We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I Loved It!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travel Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travel Inn
Ranked #65 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Hoover, Alabama, United States
1 review
“I Loved It!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Howard Johnson was a great place to stay. The beds were big and comfortable and the staff was delightful. The rooms were spacious and clean, I had no issues at all. I would give this place 5 stars and recommend it to anyone. It was in a nice location, very settled back but it still gave the visitor a view of the city. Not only was the view okay, but it also has a convient location, it is surrounded by fast food and seating resturants. No, Howard Johnson isn't the Hilton, but it is what you pay for. The prices are logical and fair.

Room Tip: First floor rooms are less hassle!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andria U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    11
    18
    22
    49
See reviews for
37
17
11
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bluefield, West Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The room was ok, I mean it was clean but half the outlets didn't work and the door was warped at the bottom and didn't seal correctly making it very noisy at night. Their system wasnt working when we arrived so luckily i had printed off my reciept or who knows how long before i would have gotten a room. Very shady looking people roaming the parking lot. On the good side it was close to everything.

Room Tip: Dont stay on the highway side. way to noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah_Johanna, Manager at Travel Inn, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for staying at our Howard Johnson! We are happy that you were pleased with the cost and cleanliness of the room. If you ever have issues with the noise please let us know at check in that you would like a room facing away from the interstate--we will do our best to accomodate you. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

I needed a place to stay while some major renovations were being done at my apartment. The price was right and it was close to work. I really wasn't expecting much for the price, but the rooms were good and it was a quiet stay. Desk staff was good. My first room had a smell to it, like smoke but when I talked to the guy at the desk they moved me right away. I don't eat breakfast, but I saw that it was offered to those who wanted it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

I saw 2 boys in the next room exchanging $ for drugs. I requested a room change & got the 2nd floor because the bottom floor was booked. Dads disabled & was very upset to find out there were rooms available.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Helpful?
Thank Debora Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hannah_Johanna, Manager at Travel Inn, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
We are very sorry you were not happy with your room change. We try and keep our guests on the floor of their preference, however, due to the upgrades to some of our rooms not all rooms on a floor are available for guest use. If you do not receive adequate assistance, ask to speak to a manager and we will work to make things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood
0.5 mi away
Extended Stay America - Birmingham - Wildwood
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#44 of 79 in Birmingham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Birmingham I-65/Lakeshore Drive
0.5 mi away
Residence Inn Birmingham Homewood
0.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Carlton Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travel Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travel Inn

Property: Travel Inn
Address: 275 Oxmoor Road, I-65 Exit 256B, Birmingham, AL 35209 (Formerly Howard Johnson Inn Birmingham)
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travel Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Travel Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Birmingham Hotel Birmingham
Howard Johnson Birmingham
Birmingham Howard Johnson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing