We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too bad you only thought you wanted a double”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Place Birmingham / Inverness
Ranked #10 of 79 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Too bad you only thought you wanted a double”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Booked through Priceline, and as usual lately, they booked a king, so one of us wound up sleeping on the sofa. Hotel was nice enough, front desk sort of uncaring. If your business is in the Hoover area, this place is convenient, downtown a nine mile drive, with bumper to bumper traffic for at least two miles on either side of the Interstate.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DHSh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    130
    65
    31
    22
See reviews for
192
104
26
150
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Very nice, clean, modern, roomy rooms. Staff a little over nice. Arrived 1 am and the desk clerk took the time to come from behind the desk to give us the room keys. It was a nice touch but not at 1am. Otherwise, very accomodating. Good late night snacks/sweets. Great area for shopping, restaurants etc....

Only 1 problem, at the am skillet while getting my food a staff person was cleaning ( I understand wanting to keep it clean) however, he was a hinderance to all trying to fill their plates. He should have stood back to wait for a break in the crowd to clean the areas one at a time.

Highly recommend....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank regina j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Alabama
Level Contributor
117 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel staff was very nice. The cookies arevery good (a little pricey but hey you cant skimp on quality when it comes to cookies). The hotel is very clean and in a nice location. Room was amazing huge!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Len C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto,ON
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

The hotel staff was very unhelpful and even rude at times which I did not appreciate after my 8hr drive. Worse yet, they gave me an accessible room with one double bed (more like a twin+ and not a full double) and a pull-out love seat (which I find is gross and uncomfortable to sleep on) rather than a room with two beds as I had booked through Hotwire for 3 people to make sure that my son and I each had a bed. There's no way that 3 people would have been comfortable in that room! And, to boot, when I checked in and asked if there were two beds in the room I was told yes - imagine my surprise when I opened the door of the room but when I went back down to the desk, the check-in lady was nowhere to be found - qu'elle surprise...and when I called Hotwire to express my dissatisfaction they called the hotel and then came back on the line to say that the hotel said there were only 2 people in the room so what was the big deal!!! I callled after my stay and spoke to the manager and was told by her that my reservation back in April was originally for a room with two beds but when I arrived in June for my stay my room was changed to the room I got - I guess Hotwire customers get the worst rooms in the hotel as apparently they get transferred into the Hyatt reservation system as "run of the house" which means you can get anything they feel like giving you. So - take it from me - book your trip wisely - or maybe not at all via Hotwire and/or the Hyatt!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ONtraveljunky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This hotel is located in a great area near the famous mega shopping place called The Summitt. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms are nice and VERY large. Rooms have King bed and a separate sitting area with a sectional sofa-yes a sectional Sofa! Not only is it large enough for a sleeper it also can sleep two. There is a bar area, a desk, two phones and a large big screen TV that pivots from the bedroom area to the sitting area.On the TV table there are several outlets to charge your phones, iPad, etc. (I hate to be in a hotel and have to crawl behind the nightstand to plug in my phone). The outdoor pool is small but in a private area. The hotel foyer has a bar area and they serve coffee sodas and small food items. Each room comes with a complimentary breakfast. Price of hotel room is good. The weight room is nice and clean and there are plenty of machines with a no wait time. There is plenty of parking and you can access the hotel from several doors but you need your hotel key to enter.

Room Tip: ask for a separate shower stall. These rooms are generally more newly updated.Rooms along the back p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MomLimoABROAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

For my recent, very quick trip to Birmingham, Alabama, I was blessed to have accommodations provided at the Hyatt Place Birmingham/Inverness. A spacious, comfortable mid-range hotel, Hyatt Place is a great choice for business travelers with their own transportation and families visiting the area who need a bit more space.

Stay here when you come to Birmingham on business, with a car. The hotel is ten miles from downtown and Birmingham does not seem to have much in the way of public transit. That being said, the hotel is on a lovely site and is terrific for families or those in town on business.

What’s awesome?

* The rooms at the Hyatt Place are generous in both style and amenities. Along with two double beds, my hotel had an oversized sitting area that could have slept additional children, and a great desk/work area.

* Breakfast! Load up on three cooked entrees along with beautiful fresh fruit and some pretty awesome coffee! Grab a complimentary Wall Street Journal and stay a while.

* The staff at the Hyatt Place is oozing with Southern charm. This team answered every one of my "needs" cheerfully and expeditiously. I felt thoroughly pampered.

* The grounds - on site there is a pool and exercise room, but you might want to head out doors for your walk. Just a stone's throw away is a lovely lake with a short walking trail. Benches along the trail, lakeside, offer a perfect view and a great vantage point for morning prayer or a break with a good book.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

On our way back from Panama City Beach, FL - we stopped for the night at the Hyatt Place, Birmingham. Loved it! Quiet location - beds great - breakfast wonderful - staff friendly - clean -top notch hotel. I wanted to stay longer! Thank you

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Augie022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
1.8 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southeast
4.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham SE/Liberty Park
7.2 mi away
Best Western Plus Carlton Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Homewood Suites Birmingham South Inverness
6.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Birmingham - The Wynfrey Hotel
2.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Birmingham/280 East-Eagle Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Birmingham / Inverness? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Birmingham / Inverness

Property: Hyatt Place Birmingham / Inverness
Address: 4686 Highway 280, Birmingham, AL 35242-5094
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Birmingham
#18 Business Hotel in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Birmingham / Inverness 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Place Birmingham / Inverness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Birmingham / Inverness Hotel Birmingham
Hyatt Birmingham
Birmingham Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing