We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Interior/Safety Issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hampton Inn Birmingham-Colonnade 280
Ranked #25 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed September 30, 2012

The hotel overall is nice, clean and had an updated feel to it. However, the cars in the parking lot are left vulnerable for theft. There are no cameras on the outside as we were told by the front desk worker and there is apparently no security detail that travels the parking lot at night. We were in town for a football game and stayed overnight at this hotel for shopping convenience on the following day. When we began to load our car after it being in the parking lot for one night we were quite surprised. The car had been damaged to be broken into and the entire contents of our car had been pilfered through including contents in the trunk of the car. Several things had been stolen and the contents of our car strewn all through the inside. When we were checking our we noticed a police officer arriving as this had happened to three other vehicles in the parking lot. I can only assume it is well known there are no cameras or security at this facility for the amount of time it took for these individuals to go through the entire contents of four cars (unknown how many more were found after ours). When we expressed our displeasure to the front desk of this, the gentleman was less than cordial and was very unconcerned about our frustration. Won't stay at any other hotels without parking lot cameras or security, particularly this one for safety reasons and lack of interest in the damage to our car and items stolen from it.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Inn C, General Manager at Hampton Inn Birmingham-Colonnade 280, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback on your stay in Birmingham. Please accept our sincere apology for your experience. We want you to know that the comments we receive from our guests are taken very seriously and your experience will help us to improve the safety of our hotel. Your suggestions along with other guests will be taken into account as we create a security plan for our property. We are so sorry to have had this happen on our watch and we are working to prevent this from happening in the future. If I can be of further assistance please feel free to contact me.
Thank you,
Lissette Burski

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (464)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 464 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2012

The customer service was excellent. Had some problems in the room with new AC (which were immediately fixed by Joe). The best continental breakfast I've seen. The bed was very comfortable. I am a smoker & was pleased that there were no smoking rooms in hotel (as I only smoke outside) but would have preferred a closer smoking area to hotel with seating. Overall, I would recommend to anyone & will return for my next business trip!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tonya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed here a few weeks ago. Very happy with the room and the customer service from your staff. Everyone was so friendly especially Joe in Maintenance. He was willing to help and make sure we didn't need anything while we were there. I recommend this hotel if your in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryley9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Great week @ the Hampton on a business trip. Joe in Maintenance showed excellent customer service and put guest needs first. I really appreciated the service there. Breakfast bar is a great way to start your day with heathy choices. I loved the fresh fruit and yogurt options.

Room Tip: Rooms on a higher floor may have a brighter, prettier view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ameerah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My husband and I have stayed here many nights while waiting to get into our new home. The staff at this hotel is so helpful and accommodating! Location is wonderful with many restaurants within walking distance. Would recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband rented a conference room for a meeting here and there was some errors on my part. The employees here were very patient and helped till we go the problem solved. The premmisis were clean and the room was set up perfect. Recomend this property to anyone for any occasion!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We recently held a Sunday Brunch at the Hampton Inn Colonnade in Birmingham, AL honoring a group of Musicians who were being inducted into the Birmingham Music Club Hall of Fame. Margaret in the business office did a wonderful job in helping us plan the event, the seating, the menu, and had many helpful suggestions.
We received lots of compliments on the brunch and everyone had a wonderful time. Felecia, from the kitchen staff went way above and beyond the call of duty in helping us make sure the food was hot, plentiful, and displayed perfectly.
The Colonnade Room and the food were reasonably priced and the hotel was most accommodating in letting us bring some special items for the brunch. Several of our honorees stayed in guest rooms in the hotel the night prior to our brunch event, and all of them commented on how nice the rooms were and were very satisfied with the price.
We give the Hampton Colonnade, Margaret from the business office, as well as Felecia, and the rest of the kitchen staff an A+.

Room Tip: They have a great AAA rate!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WilliamSanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Colonnade
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Birmingham Colonnade/Grandview
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham/280 East-Eagle Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Perimeter Park
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Grandview
0.8 mi away
Birmingham Marriott
Birmingham Marriott
#26 of 80 in Birmingham
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Birmingham-Colonnade 280? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Birmingham-Colonnade 280

Address: 3400 Colonnade Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35243-2355
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#21 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $107 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Birmingham-Colonnade 280 2.5*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the initial drive up you are able to enjoy a beautifully manicured landscape. Then as you enter into the Hampton Inn you begin to relax. The lobby itself is as inviting as it it practical. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Birmingham-Colonnade 280 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn - Colonnade Hotel Birmingham
Hampton Inn Birmingham
Colonnade Hampton Inn
Birmingham Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing