We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What A Find!”

Crazy Cajuns' Boiling Pot
Ranked #66 of 942 Restaurants in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Jefferson County, CO
Level Contributor
258 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“What A Find!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Found this restaurant near our hotel and tried it with low expectations. Don't judge a restaurant by its name we were soon to discover!

The menu was very broad and deep with tempting selections covering many Cajun classics that are strangely absent from a good number of menus devoted to the cuisine.

We started with my wife's favorite, fried green tomatoes. Five large slices, battered and fried perfectly were served and determined very worthy. I tried a sampler plate of red beans and rice, jambalaya and corn maque choux accompanied by some decent toasted bread. All were very good and flavorful, especially the jambalaya and RBR. I was very happy to say the least.

My wife ordered a rich and well seasoned shrimp pasta dish that another couple had ordered and tipped us off about. It was great!

Finally ended with an order of some very good bread pudding.

There were so many dishes that were done so well that Crazy Cajun earned a full five stars (Why is it that it seems as though the best Cajun fare is found anywhere but New Orleans?). Don't let the name and strip center location give you pause. Aieee, it's good!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ObscureDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    28
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sylacauga, Alabama
Level Contributor
392 reviews
288 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“red beans and rice”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

I go here for the red beans and rice, it's the best I know of. I get a cup of gumbo on the side, a beer, sit outside, and enjoy. this isn't gourmet food, it's great Cajun food. the service is always good, unless you have an attitude, then it can get a little sketchy. the place is laid back, so lay back and enjoy the food and the experience. I've had their blackened grouper, and it's great, but I go for the red beans and rice. good beer selection, and they also have a pretty good wine selection.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dex49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“First Timers!”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Party of 4 and all had a different meal for dinner. Sat outside. Beautiful weather. Great service. All 4 of us were very pleased with our dinners. Blackened shrimp, blackened MahiMahi, Grilled shrimp, and lastly, blackened MahiMahi alfredo. Wonderful side dishes- homemade coleslaw, corn choux, jambalaya. They were unfortunately out of dirty rice. Casual atmosphere is comfortable. Loved it!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
139 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Consistently great Cajun food”
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We've been coming here for years. The family loves the shrimp n grits,and their crawfish when I season is a great deal. We always leave here stuffed. Come early because they stay packed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Palestine, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Will definitely be back!”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

We went for dinner on a Saturday evening. There were 4 of us & the wait wasn't too bad even though they were quite busy. The blackened gator appetizer is a must! We also had the grouper platter with jalapeno black eyed peas & crawfish etouffee, crab cakes, and the seafood rotini. Everything was sooo good, although some in our group found the food to be a bit spicy for their taste.

Helpful?
Thank Sarah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crazy Cajuns' Boiling Pot also viewed

 

Been to Crazy Cajuns' Boiling Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing