We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Red Roof Inn Birmingham South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Red Roof Inn Birmingham South
Ranked #54 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    64
    84
    90
    101
See reviews for
134
72
52
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Foley, Alabama
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

We checked in late after an Alabama game, the bed was super comfy. The room was clean, it is def showing its age, it is an older hotel. THey have added new carpet and bedding, making it have an updated feel.

Now for the bad... we arrived after 11 or 12 on a Saturday night, and at 9:30 we had a banging on our door. A banging, not a quaint knock. It was housekeeping. My husband and I were both asleep and not thrilled about this wake up call.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melody T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin W, Guest Relations Manager at Red Roof Inn Birmingham South, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Reviewer: Thank you for your constructive feedback of our property. We appreciate your comments and thorough review. I assure you this was a singular unfortunate experience. We are consistently looking for ways to improve upon our guest’s experience and welcome any suggestions that you may have . We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon to the Baymont Inn & Suites.
Sincerely, Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

I am a regular I come almost weekly and I am very pleased with my whole experience from check in, my room the cleaniess and fresh smell

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Helpful?
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeeDee083, Manager at Red Roof Inn Birmingham South, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for choosing Baymont Inn and Suites for your recent stay in Birmingham, Alabama. We have read your comments about the hotel and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them, as our guests' satisfaction is our main priority. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Front Desk Staff/Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

WE have stayed at Baymonts all over US and this was the worse Baymont we have ever stayed at. Room was dirty and our room had a leak by the sink, making it impossible to stand in area without shoes on. The outside was equally dirty. Very run down. Trash all over the place. I sent a comment after my return, but no response from corporate.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeeDee083, Manager at Red Roof Inn Birmingham South, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time in writing this review. We do sincerely apologize for your inconvenience's that occurred here at the property. I would like for you to know that management is working very closely with the Maintenance Department on updating standers and protocols that must be met in order to satisfy all of our guest needs. Again we do sincerely apologize and hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Front Desk Staff/Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Birmingham
3.1 mi away
Days Inn Galleria-Birmingham
Days Inn Galleria-Birmingham
#42 of 79 in Birmingham
3.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
2.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Birmingham - Wildwood
4.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Hoover
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn Birmingham / Cahaba Park South
5.7 mi away
Days Inn Birmingham/Summit Mall
3.6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Hoover/Birmingham
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Birmingham South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Birmingham South

Property: Red Roof Inn Birmingham South
Address: 1466 Montgomery Hwy, Birmingham, AL 35216-3607 (Formerly Baymont Inn & Suites Birmingham/Vestavia)
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Birmingham South 2*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel provides easy access to popular activities in the area. Visit the Birmingham Civil Rights Institute, the Birmingham Zoo or the Alabama Adventure Water and Theme Park. Talladega Superspeedway offers exciting races, and the University of Alabama at nearby Tuscaloosa. Oak Mountain State Park offers great hiking, and the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail at Oxmoor Valley is a short drive. Whether you are traveling for business or pleasure, rely on our Birmingham hotel for the convenient amenities you need. Enjoy a peaceful sleep in one of our comfortable rooms; microwaves and refrigerators are available in select rooms or by request. Connect to free WiFi or work remotely in our business center. Take advantage of our stay active with a workout in our fitness center. If you are in need of some rest and relaxation, lounge in the sun by our outdoor pool. One well behaved pet is welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Red Roof Inn Birmingham South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn And Suites Birmingham / Vestavia
Baymont Inn & Suites Birmingham / Vestavia Hotel Birmingham
Birmingham Baymont Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing