We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Birmingham Marriott
Ranked #26 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Reviewed September 10, 2013

I have stayed at over 50 global Marriott hotels over 20 years. However, I remember how great the service from just a few of them over the years. In Birmingham Alabama, Tonya, Sydney, Collee were some of the best of my memory! Tonya helped me every night with room service, wake up calls and a few issues in my room. She was really good and made me feel as if I was at home. When you travel there is nothing that beats someone that genuinely cares about you.

Sydney and Collee at the front desk were always great giving me personalized service and a level of customer service that went above and beyond what I would have expected.

I am a very big proponent of Marriott, and Tonya, Sydney and Collee are the reasons I come back time after time to this property in Birmingham. I am a big fan of this hotel because of them.

I greatly appreciate everything they do for me each week.

Randy

Room Tip: Good business hotel with good amenities. Stay for the great staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 177randym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM2010, Manager at Birmingham Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Randy,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences at our hotel, I am glad to hear that we can be your home away from home. These kind words go a long way, and they will be shared with the entire staff in order to recognize our wonderful front desk team. We know they are rock stars, and it is refreshing to have that reiterated by our loyal guests.

Please let me know when you are returning to Birmingham, and we look forawrd to your next visit!


Matt Sterley
Assistant General Manager
Matt.Sterley@Marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (458)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

320 - 326 of 458 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

We were on a weekend vacation in Birmingham and we stayed at the Marriott Birmingham located at 3590 Grandview Parkway. We arrived late and we were extremely tired. I was very pleased with the doorman's presence and professionalism upon entering the hotel, he made us feel very welcomed. The front Guest Service Representative was very pleasant and easy to talk with. She was able to accomodate our requests and print out directions for our destination the next morning. She was also very knowledgable of the area and was able to direct us to shops and restaurants. I would definitely be willing to stay there again if we ever go back to Birmingham.

Room Tip: The corner room suites are a little more spacious so ask for one if you can. One of the downsides o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yvonne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM2010, Manager at Birmingham Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Yvonne,

Thank you vey much for the kind words. We certainly hope to see you again soon!

When you do come back to see us please let any of our Team know that you would like a refridgerator and/or microwave and we will have one sent to your room right away.

Take Care...


Michael Hogan
Assistant General Manager
Michael.Hogan2@Marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This property exemplifies what I like best about the Marriott chain; consistency. Some take service levels to a very high degree and the Birmingham Marriott is definitely one of those properties. Well trained and attentive staff provides that "at home" feeling that you seldom get at other chains. Makes you want to return again and again. Great property with the customary spacious rooms and Marriott furnishings.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank Cliff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM2010, Manager at Birmingham Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment. We are very proud of our entire Team and their commitment to each and every guest. It is always nice when we can share reviews such as these with them and even better when these kind words are expressed to other travelers.

Please let me know when you are returning to Birmingham and we look forawrd to your next visit!


Michael Hogan
Assistant General Manager
Michael.Hogan2@Marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The Marriott is the only place I stay when I'm Birmingham. Service is continually above and beyond, especially when Tonya is in charge of my stay. Everyone here is superior in every way.
You must try the incredible dessert created by Chef Scott -- Krispy Kreme Bread Pudding! The man is a genius to have developed this confection. Light yet dense, sweet and delicious.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzanneaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM2010, Manager at Birmingham Marriott, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedack on your xperience with the Birmingham Marriott. We appreciate having had the opportunity to provide you with a memorable experience and look forward to having you back with us very soon. Please contact me directly when your travels bring you back to Birmingham as Scott, Tonya and myself would all like to be a part of your next visit!

Michael Hogan
Assistant General Manager
P: 205.968.4502
michael.hogan2@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This Marriott is as classy and as comfortable as you would expect from a Marriott. The service and staff were so sweet and so very helpful. The only negative was the indoor pool. Its very small and smells strongly of chlorine. No hot tub either. But otherwise an A++ stay as usual. My favorite of all the Birmingham stays

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelReviewsByAlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

I travel to many marriotts but they are so warm and welcoming here! From the minute you check in they really care. From maintenance to restaurant this group is great. It is a joy to come here. How ever they hire and train here much to be proud. Thanks for your care and service. When they say my pleasure they mean it!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingjim53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2013

Stayed here the second time and enjoyed the area and location. The hotel is well maintained in in a very good condition. The rooms looks like other Marriotts and are very clean. The hotel is near to an highway and interstate but you don´t hear anything. The fitness area is great and shows enough different opportunities to enjoy your workout. Breakfast is a buffet and your can order eggs, omeletts, pan cakes or waffles. The best in the hotel are the employees, every time they are friendly and helpful. I will definetely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BoonyGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.5 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Grandview
1.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Birmingham / Inverness
6.5 mi away
Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hilton Birmingham Perimeter Park
6.6 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Birmingham
1.0 mi away
SpringHill Suites Birmingham Colonnade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Birmingham Marriott? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Birmingham Marriott

Address: 3590 Grandview Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35243-1946
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range: $117 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Birmingham Marriott 3.5*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The superior quality and location of our Newly Renovated Birmingham hotel will make every trip a pleasure. Centrally located off I-459 and highway 280 and near the Summit outdoor plaza, we offer a complimentary shuttle service to local businesses and restaurants within a two mile radius. If it's family fun you want, Alabama Adventure Amusement Park and the Robert Trent Jones Golf Trail are just minutes away, and our indoor pool is great for splashing with the kids. At the center of our hotel is the Marriott Greatroom; flexible seating and spaces with a contemporary style and design, a coffee bar proudly serving Starbucks® coffee, and a chef-crafted menu of small plates and pours. Newly renovated guest rooms feature ultra comfortable bedding, flat screen LCD HDTVs, and ergonomic work spaces. For your important meeting or special occasion, our state-of-the-art event facilities, custom catering and certified wedding planner are perfect for a flawless event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Birmingham Marriott reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Birmingham Hotel Birmingham

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing