We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Find...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood
Ranked #23 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfield, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Terrific Find...”
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I first discovered this hotel when I was traveling with my dog and well... you know... nice options are limited with pets. This hotel is located in an upscale area (exit 255 on I-65) just south of downtown B'ham amid good restaurants & higher priced hotels. For $63 (AAA rate), it's amazing. Clean rooms, attractive lobby, unique & roomy floor plans in rooms, free internet, dog friendly. I came back this time (without the dog) because it is a very nice place to stay as on overnight stop on my frequent trips from Cincinnati to visit my kids in Pensacola.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanythW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    152
    66
    61
    31
See reviews for
183
92
37
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We arrived as scheduled and our rooms were available, we decided at that point we wanted an additional night, it was no problem even though it was Labor Day weekend. The hotel was very nice and clean and the rooms were very spacious, the elevator could use a little updating but other than that it was a wonderful hotel including the staff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HairBronze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

We go to the races at Talladega every year and have stayed at this La Quinta a couple of times. It is in a good location with shops and restaurants very close by plus it is right off I65. The rooms that we have had previously have always been spacious and nice. We stayed there this past weekend and did not have a good experience for the most part but I don't feel that is the norm for this hotel. There is a nice continential breakfast in the mornings and the staff is always very friendly and helpful. There is a hot tub and pool (both outside) that are nice. This was a spur of the moment trip and we booked the hotel the night before we stayed there which may have contributed to the issues we had. We wanted a king bed non smoking and all they had left was a handicapped room. It apparently backed RIGHT up to the elevator shaft and I guess there is little to no insulation in the wall ajoining it which is the wall the headboard is against. Needless to say neither of us got much sleep that night due to the constant loud mechanical noise from the elevator going up and down. It woke us up frequently as did loud plumbing. (More insulation in the walls would have solved this too I assume.) The room was nice and the only thing that was a problem that had to do with it being a handicapped room was that the shower floor was also the bathroom floor. It didn't appear to slope much towards the drain so after showering, the entire bathroom floor was one big puddle that flowed out onto the carpet in the room. The room had a nice microwave, refrigerator and TV. There were lots of pillows and a thermastat in the room which was nice instead of having to try and figure out how to adjust it on the wall unit. Only other complaint that we had on this stay was that we did call and ask for a wake up call but it never came the next morning.

Bottom line: We like this hotel and the staff so we will stay here again however we will be sure to get a regular room and ask for it to be far away from the elevator.

Room Tip: Make sure that your room is not close to the elevator shaft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BGgirl381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2011

This property is 4 miles south of Birmingham with easy access to the highway...They accept pets which is why we stayed here...Very clean and quiet..lots of restaurants in the area it was great......

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertH10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay at the La Quinta Inn. They are pet friendly and don't even charge an extra fee for it and their continental breakfast was pretty decent as well. Comfortable beds, nice High Definition TV to watch football on, and the location wasn't bad either. It was right off the interstate, about a 10 minute drive to Samford University and many restaurants (both fast food and dine in) were less than 3 minutes away. The staff was nice, the only complaint I had was the outdated decor in the hallways. The room itself was updated and clean. All in All I really enjoyed this hotel!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TenniSarah08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All over the place!
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Pros:
No pet fees
Offer Gov't rate
Great location
Free Hot Breakfast
Awesome courtyard
Very clean outside

Cons:
Was told check in was 1p and was made to wait until 330p
Really old elevators
No wireless internet in the room
Limited cable

Room Tip: Check hotel website for different rate options.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travlinlady13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Was almost turned off of this hotel after reading reviews. Decided to take a chance, and very happy that I did. First off, compliments to the front desk staff. Super friendly and "extremely" accomodating. Our room was very nice and very clean. We found this hotel to be in a very nice location near great restaurants and good shopping. But first and foremost, it was staff that made this such a sucessful stay. Thank you!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teamjody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Birmingham hotels
0.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Carlton Suites
7.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Hoover
0.4 mi away
Drury Inn & Suites Birmingham Southwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#46 of 80 in Birmingham
104 reviews
1.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Birmingham/Homewood
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Birmingham / Lakeshore Drive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood
Address: 60 State Farm Pkwy, Birmingham, AL 35209-7179
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alabama > Birmingham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 80 Hotels in Birmingham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood 2.5*
Number of rooms: 137
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn And Suites Birmingham Homewood
La Quinta Inn & Suites Birmingham Homewood Hotel Birmingham
La Quinta Birmingham
La Quinta Homewood
Homewood La Quinta
Birmingham La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing