We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Overnight Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonesta ES Suites Birmingham
Ranked #44 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed overnight on our drive back from Gulf Shores to Lexington. We got a studio room that was really nice. It was very spacious with a very nice kitchen. The king size bed was very confortable. I could see spending in this room for a long term stay.

They had a very nice hot buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mailpro56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnReaganRIGM, General Manager at Sonesta ES Suites Birmingham, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2012

Hello Mailpro56,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give your feedback. Our staff loves hearing how our guests enjoyed their stay. I am glad to hear that you got to take advantage of our breakfast; as I know it is one of the best around. We look forward to seeing you the next time you are in Birmingham.

Regards,

John Reagan
General Manager
Residence Inn Birmingham Inverness
John.reagan@marriott.com
P: 205-991-8686

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

167 - 173 of 202 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2012

The room was ok, but housekeeping never seemed to clean the room in a timely manner, and sometimes would not leave towels and we would have to wait for them to bring us some at a later time and place. Also, we were supposed to check in at 3p, but b/c of housekeeping we didnt check in until 630p. the Kitchen were not fully stocked with utensils. The Manager special was very sub-par, when there was enough food. The hotel was apparently full that week so you thought you would stock up accordingly but not so, they ran out of stuff many times for manager special and breakfast. The roominess of the room was nice, and it was pretty comfortable. I would probably try another hotel first before this one, but it was just ok.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reet_Roo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was a gem. I was moving my wife's family across the states from Modesto to Savannah in early July. Not an easy task for any of us. 3 in our 30s, 1 in her 60s and a wee one in his 2s. We arrived in the afternoon and were trying to take it easy and just relax a bit. Well, they had a hot dog dinner waiting supplied with beer/wine. My brother in law and I were so impressed we stayed for a bit longer into the night. The food was great. There was a homemade stew that the staff had made and gave us the last of to go, after we were all gushing over it. The staff was friendly and rooms were brilliant. A two story, two bed suite. Immaculate and a perfect location for a respite during our trip. I highly recommend this location. One of the best hotels of this nature that I have ever stayed in.

Room Tip: Take part in the activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josh w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012 via mobile

This is a unique Residence Inn due to it's loft rooms and award-winning hospitality. I have stopped through here several times in the past two years and have never been disappointed. The breakfast was superb--above average with the standard fare plus Canadian Bacon. The pool was clean and the staff very helpful and accomodating. Great place for families. Wnack be back.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2012

Agree with other reviews. Our room was newly remodeled, clean, comfortable, and attractive. Very comfortable bed. Only two well-worn towels were provided. It would be nice to provide dish soap---we washed glasses with bar soap from the bathroom. There were some comments on older posts about people lurking about from parking lot of nearby restaurant, but that place has closed. Our room was right at the parking lot for that restaurant, at the back of the building, so I could imagine noise or creepy factor. But that is no longer an issue.
Staff was exceptionally pleasant and eager to help. Breakfast was by good with a nice variety of hot and cold items. Our only complaint was the noise from the room above ours. It's a shame that the noise factor wasn't addressed during the recent renovations. I commented there must be a gorilla above us. Interested to see another post commented on a family of hippos. This started about 5:30 AM and continued for over an hour.
Overall, it was a nice choice. I would stay her again, but would request an upstairs room on the front of the building.

Room Tip: Ask for upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlaShug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights. The staff was friendly, rooms clean, beds comfortable. The floor was real squeaky in the room above me - next time I wold ask for a second floor room so there wouldn't be anyone above me! Great hotel overall - would stay here again.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
Thank CarolinaGirl205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

For the price of a hotel room, we received an entire town house! Fully stocked kitchen, fireplace in living room and a 42 inch TV, nice bedrooms, we had one in the loft for our son plus his own bath. Quiet and a very good night's sleep, plus they serve a nice breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: We only stayed one night, so I cannot vouch for housekeeping or room service. We enjoyed the suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank breezey_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Birmingham / Inverness
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham/Inverness
2.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Colonnade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Birmingham/Homewood
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Birmingham South Inverness
6.9 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Hoover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonesta ES Suites Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonesta ES Suites Birmingham

Address: 3 Greenhill Pkwy, at US Hwy280, Birmingham, AL 35242-5012 (Formerly Residence Inn Birmingham Inverness)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $81 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sonesta ES Suites Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From business professionals to large families, all travelers are welcome to experience the comforts of home at Sonesta ES Suites Birmingham. Located just off of the highway, the all suite hotel provides convenient access to explore the area's premier attractions. Indulge in a shopping spree at The Summit Birmingham, take a walk on the wild side at Birmingham Zoo and roam around the beautiful campus of University of Alabama at Birmingham. Following an eventful day of work or play, unwind in our oversized apartment-style suites, boasting separate areas for sleeping, lounging and dining. Fully equipped kitchens allow you to prepare fresh, homemade meals in the comfort of your suite. Don't worry about cooking in the morning because our complimentary breakfast features a satisfying selection of hot favorites and lighter choices. Evening social offered Tuesday - Thursday with hot appetizers and beverages. Come and enjoy the best of Southern hospitality at Sonesta ES Suites Birmingham. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sonesta ES Suites Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Birmingham Inverness Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing