We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not a very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard Birmingham Colonnade/Grandview
Ranked #23 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Alabama
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Not a very enjoyable stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 29, 2012

I chose this hotel for last weekend after reading the reviews here. We took a shopping trip to Birmingham and this hotel was convenient to the Summit. We checked in at about 6 p.m. and the front desk staff were rather short and not very friendly. We got to our room and there was a pile of nuts and bolts, etc in the bathroom floor. My fiance pulled the shower curtain back and there was NO faucet at all. Also, I made the reservation on Marriott.com and requested a feather-free room and foam pillows. All of our pillows were feather. I will say that when I called about needing to change rooms due to the faucet issue, by the time we hit the lobby, the front desk had already gotten our new keycards ready and just handed them to us and we were in business.
The room was "fine". We found ourselves not getting a very good night's sleep due to an old, outdated HVAC system that would not cool the room very well and the loud noise coming off the Interstate.
Overall, the place was okay. Definitely nothing special, and I have stayed in many better rooms for 115.00/night.

Room Tip: Ask to be on the even numbered side of the building. That may help with traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlabamaRainbow1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, General Manager at Courtyard Birmingham Colonnade/Grandview, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
Please accept our apologies for your arrival experience. Unfortunately our maintenance staff did not notify us he was working in your room and was not finished. I have asked my Front Office Manager to review the process of meeting special requests and to insure effective communication happens with housekeeping. I would also like to let you know that we are tentatively scheduled for a renovation sometime in the fall with a completion of December or early January. Hope you will return and experience our new look!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    59
    36
    18
    12
See reviews for
44
33
6
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

I have a first-floor room facing the back wall. There is mold in my room. The breakfast is mostly inedible. Go to IHOP and save your $11 per breakfast. The waffles are especially bland and dense.

Room Tip: Check for mold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ericgross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Juliet, Tennessee
Level Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

My husband & I were only in the area for one night and needed to stay close to highway 459. This hotel's location was great. It is just off the interchange of highway 280 and 459, near restaurants. We had a nice supper at Cracker Barrel, then checked in. Our son who was nearby came to see us there. The sofa seating came in handy.
Our only complaint was the tight fit in the bathroom and closet area. We took turns leaving the room the next morning so there would be space for the other to dress and prepare for the day.
New to Marriott, we were unaware that breakfasts are not included. We should have read the materials more carefully. If you want to eat down in the dining area it will cost around $10 per person.
I do not care for the arrangement where someone is supposed to serve you after you go through a line. Perhaps there was a hostess that I missed but when I arrived there seemed to be no order to it and no one to ask. I rather stumbled through the process of going through a line with no tray to put my glass and plate on and it was very awkward. Once I got almost done trying to find what was where a young woman appeared to tell me that she had placed silverware for me and guided me to a table set for two. She clearly thought I was with a man she saw in line behind me. I would have preferred to select my own seat and avoid this embarrassment. Once seated, I was expected to stay put and wait for her to have time to check back and see if I needed hot coffee which I frequently did and she frequently did not. It was, once again, awkward and less than satisfactory. Their system is a strange mix of self serve and sit to be served which I suppose is supposed to make one feel that they get some attention for the money they pay. I would not choose to do this again.
Overall we had a pretty comfortable night's sleep (need more support for mattress) and went on our way on time. It seemed clean.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sullyfamly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sulligent, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

This hotel has a poor location, in the mornings construction work next door made it impossible to sleep. The snack bar prices were outrageous. I would sleep in my car before I stay at this hotel again!! When we got there, there were cigerette butts and a cigerette pack laying on the balcony. When they came to clean the room, I guess they found them. When we got back from our days shopping I had a voicemail from someone saying if I smoked in the room again they would charge me an extra 250 dollars for smoking in the room.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
165 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2011

Stayed here for a customer visit with a few miles of the hotel. The restaurant was staffed with courteous and friendly folks. Breakfast only at this hotel's restaurant. Front desk staff was also very nice.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tech-trekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

I have stayed here several times, only paying $40/night through Priceline. No free breakfast and coffee only for early birds. Corporate owned property.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank momma0325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2011

The hotel is clean and the staff is very nice and professional. Meeting / conference rooms are large and comfortable.
Sleeping rooms are also very large and clean. Comfortable bed too.
Great location for travelers both business and personal - plenty of restaurants and shopping nearby.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missi60887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham-Colonnade 280
0.1 mi away
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Colonnade
0.7 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Birmingham Marriott
Birmingham Marriott
#27 of 79 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Birmingham / Inverness
0.6 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Perimeter Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Birmingham Colonnade/Grandview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Birmingham Colonnade/Grandview

Property: Courtyard Birmingham Colonnade/Grandview
Address: 4300 Colonnade Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35243-2399 (Formerly Courtyard Birmingham Colonnade)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Birmingham Colonnade/Grandview 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Birmingham Colonnade hotel is proud to share our newly renovated state-of-the-art lobby and stylish new guest rooms. Located just 25 minutes from downtown and the airport, this Birmingham, AL hotel is close to the University of Alabama at Birmingham. The exciting new features at this Birmingham, AL hotel include inviting, flexible spaces to work or relax, free Internet access throughout, access to the latest news via our GoBoard and The Bistro - Eat. Drink. Connect.® offering enhanced breakfast, dinner and beverage options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Courtyard Birmingham Colonnade/Grandview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Birmingham Colonnade Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Courtyard
Birmingham Marriott
Courtyard Birmingham Colonnade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing