We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome hotel; fantastic staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Birmingham Marriott
Ranked #26 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel is gorgeous; I would guess it’s not more than a few years old. Everything inside was clean and attractive. The two nights I stayed there were great overall, yet entirely different. Below is my story. [Disclosure: I am a Marriott Silver Elite member]

I pulled in on a Sunday, late afternoon, and the place was empty. There were only a dozen or so cars in the parking lot. Couldn’t believe it. I had dinner at the hotel with a local buddy of mine, and we were at one of only two tables being served. Everything was fine, and I was very happy since it seemed I had the whole place to myself.

On Monday, a huge number of people piled in. I think there must have been some big business meetings or a major event going on. All the guests looked like part of a big-meeting-is-happening crowd. That evening, there was tons of noise coming from the room next door; it sounded like a whole family—with rambunctious kids—was staying in that room. I happened by the front desk and simply inquired as to who was staying in the room next to me, and the staff immediately caught on as to what might be a problem. I didn’t approach the desk specifically to complain, but after staff asked, I did admit that there seemed to be a full family staying in the adjacent room, and that the noise level (mostly from frolicking kids) was bugging me. I cannot tell you how happy I was that staff immediately TOOK OWNERSHIP of this problem. Even though I expressed concern about making a formal complaint, everyone involved (three young women; all exemplary hotel staff) assured me that the situation would be handled discreetly and quickly. It was. I heard not one peep from that room the rest of the night. Furthermore, I was offered—totally via staff’s volition—a complimentary breakfast the next day, plus an invitation to check out the concierge amenities. I cannot think of a better way to do business in the hospitality realm. If there is a true measure of customer service, a large part of it would be how problems get solved. On that account, the staff got a perfect score.

For your consideration:
(1) The property is situated in a relatively upscale business park. There is plenty of surface parking around the building.
(2) My room was very comfortable, with great beds. The area is pretty quiet at night.
(3) The bathrooms have TONS of counter space (good design!)
(4) There are two concierge levels; the top floor has a separate lounge with two TVs, plus munchie food and drinks served.
(5) The restaurant is awesome; I had a great dinner and two excellent breakfasts. A buffet is offered, or one can order off the menu.
(6) The “business center” has free internet (thanks!)
(7) The “fitness center” gets a C+: a few treadmills, a couple of weight machines and a decent set of dumbbells.
(8) Route 280 presents a frustrating drive during most times of the day. It is wall-to-wall traffic during peak hours, but stays pretty heavy during the day until well past the evening peak. During my stay in the area, there was roadway construction (lanes closed) that was ultimately aimed at increasing overall vehicular capacity. Still, if you’re heading downtown, add in way more time than you think it would take to drive the nine miles into the city. Since my stay was for leisure travel, I made a point to avoid the peak driving times.

Room Tip: Get a room facing away from traffic, i.e., northeast side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 458 reviews

Reviewed September 28, 2013

Suites were nice, two seperate rooms, kitchen was clean. but..the sofa bed was the most uncomfortable bed ever slept in. the mattress was so worn and thin, there was no support.
sleeping on the floor would of been a little more comfy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

Marriott Birmingham is one of the best hotels on which I have ever stayed. Allison and Tanya work the desk at night and both provide service beyond compare. Both go above and beyond to ensure the customers have what they need. Restaurant is excellent and overall, I would rate all of the employees and the facility as excellent. Stay here and you will see.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard0087
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We really enjoyed our recent two day stay. We were welcomed by a very helpful receptionist Kasey Taylor who handle my requests and needs very professionally and always with a smile. All during our stay she and other receptionists we their for us. The Housekeepers responded quickly when we found we were short bedding for our couch bed. Very nice visit.

Room Tip: Kasey Taylor set us up on the best floor and a quite area of the Hotel. Talk to her or the other rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

When we came to check-in tonight after a long day our reservations somehow got canceled. Tanya one of the two front desk staff made the experince very enjoyable and she got me and another business associate our rooms and got us access to the concierge lounge. In fact she placed us on the same floor. Tanya made a potential bad experience an EXCELLENT one. This is one of the reasons I always like to choose Marriott chain of hotels.
Sincerely,
Tim Skeldon

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I travel on a weekly basis to many hotels across the southeast region. The customer service at the Birmingham Marriott is awesome. This is my first pick hotel for the Birmingham, AL area. From the first time you enter the door you are greeted by the associates at the front desk (Kyla, Tonya, etc to name a few.....) who know you by name and greet you with a big smile!!! Edward in the conceirge lounge also delievers quality customer service at each one of my visits he is very friendly and very accomodating to make sure I feel at home. The managers (Matt) that I have seen here at the property are always walking the lobby to make sure to greet customers and welcoming them for choosing Marriott. This hotel is truly a strong leader in customer service and I am never disappointed about my stay. The decor may be outdated in the hotel bedrooms but the customer service here will keep you coming back. Marriott Birmingham employees keep up the great work you are all awesome!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The room was average but the bed was quite comfortable! The outstanding aspect of this hotel, besides location, was the service was a welcome surprise! From the greetings at the front desk to the manager's offer to help with our luggage ( he had walked into the parking area as we were unloading), and to the restaurant downstairs the service was outstanding! Exceeding expectations in all areas except, and this was also a surprise, the attendant in the ex lounge. He seemed rather uninterested in the guests.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DWA2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Grandview
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Birmingham / Inverness
6.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Perimeter Park
6.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Colonnade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birmingham Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birmingham Marriott

Address: 3590 Grandview Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35243-1946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $117 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Birmingham Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The superior quality and location of our Newly Renovated Birmingham hotel will make every trip a pleasure. Centrally located off I-459 and highway 280 and near the Summit outdoor plaza, we offer a complimentary shuttle service to local businesses and restaurants within a two mile radius. If it's family fun you want, Alabama Adventure Amusement Park and the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail are just minutes away, and our indoor pool is great for splashing with the kids. At the center of our hotel is the Marriott Greatroom; flexible seating and spaces with a contemporary style and design, a coffee bar proudly serving Starbucks® coffee, and a chef-crafted menu of small plates and pours. Newly renovated guest rooms feature ultra comfortable bedding, flat screen LCD HDTVs, and ergonomic work spaces. For your important meeting or special occasion, our state-of-the-art event facilities, custom catering and certified wedding planner are perfect for a flawless event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Birmingham Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Birmingham Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing