We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel needs major help”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Birmingham AL
Ranked #61 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Merrillville, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
190 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 298 helpful votes
“Hotel needs major help”
Reviewed April 4, 2007

Upon arrival, I found a dirty bathroom, a door that was hard to shut, and some exposed wires so I changed rooms. My next room was a slight improvement, but this room also had dirty spots on the carpet and terrible looking walls. In addition, there was a hole in my sheet on the bed. I had to ask the front desk for more toilet paper one day as the housekeeper didn't do her job. She also forgot to dump my trash one day. This hotel needs some major work done. The carpeting is filthy throughout the hotel, in rooms and hallways. I found trash in the halls and on the elevator. Also, found trash on the grounds outside. The plastering in the rooms is chipped off and many holes exist. One good thing I can say about the hotel is that there weren't any bugs. You can sleep here but wouldn't want to do much else.

  • Liked — No bugs
  • Disliked — Dirty carpeting and walls
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdlady07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityinnbirmingham, Webmaster at Days Inn Birmingham AL, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Quality Inn for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness and helpfulness required of them as our employees.

• Maintenance was informed of the exposed wires and problem door in the room first assigned to you and instructed to see to the proper repairs.

• Maintenance received additional training in their responsibility to see to the proper, clean appearance of the outside of our establishment.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Quality Inn. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    92
    147
    157
    224
See reviews for
253
134
64
130
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
meridian
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2007

This place was filty! (halls, bathrooms, elevator ... I can't imagine what was under the covers!) We only stayed for 10 minutes ... then left to find another hotel! Beware!!!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — everything!
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank pastorR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityinnbirmingham, Webmaster at Days Inn Birmingham AL, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your original intent to stay at Quality Inn. I am sorry that things didn’t work out as you had intended.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following action was taken:

• Housekeeping received additional training concerning the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will choose to stay at Quality Inn. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2006

We had just arrived to vestavia from virginia and we did notice that the hotel was in its remodeling stages. Although we stayed for one night, the rooms were very clean, the front desk clerks were very helpful, and the continental breakfast was beyond my expectations. All the staff were very nice and hospitable. I have checked with other hotels and so far I can truly say, I will be staying at Vestavia Hills Hotel this coming June 2006. Thank you so much for your hospitality!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dorothy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daysinn_vh, Director of Sales at Days Inn Birmingham AL, responded to this review, January 23, 2015
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking time to write and tell us about your stay and am pleased to know that our staff and hotel services were to your liking.

As always we promise OUR GUESTS THE BEST VALUE UNDER THE SUN.

Sincerely Saby Chander
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2004

Stayed here with our softball team in May. BIG MISTAKE! The front desk did not know which rooms were clean or dirty at 5:30PM. Could not even check in on arrival b/c reservations were so screwed up. Were given keys and so was everyone else checking in that night. Two of our families had other people with keys coming in the room late at night. Rooms were barely cleaned and one had sheets with food and ants. Could be an OK place if there was an overhaul on employees. The only bright spot was a wonderful lady who was in charge of the breakfast bar. She was so delightful and efficient.

Helpful?
8 Thank nlance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityinnbirmingham, Webmaster at Days Inn Birmingham AL, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Quality Inn for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• Housekeeping received additional training in the level of cleanliness required of them as our employees.

• Management and desk staff were approached about setting up a system that would show which rooms were ready for guests.

• The lady at the breakfast bar was informed of your comment and received our commendation in the courteous way in which she treated you, our valued guest.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Quality Inn. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 18, 2004

We slept one night at this hotel basically because we got too sleepy to drive any further. Being winter it wasn't a party barn like the other reviewer dewcribes -- in fact, it felt creepily, dangerously deserted.
The desk person was a teenaged girl who could not understand our Australian accents and had to have things written down for her. The whole hotel, our room included, had no character or personality, and while the room was clean, it did have a bad, stale, stuffy smell. The bathroom had no exhaust fan & fogged up when I took a shower, but I didn't mind because it was also very, very ugly. The breakfast buffet in the lobby featured the usual lavish assortment of heavily sugared and over processed American packaged snack foods, but unlike most other similar places, there was not one single piece of fresh fruit to be found amongst it. The most expensive hotel we stayed in in the USA, and also the saddest. Not recommended.

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityinnbirmingham, Webmaster at Days Inn Birmingham AL, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Quality Inn for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following steps were taken:

• Management was approached about the possibility of making the establishment seem less deserted.

• Breakfast staff was approached about the possibility of adding fruits to their assortment.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Quality Inn. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 13, 2003

Where to even begin? Property is run down. Illogically laid out, mislabeled signs and info everywhere. Room reeked when we entered. Hotel binder says buffet is on the 4th floor - after a hunt I discovered it on the 1st. A giant number "1" is outside the side entrance - which leads to the 2nd floor. "Pool closes at 10pm". Why then did I have to call the front desk at 1am when I could not sleep due to noise from people yelling in the pool? A call to the front desk didn't even help, I had to yell at them myself. "Door locked for guest safety - use room key to enter" yet the door pulls right open. The elevator looked and felt like a service elevator - and there was a piece of the door HELD TOGETHER BY DUCT TAPE! The toilet would "burp" water back up periodically. The last straw came when we had to move rooms due to a wedding reception being held directly below our room blasting bass-laden music through the very thin walls. If you are considering this property - RUN AWAY!

Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualityinnbirmingham, Webmaster at Days Inn Birmingham AL, responded to this review, September 9, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Quality Inn for your recent stay in our area.

Thank you for giving us a review, it is very much appreciated. Upon receipt of your review, the following actions were taken:

• Management was approached about the possibility of a “reorganizing” of signs etc so that our valued guests can be greater served.

• Management was reminded of their responsibility to see to it that our valued guests remember to be considerate of their fellow guests.

• Maintenance was informed of the problem with the toilet in the room assigned to you and instructed to see to its repair.

I hope that the next time you visit our area, you will once again choose to stay at Quality Inn. I think you will be greatly pleased.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Birmingham South
Red Roof Inn Birmingham South
#57 of 79 in Birmingham
425 reviews
3.0 mi away
Days Inn Galleria-Birmingham
Days Inn Galleria-Birmingham
#40 of 79 in Birmingham
362 reviews
4.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Hoover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Birmingham / Cahaba Park South
3.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood
3.1 mi away
Extended Stay America - Birmingham - Wildwood
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Birmingham AL? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Birmingham AL

Property: Days Inn Birmingham AL
Address: 1485 Montgomery Highway, I-65 EXIT # 252, Birmingham, AL 35216-3633 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Days Inn Birmingham AL 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy each day of your sunny stay at the Days Inn Birmingham hotel. Conveniently located just 12 miles from Birmingham International Airport, our hotel provides easy access to I-65 and I-459 as well as attractions such as the Riverchase Galleria, less than four miles away. Valuable amenities such as free hot breakfast and coffee in the lobby, and free weekday newspaper, make your stay convenient and enjoyable. Before heading out to enjoy Birmingham, take a swim in our hotel’s outdoor pool. Business travelers can take advantage of free WiFi, fax, and copy services. Relax in your spacious suite or enjoy the view from your balcony at our hotel. Visit Riverchase Galleria for shopping, dining, and entertainment, less than four miles away. For outdoor enthusiasts, enjoy hiking, biking, and horse-riding trails at Oak Mountain State Park. Golfers will enjoy the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail, a unique collection of 468 holes of championship golf on 11 different sites. The Birmingham Zoo is a fifteen-minute drive from our hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Birmingham AL reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Birmingham
Quality Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing