We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Melting Pot

Melting Pot
Reserve with OpenTable
Melting Pot is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #251 of 937 Restaurants in Birmingham
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“wonderful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2012

I loved this place. The only bad side is that it is VERY expensive.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank becca p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    12
    4
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level Contributor
171 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“If you love cheese or chocolate, THIS IS A MUST TRY.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

First of all, the area that the restaurant is located is so lovely. It is upstairs in a very upscale shopping center with beautiful landscaping. The employees are so friendly and great at suggestions...very attentive. There were about eight cheese fondue to choose from. The waitress told us that the most popular was the spinach and artichoke cheese fondue so we took her advice and it was fantastic. Served with light and dark bread, tortillas, raw veggies, and granny smith apples for dipping. This cost $8 per person but SO WORTH it. Next we ordered chocolate TURTLE fondue. It is milk chocolate with a little caramel blended in and toasted pecans. It came with white and chocolate marshmellows, rice krispie treats, vanilla and chocolate poundcake, fresh strawberries, and cheesecake for dipping. It also cost $8 per person. SO WORTH IT. I will definitely be going back. The atmosphere, food, and service is FIVE STAR. I believe the sign showed that they are only open from 5-10 most evenings. Reservations are accepted.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank busielady1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
“Love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

I love going with my friends for drinks and cheese after work. We have been going for several years and love it. The cheese is so delicious, the salads are great, and I love the entree. I usually get just sirloin or the vegetarian, and all the sauces I have had have been good. Service is usually excellent, the bartender Dave will do wine tastings for us, and who couldn’t love the chocolate. It is fun and different, and we always have had a great time. I can see how a foodie might not love it, but it's a fun change of pace for me.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank LynnD35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anniston, Alabama
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place for a Girl's Night Out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

Four of my girlfriends & I went here to celebrate a birthday. The service was absolutely perfect. The appetizers, salad, main course & drinks were very good. The deserts were excellent. The ambiance was great. We were there about two hours and the waiter never made us feel rushed . A little on the pricey side but we all had a wonderful time---no complaints about anything from anyone..

  • Visited April 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank star9941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
183 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“I could make a meal out of the Cheese or Chocolate Fondue alone!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2011

I LOVE this restaurant! Its such a fun idea and friends and family who have never had fondue before enjoy going! I can't go that often because it's EXPENSIVE!!!! If you do the four course feast you will definitely over eat so be prepared!!!

  • Visited March 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JBHatfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Melting Pot also viewed

 
Birmingham, AL
 

Been to Melting Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing