We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“probably the only international standard hotel in Dandong”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Friend Plaza Hotel Dandong
Ranked #3 of 152 Hotels in Dandong
Reviewed May 2, 2012

Its a fairly standard Crowne Plaza, nice clean, new, shiny, the food was good - of course accepting that its in a pretty off the beaten track location. The brazlian/mexican restaraunt was a little bit comical, but all well intentioned. The chinese restaurant was great.
About an hour walk into town, but taxis are plentiful and cheap.
The staff were awesome, really helpful and friendly, they made the place.
The breakfast was extensive, japanese, korean, chinese and english food in large quantities.
The service in the spa was great, the massage great, but expensive, european prices.
We were warned to check our bill, and friends in our group had random costs added to their bills.
Overall definitely worth staying if you need to stay in Dandong.

Room Tip: "city view rooms" are very boring, go for the river view and enjoy the view over to North...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gregandcath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (131)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

31 - 37 of 131 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2012

After a week-long visit to North Korea we wanted to stay in a nice hotel when we arrived in Dandong and this hotel really made us feel like we were back in civilization. The Hotel is a 15 min taxi ride from the centre of town (about RMB12 from Dandong railway station) in a new development area on the river. The room was very comfortable and the service and public areas were excellent and of a very good 4/5 star standard. I was a little worried about being allocated a smelly smoking room as the Crowne Plaza website clearly stated that non-smoking rooms were allocated "subject to availability" (... smokers are the clear majority in this part of China!) but fortunatley this didn't seem to be a problem at checkin as it didn't seem to be a busy time. The room rate was cheap and the Breakfast Buffet (which was included in the room rate) was the best I've had. There was nothing it didn't have and all presented, cooked, baked, fried and brewed to perfection.. and that was just the Western section! (...the Chinese section was just as diverse!).

Room Tip: If you are a non-smoker, be wary of being allocated a smoking room .... smokers are the clear majori...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nigs67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Comfortable room.
Decent food.
Average service.
Beware of added extras.
Concierge's are a PITA!

Room Tip: Best hotel in Dandong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

On a recent business trip to Dandong we decided to stay in the Crowne Plaza because we're members. We also didn't really know what to expect from Dandong as it's a bit of a crazy place in the middle of nowhere being built for 2.5million people in a period of 5 years!!

The view from the hotel is of the Yalu River and across to North Korea - that's a great start. The hotel is new (only about 18 months old) so everything's spankingly clean and fresh. The bed was extremely comfortable, a selection of pillows to choose from and the air con works really well - not too hot, not too cold. There's even a thoughtful little window that you can open for fresh air if that is what you like (I do and I did).

We were on the Executive Floor - do this as the free internet (both LAN and wifi) is a good idea given the charged for variety.

The breakfast is nothing to write home about - usual in provincial China unfortunately - I just don't understand why bacon has to be cooked till it's like strips of plastic!!!

All over a good experience - well priced for what the 5 star variety too. Don't be put off by the outside - Dandong lacks ANY landscaping and this really lets the aesthetics of hotels down a lot.

Strangely I had a bath (it was winter and it was absolutely freezing in Dandong) and the water wasn't very hot coming from the tap. The shower had good hot water though.

Ask for a high floor (and non-smoking), watch the revolving doors if you're an Aussie and not used to them and brush up on your Chinese (or take a good phrase book). There's not much English around. The staff tried to be helpful but a lot is lost in translation.

Room Tip: Stay high and non-smoking. Pay the little extra to get the Executive Floor in order to jag the free...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerrytheBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

I recently traveled for business to Dandong and stayed at the Crowne Plaza, which is probably the only international hotel in this city. Great location directly on the river and with stunning view over to North Korea. The hotel facilities and the rooms met my expectation of a Crowne Plaza and the service was good and friendly. I had dinner at the hotel's Chinese restaurant and a very courteous waitress recommended me fresh seafood, as apparently Dandong enjoys the freshest seafood in North China and indeed it was delicious. The hotel is definitely a safe and reliable place when you travel to this part of China and a welcome treat when coming back from North Korea.

Room Tip: River View and high floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnneArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

I went to Dandong mainly because of my interest in looking at the North Korean Border. The Executive Suite I took has good river view but at over US$350 per night for a low cost city like Dandong you would expect decent treatment. The Executive Lounge has very friendly staff but no breakfast is served there so you have to go to the coffee shop for buffet together with other large tourist groups. When you go to Executive Lounge for their evening cocktails, there is no basic items such as red or white wine. They only had a limited selection of liquor like Vodka, Gin and Whisky. Worst still was when I used their hair dressing salon, they charged international price but gave me a treatment was substandard. Upon contacting the duty manager Candy Tang about the problem I experienced at the hair dressing salon, she was running for cover by explaining that these are outside contractors and she did everything possible to avoid solving my problem, a typical state owned enterprise attitude and certainly showed no adequate training from the Intercontinental Hotel Group.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackMSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

We did not encounter much English in town (taxis, restaurants, etc) but there was at least one person in lobby area that spoke English well when we looked. They also have a card with the top 6 things to do written in Chinese - more than enough to do unless you are spending more than a couple of days.

Hotel is located a little away from the train station and most attractions - but a short drive (10RMB taxi to train station and bridge). Rooms are nice. There is a spa - good but seems that it is aging quickly. Breakfast is overpriced unless you are not motivated to go into town and look for something. Front desk will help you book tours and restaurant reservations.

Overall, staying here made our trip much easier (we did approximately zero planning other than buying train tickets and booking a room) and was a good value. Beware they wanted to charge us for a cot - almost as much as another room.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SzczRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dandong hotels
2.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dandong
Hilton Garden Inn Dandong
#1 of 152 in Dandong
76 reviews
3.5 mi away
Wanda Realm Dandong
Wanda Realm Dandong
#2 of 152 in Dandong
31 reviews
2.4 mi away
Rising International Zhonglian Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Xin'andong Hotel
Xin'andong Hotel
#42 of 152 in Dandong
9 reviews
2.8 mi away
Yalu River Hotel
Yalu River Hotel
#55 of 152 in Dandong
33 reviews
3.2 mi away
Sunny Resort Hotel
Sunny Resort Hotel
#41 of 152 in Dandong
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Friend Plaza Hotel Dandong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Friend Plaza Hotel Dandong

Address: No.158 Binjiang Middle Road, Zhenxing District, Dandong 118002, China (Formerly Crowne Plaza Hotel Dandong)
Location: China > Liaoning > Dandong
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 152 Hotels in Dandong
Price Range: $68 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Friend Plaza Hotel Dandong 4*
Number of rooms: 356
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friend Plaza Hotel Dandong, on the banks of the Yulu River, is the city's first International 5 star Hotel. Luxurious guest rooms, meticulous service and quality entertainment make it the choice for both business and leisure travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Friend Plaza Hotel Dandong reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing