way is like!)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lostinegypt05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judy W, Manager at Friend Plaza Hotel Dandong, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your stay and your feedback. Great to know that our hotel served you well and reached your satisfaction, and with your encouragement we shall work harder to give our guests much better service. As refer to the language problem, good news for you is that we have very good English speaking Duty Manager to help you for daily matters, and you could always find them for 24 hours in the lobby or just make a call to 7123, hope this information could find you well next time you come to our hotel. Thank you again for your feedback and the whole hotel staffs looking forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

When in Dandong, this Crowne Plaza is the only place to stay. Do not kid yourself, there have not been any alternatives in town for accommodations if you desire any semblance of Western style service since the hotel opened its doors in 2008. In this part of China, warm hospitality services are uncommon, that is until the staff members get to know you. The employees are bound by fairly strict rules, and it does not help that the GM is no longer a Westerner, but a local with a financial/accounting background (ie penny pinching). The majority owner of the hotel is the local electric power company.

This hotel is in the flood zone (ie outside the flood barrier walls), so in the rare case of flood warnings during the summer season, the entire hotel may be evacuated.

The peking duck in the on-site Chinese restaurant is good.

Your best bet is to talk to Vanessa (if she is the duty manager; she has spent time abroad in Europe), for any situations that may require special handling.

I always request the Deluxe xx09 rooms, they are the corner rooms that affords you the best views at nighttime when the neon lights turn on all over the city and the bathroom is not tiny like the Superior or Executive Floor rooms; the trade-off is that the room is colder in the Winters and hotter in the Summers that the other room types.

Do not have high expectations of the executive lounge, other than it is a nice spot for scenic views of North Korea (there is a telescope up there). If you are not staying on one of the three executive floors, just take the handicap accessible elevator and press 27 and you can get up there for a visit.

Room Tip: Book a Deluxe Room for best nighttime views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rm_1272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Its a fairly standard Crowne Plaza, nice clean, new, shiny, the food was good - of course accepting that its in a pretty off the beaten track location. The brazlian/mexican restaraunt was a little bit comical, but all well intentioned. The chinese restaurant was great.
About an hour walk into town, but taxis are plentiful and cheap.
The staff were awesome, really helpful and friendly, they made the place.
The breakfast was extensive, japanese, korean, chinese and english food in large quantities.
The service in the spa was great, the massage great, but expensive, european prices.
We were warned to check our bill, and friends in our group had random costs added to their bills.
Overall definitely worth staying if you need to stay in Dandong.

Room Tip: "city view rooms" are very boring, go for the river view and enjoy the view over to North...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gregandcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

After a week-long visit to North Korea we wanted to stay in a nice hotel when we arrived in Dandong and this hotel really made us feel like we were back in civilization. The Hotel is a 15 min taxi ride from the centre of town (about RMB12 from Dandong railway station) in a new development area on the river. The room was very comfortable and the service and public areas were excellent and of a very good 4/5 star standard. I was a little worried about being allocated a smelly smoking room as the Crowne Plaza website clearly stated that non-smoking rooms were allocated "subject to availability" (... smokers are the clear majority in this part of China!) but fortunatley this didn't seem to be a problem at checkin as it didn't seem to be a busy time. The room rate was cheap and the Breakfast Buffet (which was included in the room rate) was the best I've had. There was nothing it didn't have and all presented, cooked, baked, fried and brewed to perfection.. and that was just the Western section! (...the Chinese section was just as diverse!).

Room Tip: If you are a non-smoker, be wary of being allocated a smoking room .... smokers are the clear majori...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigs67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Comfortable room.
Decent food.
Average service.
Beware of added extras.
Concierge's are a PITA!

Room Tip: Best hotel in Dandong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2012

On a recent business trip to Dandong we decided to stay in the Crowne Plaza because we're members. We also didn't really know what to expect from Dandong as it's a bit of a crazy place in the middle of nowhere being built for 2.5million people in a period of 5 years!!

The view from the hotel is of the Yalu River and across to North Korea - that's a great start. The hotel is new (only about 18 months old) so everything's spankingly clean and fresh. The bed was extremely comfortable, a selection of pillows to choose from and the air con works really well - not too hot, not too cold. There's even a thoughtful little window that you can open for fresh air if that is what you like (I do and I did).

We were on the Executive Floor - do this as the free internet (both LAN and wifi) is a good idea given the charged for variety.

The breakfast is nothing to write home about - usual in provincial China unfortunately - I just don't understand why bacon has to be cooked till it's like strips of plastic!!!

All over a good experience - well priced for what the 5 star variety too. Don't be put off by the outside - Dandong lacks ANY landscaping and this really lets the aesthetics of hotels down a lot.

Strangely I had a bath (it was winter and it was absolutely freezing in Dandong) and the water wasn't very hot coming from the tap. The shower had good hot water though.

Ask for a high floor (and non-smoking), watch the revolving doors if you're an Aussie and not used to them and brush up on your Chinese (or take a good phrase book). There's not much English around. The staff tried to be helpful but a lot is lost in translation.

Room Tip: Stay high and non-smoking. Pay the little extra to get the Executive Floor in order to jag the free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KerrytheBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dandong hotels
3.5 mi away
Wanda Realm Dandong
Wanda Realm Dandong
#2 of 150 in Dandong
30 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dandong
Hilton Garden Inn Dandong
#1 of 150 in Dandong
72 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rising International Zhonglian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Xin'andong Hotel
Xin'andong Hotel
#44 of 150 in Dandong
9 reviews
0.0 mi away
Venic Jian'guo Hotel Dandong
2.8 mi away
Lifes Bussines Hotel
Lifes Bussines Hotel
#14 of 150 in Dandong
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friend Plaza Hotel Dandong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friend Plaza Hotel Dandong

Property: Friend Plaza Hotel Dandong
Address: No.158 Binjiang Middle Road, Zhenxing District, Dandong 118002, China (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Dandong)
Location: China > Liaoning > Dandong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 150 Hotels in Dandong
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Friend Plaza Hotel Dandong 4*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friend Plaza Hotel Dandong, on the banks of the Yulu River, is the city's first International 5 star Hotel. Luxurious guest rooms, meticulous service and quality entertainment make it the choice for both business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Friend Plaza Hotel Dandong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing