We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Good choice for a Motel in Irondale” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Quality Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Inn
Ranked #44 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
155 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Good choice for a Motel in Irondale”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

While visiting the Irondale section of Birmingham, I was looking for a brand name motel that wasn't too expensive within a short drive of my point of interest which happened to be the Irondale Train-Watching Platform. Good choices of motels are located near I-20. There are nicer more expensive motels (like Holiday Inn Express) and some smaller privately owned properties. After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, this motel seemed like a good choice. A good choice it was.

A few other reviews mentioned the location is hard to find, especially in the dark. They are correct; but knowing that, I found it the first try! You need to turn in the driveway near the Quality Inn sign, and then drive up a hill to the motel. The motel is on a quiet hillside overlooking the Irondale area. I arrived late (around 11pm). Only one clerk on duty made check in kind of slow, but it was fine; and the very friendly clerk apologized for the short wait. The motel is a older exterior corridor type building which is kept in fine condition. I was able to park near my room on the first floor which made unpacking the car a breeze. The room was clean, quiet, and kept up to modern standards complete with a lap desk, a feature Quality Inn's don't normally have. A wide screen TV, refrigerator and microwave are also located in the room. The room is a standard size motel room, which can be considered kind of small with the extra furniture and fridge present. The beds were nice, and free internet worked fine. I can't remember the free breakfast too well, which must make it middle of the road - not outstanding, but not too shabby either. The price I paid for the motel was very fair for the offerings. I enjoyed my visit to this motel, and plan to return to this property in the future the next time I'm in the area.

There are several fast food restaurants located within a short drive from the motel, some choices include McDonalds, Krystal Burger plus some others.

Room Tip: Exterior Corridors let you park outside your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RailfanMotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    17
    21
    10
    4
See reviews for
22
17
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hartselle
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

it was a very clean hotel and very friendly people they have a great continental breakfast. The owners are very friendly and helpful with great room rates. this is a nice safe location for a family stay i have nothing negative to say about this hotel or the people that work here

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Nothing overly remarkable about our stay here. The room was tidy, with ample space for storage. It is in a nice safe location. Nothing negative to say. It was just plain vanilla, with no flavoring. Worth the price, we were all satisfied.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Mississippi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

This hotel has mold in bathrooms, ring in toilets and is too old. Stayed 2 nights and noone never cleaned our room. The maids took towels and 6 hours later still had no towels. Vending machines doesnt work, takes your money. Pool was nasty with green film. Asked when will it be cleaned on the 1st day of arrival,one person said within a couple of hours, next morning one person said at 10am, that evening pool was still green. Check ou time, asked when it will be cleaned they said they are working on it. NEVER AGAIN WILL I STAY HERE!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Godisgood52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

Staff was friendly & helpful & free airport shuttle is the main reason to stay here. Everyday maintenance seemed to be lacking. No idea how the breakfast is, as I had an early flight.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davesondeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2011

The price with a coupon was a good deal. This is not a new hotel but if you need a clean place to stop that is inexpensive this is the hotel for you. The staff is extremly friendly and helpful and you get a good hot breakfast.
This is an inside hotel and its kept well. It has a micorwave in the room and refrigerator. Each room has a small balcony. Many choices of food and a good strip mall shopping near by.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thedivapreacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan City, Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2011

We arrived late at night and the entrance was hard to find. A sign on the road marks the driveway that leads up the hill to the hotel. The hotel shows signs of age but everything was in good repair and very clean, well stocked and functioning.(I.E. T.V, shower, ice machine etc.)
The morning breakfast is great, full breakfast with a large assortment. The neighborhood is safe and many restuarants and retail shops are nearby. This is a very comfortable and safe place to stay. Easy access to Interstate 20. Highly reccommended by this experienced and weary traveler.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyCarlBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
1.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Birmingham - Irondale
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel and Suites
1.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham East Irondale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Birmingham Highway 280
9.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#42 of 80 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham / Leeds, AL
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn

Property: Quality Inn
Address: 3910 Grants Mill Rd, Birmingham, AL 35210-1204
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Quality Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Birmingham
Quality Inn Irondale
Irondale Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing