We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood
Ranked #21 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2014

I come to Alabama yearly during the Father's Day weekend and stay at your Hotel for the past seven years and was very satisfied with your hotel. But this time I was not impressed with your renovations nor your room. The room had a very heavy moldy smell in which I had plans to stay three to five days extra if it was possible but because of the smell of the room I left and went back home after staying at your place on the second day.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank Yolanda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (504)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

322 - 328 of 504 reviews

Reviewed June 20, 2014

PROS: Property was very clean. Staff was very hard working. Close to food, interstate, shopping, but tucked away from traffic noise. CONS: Slow elevator. Hallways hot. Front desk overloaded with too many responsibilities, making it hard to focus on your single need. Access to wings was a little confusing. No frig/micro. NEUTRAL: Breakfast selections was good and area was nice and open. Allow pets.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
1  Thank Melinda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

We paid almost $80 for a weekday night. The room was okay, but a bit small. Pretty average continental breakfast. No hot food, except for the waffle maker. We would probably try to find a hotel more to our liking next time

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

This La Quinta Inn and Suites is newly remodeled and very nice and clean. Room was nice with plenty of space to spread out. The pool was not functioning while we were there which is a shame, looks like a very nice pool. Wifi worked great and had a good night sleep. Breakfast was pretty good they open breakfast at 6 am.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nefamily7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed at La Quinta and had a great nights sleep in a clean room with good service in a nice part of town with easy access to nice places to eat with easy access to the interstate for a great price. I was very pleased and would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank Shane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

We spent the night on Sunday, June 1, 2014. The hotel was super clean. Looks like they recently had new carpet and paint. Everything, including the bathroom, were clean to satisfaction. The room was on the first floor and was very roomy. The place was tastefully decorated throughout and CLEAN! Breakfast was just so so..... variety, just not the selection that I like. Conveniently located!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phyllis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014 via mobile

We called a couple hours early to try and get an early check in - complete fail. Not that they have to provide this, but didn't seem to make sense that it would be too challenging of a task for a Monday night check in. Indifference is the best way to describe the employee's attitude...

We arrived 20 min before the check in, left to kill some time. Checked in and our room reeked of smoke. Went back to the front desk and they moved us to a different room...walked in and the room smelled on cleaning chemical and smoke. If we weren't traveling with a dog and a baby, we would have likely left for a different hotel (dog friendly hotels are hard to find, especially last minute). Propped open the door and got the AC running to air out the room. Note: it did get better after airing it out and leaving for an hour or so.

Continuing on- we get into our new room and no towels except for 2 bath towels. No hand towels at all. Apparently they had ran out, but we were able to get some from the front desk directly. Hours later (think at 630 or so) housekeeping came by and practically thrusted the towels into my arms saying they didn't have them earlier, even after I said we already had some.

The pool was closed and we got a note that the cable would be out the next day. Thank heavens we didn't have older kids...

In the evening, the front desk guy called to check in and make sure we had everything we needed. Told him about the smell earlier - he was concerned and wanted to ensure it was ok then and that we could move if needed. This guy helped make up for the poor service from the daytime employee...

The hotel itself was recently remodeled and is, for the most part, finished. The interior is really nice and it has the potential to be a great hotel. They just need to get their crap together - figure out how to have their rooms fully ready, get rid of complacent employees, and sort out the smoke smell source. In short - they just need to get organized and clean up their internal systems.

Stayed: June 2014
2  Thank Tastemop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Carlton Suites
7.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Hoover
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Lakeshore Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#49 of 80 in Birmingham
105 reviews
1.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Birmingham/Homewood
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood

Address: 60 State Farm Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35209-7179
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range: $91 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Birmingham Homewood
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood Hotel Birmingham
La Quinta Birmingham
La Quinta Homewood
Homewood La Quinta
Birmingham La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing