We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Residence”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sonesta ES Suites Birmingham
Ranked #42 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is an older style Residence Inn...kind of like an apartment community. Remodeled about a year or so ago. Well kept, very large suites. Mine had wood burning fireplace which was nice! Would stay here again except it is a long way down 280 and not close to where I need to be in B'ham when I visit.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
Thank Will H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnReaganRIGM, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Hello Will H,

We at the Residence Inn Birmingham Inverness thank you for taking time from your day to post a review about our property. We strive to be the best property we can be. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We understand that our location may not be convenient to all workplaces, but we strive to make sure that our guests; no matter how far they come out of their way to stay with us, receives true southern hospitality that makes up for any distant traveled. We hope that you come back and see us soon because we love seeing our repeat guest. To us you are part of our Residence Inn Family and every day we look forward to having a family reunion. Thank you for staying with us.

Regards,

John Reagan

General Manager
Residence Inn Birmingham Inverness
3 Greenhill Parkway
Birmingham, AL 35242
P: 205-991-8686
F: 205-991-8729
John.Reagan@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 196 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2013

The reviews are mixed on here but I enjoyed my stay. It is an old hotel but has been updated some. Very large rooms and comfy beds. The kitchen was new and very nice. The couch was the only thing that looks old and it had several stains on it. Great staff and friendly service. Great location on Hwy 280 and not too expensive. We needed a bigger room due to traveling with a baby and it worked out well. I'd stay here again next time we visit.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
Thank Sublimebrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnReaganRIGM, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Hello Sublimebrad,

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our location. We are constantly looking to improve ourselves and your feedback is a key component of the process. As part of that commitment, the couches in the hotel are slated to be replaced in 2013. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in Birmingham. Thank you for staying with us.

Regards,

John Reagan

General Manager
Residence Inn Birmingham Inverness
3 Greenhill Parkway
Birmingham, AL 35242
P: 205-991-8686
F: 205-991-8729
john.reagan@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

We were in town during thanksgiving 2012 to visit my fiances children and some other family and needed something spacioius to accomodate our family and guests. We chose the two bedroom penthouse, which is like a 2nd story town home. It had a Queen up the stairs in a loft area with it's own private bathroom. Downstairs was another bedroom with 2 queens and another bathroom. There is also a sleeper sofa in the living room. Very spacious, with a full kitchen, and fireplace. It was very clean, cozy, and perfect. We will definately be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Celeste W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnReaganRIGM, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Hello celestew21,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. I am so glad you enjoy our spacious penthouse. I also see from the pictures that you enjoyed a warm fire in our living room area. I hope your guests staying with you enjoyed it as much as you did. We are glad you chose to stay with us during the holidays and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kindest Regards,

John Reagan

General Manager
Residence Inn Birmingham Inverness
3 Greenhill Parkway
Birmingham, AL 35242
P: 205-991-8686
F: 205-991-8729
john.reagan@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

Got a good rate at this hotel so gave it a try. Was upgraded to a loft room which was probably bigger than my first purchased home. This is an older style Residence Inn but the room was clean and efficient. Decent complimentary breakfast. Mexican restaurant next door was good for chips & beer. No complaints.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterFNYNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnReaganRIGM, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Greetings bubbafb,

Thank you so much for giving us your feedback. It is how we ensure that we are achieving the best service for our guest. I am glad to hear that you got to take advantage of our amazing complimentary breakfast and fantastic local restaurants. I will be sure to pass your comments about the cleanliness of the hotel room onto the housekeeping staff. I hope that we will become your primary choice of hotel when in Birmingham, Alabama. Thanks so much for staying with us.

Regards,

John Reagan
General Manager
Residence Inn Birmingham Inverness
John.reagan@marriott.com
P: 205-991-8686

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

Hadn't looked ahead to see the style was separate buildings (the most recent Residence Inn we've stayed at twice in the last 2 months was newer, typical hotel style). Older, walk up to 2nd floor. Noisy with wooden floors (our friend had room below us, he heard every step we took). Room next door which shared the landing with our room had a folding chair outside with empty beer bottles and ashtray - really trashy looking. Nice kitchen and bathroom counter but older carpet and bathtub looked stained. Had to leave hotel by 7 a.m. so missed breakfast on the weekend. They did housekeeping service every day.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Focused77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnReaganRIGM, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Hello Focused77,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Residence Inn Birmingham Inverness. Your feedback is really important to us. I am sorry for the appearance of the landing next to your room. We actively walk the property to ensure that it looks presentable at all times but on rare occasions things do get by us. I want to assure you that it is the exception and not the rule. We are constantly updating the property and look forward to more upgrades coming in the New Year. We appreciate you staying with us and hope that you will come back and see us again soon.

Regards,

John Reagan
General Manager
Residence Inn Birmingham Inverness
John.reagan@marriott.com
P: 205-991-8686

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

A fairly typical Residence Inn experience, but rating it very good overall. This is one of the apartment style Res Inns - where you have many free standing apartment blocks and enter your room from the outside. Staff was really great - no problems there.
Comes with the standard Res Inn free breakfast buffet - with hot breakfast, cereals, waffle maker, etc. They also run a free social time on week nights that varies all the time - nachos, BBQ, etc. It was nothing fancy, but was good food and includes beverages, beer, and wine. This doesn't seem to start until 6 pm - which is a bit late. If you can't wait or want something different, there are a lot of places around you can go to. The TexMex next door was very good for take out. Note there are no sidewalks or crosswalks in the area - recommend driving for safety.
The area seems pretty upscale - lots of restaurants and shopping, however the traffic during commute hours is crazy bad - something worth considering if on business travel.

Room was spacious and clean and had been updated. This was one of the few hotels that actually honored the re-use instructions for towels - most seem to ignore it.
The floors are very squeaky - try to get a room on 2nd floor. Your experience will vary depending on who's in your building - I had some long term guests next door who bought their two beagles and would not/could not get them to stop barking once they started. Maybe management could make an effort to isolate dog owners into the same unit.
They had the requisite free internet and parking.
Overall a very good place to stay in the area.

Room Tip: Get something on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frozen-in-MN-US
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnReaganRIGM, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Hello frozen-in-MN-2011,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our property. Our staff takes great pride in providing our guests with an outstanding experience every time. I am glad to see that our service was top notch for you. We are proud to do everything we can to be as green as possible. I wish you safe travels and hope to see you again next time you are in Birmingham, AL.

Regards,

John Reagan
General Manager
Residence Inn Birmingham Inverness
John.reagan@marriott.com
P: 205-991-8686

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed overnight on our drive back from Gulf Shores to Lexington. We got a studio room that was really nice. It was very spacious with a very nice kitchen. The king size bed was very confortable. I could see spending in this room for a long term stay.

They had a very nice hot buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mailpro56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnReaganRIGM, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Hello Mailpro56,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give your feedback. Our staff loves hearing how our guests enjoyed their stay. I am glad to hear that you got to take advantage of our breakfast; as I know it is one of the best around. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Birmingham.

Regards,

John Reagan
General Manager
Residence Inn Birmingham Inverness
John.reagan@marriott.com
P: 205-991-8686

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Birmingham South Inverness
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Birmingham / Inverness
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Colonnade
0.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn Birmingham / Cahaba Park South
1.4 mi away
Birmingham Marriott
Birmingham Marriott
#26 of 80 in Birmingham
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta ES Suites Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta ES Suites Birmingham

Address: 3 Greenhill Pkwy, at US Hwy280, Birmingham, AL 35242-5012 (Formerly Residence Inn Birmingham Inverness)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $108 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta ES Suites Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From business professionals to large families, all travelers are welcome to experience the comforts of home at Sonesta ES Suites Birmingham. Located just off of the highway, the all suite hotel provides convenient access to explore the area's premier attractions. Indulge in a shopping spree at The Summit Birmingham, take a walk on the wild side at Birmingham Zoo and roam around the beautiful campus of University of Alabama at Birmingham. Following an eventful day of work or play, unwind in our oversized apartment-style suites, boasting separate areas for sleeping, lounging and dining. Fully equipped kitchens allow you to prepare fresh, homemade meals in the comfort of your suite. Don't worry about cooking in the morning because our complimentary breakfast features a satisfying selection of hot favorites and lighter choices. Evening social offered Tuesday - Thursday with hot appetizers and beverages. Come and enjoy the best of Southern hospitality at Sonesta ES Suites Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Sonesta ES Suites Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Birmingham Inverness Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing